We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ChrisT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Fantastic hotel.First class staff.We arrived way early Friday morning but then received a call from reception as promised to say our room was ready.Our room was superb(master suite)The view was amazing.We enjoyed the spa(great facility)All staff professional and very helpful.Had a brilliant time.Great location.Already recommended to all my friends and family.We will definitely be going back.Loved it.

Room Tip: We had a master suite on the sixth floor.Its a must,treat yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Your fantastic review is much appreciated and I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your recommendations to family and friends are also appreciated and we will be pleased to welcome them/you back in the future.

Kind regards.

Andreas Maszczyk
General Manager
The St David's Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,178 - 2,184 of 3,988 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in a deluxe room and was disappointed that there were no chairs on the balcony apparently due to health and safety?! I would love to know what risk chairs on an enclosed balcony could cause.
Staff and food excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the service provided by the team and the food.

The smaller rooms do not have large enough balconies to be able to safely house a table and 2 chairs however I am pleased to confirm that our suites and master suites all have balcony furniture to enable you to sit and enjoy the spectacular views.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards.

Andreas Maszczyk
General Manager
The St David's Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked a suite and managed to get into their small car park. All staff very friendly and reception area and other communal areas are nice, maybe a bit bland but that's personal taste. Where we were disappointed was in the condition of the room with stains on the carpet, scratches on the furniture and walls plus the balcony looked as though it had not been washed down for weeks. When you are paying over £200 per night JUST FOR THE ROOM I'd expect better maintenance and a higher standard of in-room coffee making facilities now-a-days than just a kettle and sachets of instant. There were not any biscuits but when we mentioned this at check-out it turned out that this was human error. Breakfast was nice rather than exceptional, again all staff were very professional.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rutzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall.

I note your comments and can confirm that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment project which includes updating the bedrooms in line with the expectations you would have of St David's. The balconies and windows are cleaned regularly under a tight schedule however our location on the water and the nature reserve does mean we can be susceptible to the elements.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Second stay for business, told I had been upgraded to Junior Suite. Room 301 (was filthy), and coincidentally was the same filthy room I was put in the first time I stayed. In all fairness, when complaining during my first visit, I was put into a Master Suite, however on this occassion only given the same room few floors up. Not entirely sure how this hotel is maintaining 5* status, although overall a reasonable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaintGilesTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read your comments and more so surprised to read that your room did not meet our usual exceptional standards of cleanliness, and for this I apologise. I will investigate your concerns but in the meantime I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to St David's in the future.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed 26 June. Excellent hotel with first class staff - all we came into contact with in reception, restaurant, bar, spa were extremely professional, pleasant and very helpful. Room was excellent, views superb. We used the spa early one morning - very refreshing with very good facilities. No complaints at all. Car parking not an issue - other hotels in Cardiff also charge similar amount. Certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: View over bay a must - any direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobe561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am both delighted and pleased overall your stay with us at the St. David’s Hotel & Marine Spa was a excellent experience. We look forward to your return soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Loved the view. You should make sure to book a room facing the Harbour. The balcony is great to sit on and watch Mermaids quay. Bed was very comfortable. Nice reception at the front desk. Didn't have room ready yet but stored luggage and called when ready. I don't have any complaints! Had a wonderful time. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank saka2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased overall your stay with us at the St. David’s Hotel & Marine Spa and that you enjoyed the view of the harbour that we have to offer. We look forward to your return soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed with my husband on a Monday night found a deal for £99.00 on booking .com decide to up grade to the deluxe room for an extra £22.00 found that we did not have the bottle of free fizz on arrival had to go to reception and ask for it.
Had a good time using the facilities in the spa before going into the bay for food did not have breakfast as they wanted an extra £12.00 each , did not realise the carparking was going to cost £15.00 for the stay till we checked out I a bit of a rip off indead ,otherwise we had a good time will deofinslty stay again but only if I get a deal on this hotel

Room Tip: 615 for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jahne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased your stay with us at the St. David’s Hotel & Marine Spa was enjoyable and you made use of our Marine Spa facilities. We look forward to your return soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £84 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing