We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel in Cardiff”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here when visiting for the British Speedway GP. The whole city was rammed and rooms are always at a premium for this weekend. We were unable to book via the hotel's web site but secured a room via a Cardiff conventions site. As a Hilton Gold member I was a little concerned that points and benefits may not have been forthcoming, but I'm glad to say they were honoured. Whilst no executive floor rooms were available we were granted access to the lounge. Staff were very helpful, the valet parking service is great, location can't be bettered and the hotel has a fantastic pool. Will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reevesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,932 - 2,938 of 3,355 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

We have just spent the weekend at this hotel and had a fantastic time. From making the reservatioin staff could not have been more helpful, accommodating or friendly. On arrival Pedro the conceirge was so friendly, fun and very efficient as were all of the reception staff. My son of 10 months has prescribed milk and the staff could not have done more to accommodate our special needs. Through out the stay they all bent over backwards to help us, were amazing with our son and most impressively, they appeared to all love their job!

The room was great, very spacious, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The location of the hotel could not be better, everything was so accessible. The breakfast was great, as again were the staff.

I cannot fault this hotel and yes you have to pay £17 to park, but hey, with such great service who cares.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisamyers309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We've just arrived back from a weekend break at the Hilton in Cardiff. Overall it's a nice hotel in a great location, but the rooms are in desperate need of a re-furb as they are very dated. The £17 per night parking charge is absolutely ridiculous and I think they really should re-think this. We pre-booked our break in January and got a half price deal including breakfast but there is no way I would stay here if I had to pay full price. Would return if got a half price deal again though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJNWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

From what we saw this hotel seemed to be one of the nicest in Cardiff however it is not what we would consider a 5-star hotel.

Service for the most part was good apart from the rude & unprofessional concierge (Pedro I believe his name was).

The hotel is located right across the street from the castle north of Cardiff Central Train Station (a 2 hour train ride from London Paddington Station). It is about a 10-15 minute walk from the train station (although if you have suitcases you'd probably be better off taking a taxi) and a 20-25 minute walk down to Cardiff Bay (where there are newer restaurants /pubs in a renovated development along the water. We would recommend The Mimosa Kitchen & Bar if you want to try some authentic Wales cuisine). We would not recommend walking back from Cardiff Bay at night time to the hotel (didn't seem super safe) and we took a taxi which was nicely inexpensive at £6. Our taxi ride to Cardiff Central Train station the next morning from the hotel was £3.60.

As Hilton Honors Gold members we got upgraded to the Executive Floor (there are 2 Executive Floors = the 6th floor and the 7th floor) and we also had use of the Executive Lounge on the 7th floor. The Executive Lounge offers tea/cookies/snacks from 3pm, Canapes and alcoholic drinks from 6pm-8pm and continental breakfast in the morning. Our upgraded room faced the castle which offered really pretty views during the day and even nicer views at night as the castle is illuminated by lights. However, we think we would have had a better night's sleep had we not had a castle-facing-room because those rooms also look over a major street. We stayed on a Saturday night and we heard police and ambulance sirens literally all night long. Also there is a clock on the nearby church tower than has ringing bells that play every 15 minutes also, literally all night long. The bells helped us to accurately calculate that it took us 1 hour to fall asleep and then, when we were awoken by drunken people cussing in the hall it took us 45 minutes to fall asleep and then when we were awoken again by the people on the other side of us it took another 45 minutes to fall asleep because (as in the case the prior times as well) it was so noisy from the street noise as well as noise from the halls and adjoining rooms due to poor sound-proofing. When we walked through Cardiff and noticed the other hotels (such as the Marriott) were located right across the street from pubs & bars we thought we were lucky that we would not have the same noise problem as the guests staying there would. However, due to the very loud street (we were shocked that there police and ambulance sirens constantly throughout the night) from our castle facing room we only got about 4 hours of sleep despite attempting to get 10 hours of sleep. Granted I am a light sleeper but I was very surprised when my husband was also awoken due to the loud noise of fellow hotel guests and even he had a hard time falling back asleep because he normally can sleep through anything. We also found the bed and pillows to be incredibly uncomfortable.

My best tip is if you stay here and want to get good sleep then to ask for a room NOT facing the castle. The views were just not worth it!

The Hilton Cardiff website said that the hotel was undergoing construction although we did not see any sign of construction while we were there. Some of the restaurants/bars did have limited hours though as we were notified by letters in our hotel room.

The Hilton Cardiff did have a very well equipped fitness center and the hotel was advertised as a non-smoking hotel which was nice.

Overall, the Hilton Cardiff did appear to be one of the nicest hotels in Cardiff so we don't think we could have done much better in choosing our accommodations; It just didn't live up to what we consider to be a 5-star hotel and what we thought was an advantage having a castle facing room just turned into a disadvantage due to the street & church bell noise as well as the bad luck of having loads of loud/drunk guests on our floor.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms do NOT face the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenstarlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Hilton is in a prime position close to Cardiff Castle and the main shopping area, though if you are driving in it is easy to miss the turn that will take you to the front of the hotel. Valet parking is available at the slightly steep £17 per night.

Check in was quick, efficient and friendly and the lobby looks pleasant. My king room was...well...ok. I stayed at this hotel about six years ago and couldn't see anything had changed in the rooms - same furniture, same design, all rather tired and a bit battered. The bathroom is large if not the best layout, and what is it with hotels that don't put any hooks for towels anywhere near the shower?

Breakfast was fine with a decent selection of food, and there is a nice conservatory area where one can breakfast and watch the world go by.

Overall it is a nice enough hotel and one of the better choices in Cardiff. If I had paid full rate I would have felt ripped off, but I got this on a deal so it was tolerable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is wondefully situated opposite the Cardiff Castle. I loved the swimmng pool and fitness centre. The room was very comfortable and staff were great. The hotel is also very close to the shopping precinct which is pedestrianised.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at our Hotel.

How wonderful your review is to read and I am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Your kind review will be passed onto the team at the Hotel where no doubt and thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

A busy hotel,that was bustling with activity on arrival with good atmosphere, clean and tidy
Good friendly welcome by the receptionist.
Rooms were clean, modern and comfortable.
The room was quiet despite facing the main road and the castle.
A relaxing and enjoyable stay.
My only negative would be the acoustics of the breakfast room in a morning, where the sound tended to travel, but then again I do like to wake up gently and in a more peacefull environment .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanCoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at our Hotel.

Yes our Hotel is very busy which does create a fantastic atmosphere and thank you for picking up on this. Your comments regarding our reception team and rooms are lovely to read and thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £66 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing