We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Cardiff Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (4,183)
Filter reviews
4,183 results
Traveller rating
1,711
1,161
769
355
187
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,711
1,161
769
355
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster suiteoverlooking cardiff bayspa facilitieson arrivalmermaid quaythe hotel car parkpay and displayfloor to ceiling windowsrobes and slippersafternoon tearelaxation roombirthday treatan upgradewelsh cakesbars and restaurantsa lovely staymillennium centre
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 4,183 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We decided to treat ourselves to a couple of chill out weekend breaks where we were not going to do lot following a couple of family bereavements. This was our second break and we had a Junior Suite so that we could relax.
When we checked in we were told our room faced the city, not the best of views, but in fairness the receptionist moved us to a "sea view". For a 5 star hotel the room was disappointing, yes the bed was comfortable and large, but I fail to see why hotels allow guests to stay in rooms where the carpets are stained (badly). Surely they are inspected? There was a nice balcony but the carpet in front of the door was quite marked. A little foot mat would have sorted it.
The shower was tiny and I detest being attacked by those awful shower curtains. It had leaked at some point but the sealant repair looked like it had been done by a child. Very shoddy. There were also marks on the bathroom floor.
The free wi fi also kept losing signal which was infuriating
So yes, the staff are friendly, but the hotel is showing its age, and I am afraid no longer the 5 star hotel it was.
It is sold on its location and spa. Location is ok, but the area around the Bay is quite run down. The Spa is quite expensive (as they all are) and a bit tired.
All in all, we did chill, but felt we paid over the odds for the experience.
The manager might ask why we didn't bring these issues to someone's attention, well, frankly I shouldn't have to and we wanted to chill out, not argue.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear David B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us here at St David's.

I am delighted that you returned to us for another stay and that you did chill out after receiving a room with your preferred view.

It is my understanding that the Guest Relation Team have been in touch to discuss your comments regarding the room and spa, and am happy that they have been able to address your concerns.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I have just come back from a night's stay at this hotel with my boyfriend. The room was nice - very spacious and clean. The breakfast was also good and they still had plenty left even when we arrived at 10am (breakfast ends at 10.30 on a Sunday). By far what made our experience this good was the staff. Every encounter we had with staff was a positive one. We are already planning to return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coua10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear coua10,

It’s brilliant to read that the team looked after you so well and really made the stay for you and your boyfriend. I’m glad you also liked your room as well as enjoying the variety on offer at breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We visited the St. David's Hotel unexpectedly as our plans took us to Cardiff 8 days ahead of schedule after a family death meant we had to head back to Ireland. We were given a room on the 5th floor but the noise from next room was very loud, as kids were having a party or something. We were moved without issue to a beautiful room on the 7th floor. Breakfast next morning was very good as usual.
I would like to thank the staff of the hotel for their service and it helped during the time of our visit. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are indeed lovely so you cannot go wrong
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShaneMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear ShaneMcDonald

I am glad to read that the team looked after you so well during your stay with us and yu found your 7th floor room to be just right for your needs. It’s great to read too that your breakfast experience was a good as ever and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Been coming here since it was built as a Forte Hotel. Now under USA ownership it is an absolute pain trying to talk to anyone in Cardiff as calls get transferred to a call centre in USA - after a very long wait. Our recent visit wasn’t the best. Staff as always were excellent and rooms are very nice , most with good views across the Bay. The recently refurbished bar/lounge/restaurant is outstanding. Breakfast still comprehensive but served on cold plates as was the food by the time it was eaten. ( Just spent a night in a new Premier Inn (not Cardiff) - hot plates and hot food).
Our mattresss lacked any form of covering and it was most unhygienic as the badly placed lower sheet came adrift and we were sleeping on a bare mattress at the top. Manager very attentive when we told him but unacceptable for a five star hotel with prices to match. The hotel position is very convenient to the Wales Millennium Centre and that for us is important. We shall reconsider our hotel options when we next come to Cardiff.

Room Tip: De luxe rooms which are the same size as Standard guarantee a wonderful Panoramic Bay view
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Richard H,

Thank you for your review and it was wonderful to see you again.
I am glad that you brought your comments to the attention of the Guest Relations Manager on duty and that he taken appropriate action.
It’s great to read that you were impressed with the new “The Admiral St David” restaurant and we certainly hope that we will continue to be welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This hotel is easy to get to, and hotel parking is very close by and large at that it's directly in front anyway. Rooms are very comfortable and clean, some refurbished. i dad a balcony with a lovely view of the surrounding area and bay.

Beds and pillows are very comfy, and rooms were quiet .Bar and restaurant has been refurbished and looks and feels fresh and contemporary. Breakfast is of a high standard plenty of variety for all food tastes and wishes. If you want to eat out there are several places withing 5-10 minute walk from the front door of the hotel. The food inside the hotel is of a pretty high standard and very presentable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Greg P,

It’s great to read that you enjoyed your experience of St David’s and our brand new “The Admiral St David” bar and restaurant. I’m glad you enjoyed the unique Australasian menu as well as our ever popular breakfast. The restaurant was phase one of our major renovation project to enrich the comfort levels of our bedrooms for our guests and I am glad to read you found your room comfortable and quiet.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews