We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is wondefully situated opposite the Cardiff Castle. I loved the swimmng pool and fitness centre. The room was very comfortable and staff were great. The hotel is also very close to the shopping precinct which is pedestrianised.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at our Hotel.

How wonderful your review is to read and I am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Your kind review will be passed onto the team at the Hotel where no doubt and thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,812 - 2,818 of 3,225 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

A busy hotel,that was bustling with activity on arrival with good atmosphere, clean and tidy
Good friendly welcome by the receptionist.
Rooms were clean, modern and comfortable.
The room was quiet despite facing the main road and the castle.
A relaxing and enjoyable stay.
My only negative would be the acoustics of the breakfast room in a morning, where the sound tended to travel, but then again I do like to wake up gently and in a more peacefull environment .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanCoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at our Hotel.

Yes our Hotel is very busy which does create a fantastic atmosphere and thank you for picking up on this. Your comments regarding our reception team and rooms are lovely to read and thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

A lovely welcoming hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The room was large and comfortable with a large luxury bathroom. The beds were comfortable with lovely clean linen and soft pillows. The breakfast was delicious with a huge choice of everything from cereals to cooked breakfasts and the chef was very friendly and polite, as also were the waitresses and reception staff.
The only down side was the very expensive drinks in the bars and the noise from the local clubs at night, probably because it was Friday and Saturday.
Apart from that I would recommend the hotel and will certainly be back again for another visit to Cardiff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WrexhamJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at our Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoy the friendliness of our team of staff who are always on hand to assist our guests, our beds, your large room and our popular Hilton breakfast.

I am sorry to read that you found our drinks prices to be expensive and the quietness of your room disappointing and may I thank you for your valuable feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed here for a 4 day conference. At 1700 my room was not ready (well after check in time). I was not impressed. Basic service was provided but lots of flaws, no full turndown service in the evening, no newspaper arrived each morning, poor internet service - very slow speed. For the cost - poor value and would have no desire to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joemalone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at our Hotel.

I was concerned to read that you were not satisfied with the services we provided during your stay and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.

We will certainly be looking into these areas you have highlighted, I am confident that we can make the necessary improvements and that we will be able to offer the usual high level of personalised service during your next visit. Should there be anything specific we can arrange to make your next visit more comfortable, like your favourite room, please feel free to let us know.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed here for one night while my other half was on a business trip in Cardiff. The service at this hotel is 5*, the staff can't do enough to help. The bedroom was nice, with facilities you would expect, lovely big bed and double shower and seperate bath. The only negative about the room was that the shower wasn't powerfull. We decided not to eat at the restaurant, we went instead to a restaurant in the Bay, that was recommended by a member of staff at the Hilton (Cotes - fantastic food!). Breakfast was excellent, plenty of everything. Great base to explore the city centre!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at our Hotel.

Your feedback regarding your stay is as always a pleasure to read and I am sorry that you found your shower not to be powerful enough. Please be assured that such matters are not indicative of our normal high levels of service and thank you for your valuable feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for valentines day. We booked it in January as part of the January sale which meant the rooms were 1/2 price so we decided to treat ourselves to the Presidential suite (priced £300 in the sale)

We checked in early which did not seem a problem. Staff were friendly and offered to show us to our room. The hotel entrance was stunning (although the glass lift a little scary!)

The room was fantastic, there as a living/dining area with a huge suede corner sofa, dining table and TV cabinet with big(ish) TV and DVD player. The bathroom had a big walk in shower, his and hers washbasins, TV built in to the wall, and a large jacuzzi bath (although couldn't work out how to get the bubbles to work). The bed was lovely and big and was very comfortable with posh bedlinen! The entire room had one curved full height window which gave panoramic views accross north cardiff.

There was a small amount of tea/coffee making facilities in the room. But the best part about the room I feel was the Executive lounge access. The executive lounge was located next door to our room. It had comfy sofas and armchairs dotted about with views accross the castle and you could have complimentary tea, coffee, soft drinks and selected alcoholic drinks. There were also cakes and pastries available throughout the day and canapes on an evening. The lounge is available to anyone booking an executive room or higher. I must say it is well worth spending a little bit extra.

We went to the spa which was lovely. The changing rooms and pool area were very clean. The spa provided you with towels, robes and toiletries.

We ate in the hotel restaurant 'Razzi' which was ver nice. I had the slow roasted beef and my partner had the salmon. The service was friendly and the food was beautifully presented and delicious.

Overall a fantastic nights stay. Would recommend the hilton to anyone.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra and get an executive room. You get executive lounge access which will save a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daglish19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at our Hotels on Valentine’s Day!

Your feedback regarding your romantic stay is amazing and you are indeed correct the views from our luxurious Presidential Suite and executive lounge overlooking the City are spectacular.

We are, as always pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon – maybe next Valentine’s day?

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

i had attended a conference at city hall cardiff,i had the chance to stay in the hilton cardiff for 3 day, at the conference and having workshops to attend believe me,the hilton was like an oaisis,i would tell anyone you need to take out,even just having a coffee in the steam room bar,refresh's you,

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags4922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay with us whilst attending a conference over at City Hall- our Hotel has the best location in Cardiff!

We are extremely thankful for your fab review and that our Hotel is an oasis!! May I thank you for taking the time to write such a great review which will be passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £80 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing