We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended! Best Hotel in Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Recommended! Best Hotel in Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The views from all the rooms are wonderful, the hotel is built to frame the fantastic scenery - Cardiff Bay and great views of the countryside.

The staff were excellent and the rooms were quiet and well appointed. Comfy bed, excellent restaurant and stylish bar. The spa was a treat with all the usual pamper treatments as well as a nice pool, sauna etc.

We will definately be back regularly whilst visiting our daughter at Cardiff University. To be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your Glowing review of the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and your kind words will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The St David's Hotel & Spa very soon.

Kind Regards,

Andreas M. Maszczyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,465
    1,013
    678
    304
    159
See reviews for
430
1,964
79
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Never stayed here before so here goes!
It really is a lovely hotel, we took a suite on the 5th floor, the room was spectacular with amazing views of the bay with windows all around and two balconies.
The hotel restaurant was very accommodating to our two children (8 and 1 and a half), though its a bit dark in there! Staff wear black with gold ties which looks a bit gloomy especially as the decor is dark as well. Breakfast was slightly disappointing as it was mainly all self service which meant that the restaurant got extremely hot.
Our room had air conditioning that did not work so when the sun did finally shine, with all the windows it was boiling!
The spa pool only allows children in for two hours (split) during the day which is a shame. The lobby could do with a few more lounge chairs/sofas as well as it is so big with minimal places to sit. Overall we all enjoyed our visit, thank you

Room Tip: Not sure, we had a suite which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of the hotel’s unique location and individual service, however disappointed to hear your other minor issues which I can assure you I will be personally be looking into and implementing any corrective action necessary.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Andreas M. Maszczyk
General Manager
The St David's Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

After reading lots of reviews I thought I would go and make up my own mind.
I would not say this is a 5⭐ hotel. I have stayed in much lesser hotels with better decoration. All said and done it's on ok hotel in a fantastic spot. could not ask for better. For this reason alone I would return again.
Summary
Hotel ok.
Service ok.
Price a little steep.
Location brilliant.

Room Tip: you need a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clintos67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.
The St David's Hotel & Marine Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Went here in May with my boyfriend for his birthday, hence the star rating choice!

When I arrived I was overwhelmed, glamorous, classy, clean and just spectacular views from the room. I didn't realise the pool and sauna was included without an extra fee so I was happy about that as it was also fabulous. Rooms were nice as well as the balcony which is a rare find i think for hotels in the uk! The only thing I did think is the bathrooms are a bit old fashioned compared to the rest of the hotel/ room but were still nice.

Going back there next year for my 21st :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review, I hope your boyfriend enjoyed his birthday as much as you did.

We will be delighted to welcome you back for your 21st birthday next year.

Kind Regards,

Andreas M. Maszczyk
General Manager
The St David’s Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for a wedding last week and we had a lovely time. The views over the bay are breathtaking. Do go for a higher floor as it is amazing to watch the sun go down. Not too far from Cardiff town which has lots of shops and restaurants too. The rooms are comforatable and nicely furnished and the spa was a nice peaceful area to relax in by day! Wifi should be free but isn't unfortunately. Found the concierge services and staff very helpful too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Being able to sit back relax and watch the sunset sounds amazing, especially coupled with using our Spa facilities to truly unwind.
I am glad to hear you enjoy your stay here at Then St David’s Hotel & Spa and your review was a joy to read.

I Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Andreas M. Maszczyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here with my now husband for our wedding eve and wedding night.
They upgraded us as it was our wedding which was a nice surprise.
Love this hotel, had wanted to stay here for ages and I was not disappointed.
The view from the room was amazing and the room itself was spacious and kept spotless.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshEmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments on to our housekeeping team.

The team here at St David’s would like to congratulate you both and wish you all the best for your future together.

We look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Kind Regards,

Andreas M. Maszczyk
General Manager
The St David’s Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location overlooking Cardiff Bay. The staff are very friendly and courteous which is very important as a single traveller. Good facilities with an excellent pool and compact, well equipped gym. Looking forward to my next stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here at The St David's Hotel & Spa and that you found the staff welcoming, your kind words will be passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Andreas M. Maszczyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing