We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and overrated - very average, will not be back”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated - very average, will not be back”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed here for a 4 day conference. At 1700 my room was not ready (well after check in time). I was not impressed. Basic service was provided but lots of flaws, no full turndown service in the evening, no newspaper arrived each morning, poor internet service - very slow speed. For the cost - poor value and would have no desire to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joemalone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at our Hotel.

I was concerned to read that you were not satisfied with the services we provided during your stay and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.

We will certainly be looking into these areas you have highlighted, I am confident that we can make the necessary improvements and that we will be able to offer the usual high level of personalised service during your next visit. Should there be anything specific we can arrange to make your next visit more comfortable, like your favourite room, please feel free to let us know.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,419
    977
    437
    167
    91
See reviews for
517
1,202
133
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed here for one night while my other half was on a business trip in Cardiff. The service at this hotel is 5*, the staff can't do enough to help. The bedroom was nice, with facilities you would expect, lovely big bed and double shower and seperate bath. The only negative about the room was that the shower wasn't powerfull. We decided not to eat at the restaurant, we went instead to a restaurant in the Bay, that was recommended by a member of staff at the Hilton (Cotes - fantastic food!). Breakfast was excellent, plenty of everything. Great base to explore the city centre!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at our Hotel.

Your feedback regarding your stay is as always a pleasure to read and I am sorry that you found your shower not to be powerful enough. Please be assured that such matters are not indicative of our normal high levels of service and thank you for your valuable feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for valentines day. We booked it in January as part of the January sale which meant the rooms were 1/2 price so we decided to treat ourselves to the Presidential suite (priced £300 in the sale)

We checked in early which did not seem a problem. Staff were friendly and offered to show us to our room. The hotel entrance was stunning (although the glass lift a little scary!)

The room was fantastic, there as a living/dining area with a huge suede corner sofa, dining table and TV cabinet with big(ish) TV and DVD player. The bathroom had a big walk in shower, his and hers washbasins, TV built in to the wall, and a large jacuzzi bath (although couldn't work out how to get the bubbles to work). The bed was lovely and big and was very comfortable with posh bedlinen! The entire room had one curved full height window which gave panoramic views accross north cardiff.

There was a small amount of tea/coffee making facilities in the room. But the best part about the room I feel was the Executive lounge access. The executive lounge was located next door to our room. It had comfy sofas and armchairs dotted about with views accross the castle and you could have complimentary tea, coffee, soft drinks and selected alcoholic drinks. There were also cakes and pastries available throughout the day and canapes on an evening. The lounge is available to anyone booking an executive room or higher. I must say it is well worth spending a little bit extra.

We went to the spa which was lovely. The changing rooms and pool area were very clean. The spa provided you with towels, robes and toiletries.

We ate in the hotel restaurant 'Razzi' which was ver nice. I had the slow roasted beef and my partner had the salmon. The service was friendly and the food was beautifully presented and delicious.

Overall a fantastic nights stay. Would recommend the hilton to anyone.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra and get an executive room. You get executive lounge access which will save a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daglish19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at our Hotels on Valentine’s Day!

Your feedback regarding your romantic stay is amazing and you are indeed correct the views from our luxurious Presidential Suite and executive lounge overlooking the City are spectacular.

We are, as always pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon – maybe next Valentine’s day?

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

i had attended a conference at city hall cardiff,i had the chance to stay in the hilton cardiff for 3 day, at the conference and having workshops to attend believe me,the hilton was like an oaisis,i would tell anyone you need to take out,even just having a coffee in the steam room bar,refresh's you,

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags4922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay with us whilst attending a conference over at City Hall- our Hotel has the best location in Cardiff!

We are extremely thankful for your fab review and that our Hotel is an oasis!! May I thank you for taking the time to write such a great review which will be passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

What a great hotel in a great location! Was upgraded to a Junior Suite with entrance to the executive lounge with a great view of Cardiff Castle across the street. And be sure to check out the pool...the nicest hotel pool I have ever seen! The staff were super friendly and very helpful. The only downside was the parking, which seemed a bit on the pricey side, but overall it was a memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 41378Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your upgrade to our Junior Suites which are extremely popular and your access to our Executive Lounge which does boost fantastic views across the City. Wow and your comment about our swimming pool being the nicest you have ever seen is amazing!! May I thank you for taking the time to write such a great review which will be passed onto the team.

Unfortunately we lease our car cark and do not own it so there will be a charge to all guests that use this service and I am sorry that you found it to be expensive but most City Centres Hotels nowadays do charge guests for parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My Husband and I stayed here for the weekend without the children and enjoyed it very much. The food was very good but do think that the car park charge of £16.00 per night very excessive. The hotel is in a great location for shopping around Cardiff but the car park charge would put me off staying again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDREA19011969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay with us with your family.

Your review is marvellous to read and thank you for taking the time to write such a great review which will be passed onto the team.

Unfortunately we lease our car cark and do not own it so there will be a charge to all guests that use this service and I really do hope that this charge will not stop you from returning to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2011

When we arrived at the hotel with my friends, the doorman welcomed our english friends and looked at myself and another friend and said "travel lodge is down the road" he probably thought that we were not good enough or could not afford to stay at this hotel, we did ask him what he was trying to imply by saying that, but he obviously gave some stupid excuse, we did tell him that he was rude and unprofessional. The other hotel staff were really friendly. The hotel was not worth a 5 star hotel, the beds were not comfortable, the pillows were awful, our heads just sunk into the pillows. You had to pay for the drinking water (bottled) I've been to 3 star hotels and they at least gave you a free bottle of water. The iron was the cheapest iron I've ever seen (not steam) and it took forever to iron one item.... The TV had very limited channels and they were so boring, they can at least get freeview...... The only good thing about the room was the bathroom and shower..... If you want a quiet hotel this is definitely not the hotel to go to, there's so much noise around.....This hotel is not worth what they charge, I've been to better 5 star hotels...

Room Tip: I think it's better to stay in a 3 or 4 star hotel because your expectations wont be too high
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay with us.

Your review is very disappointing and your constructive comments regarding your arrival and bedrooms amenities are certainly not indicative of our normal high levels of service. Please accept my sincere apologies for the dissatisfaction caused to you.

It is very rare to receive such comments about our beds as we have just recently replaced all of beds in the Hotel to fantastic serenity beds and we have received excellent feedback since the installation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon to show you that such issues that you experienced are uncommon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,087 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 73 in Cardiff
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing