We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue - Good Value”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good venue - Good Value”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed here with colleagues - excellent big rooms overlooking the castle for £99 including breakfast and really very impressed. Gym was good, as were pool, sauna and steam room. Great central location for all Cardiff sights, and food and bar were both good too. £17 valet oarking a bit steep, but otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,382
    956
    433
    165
    89
See reviews for
505
1,178
132
674
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel was great. The staff were great they give you a real warm Welsh welcome. The rooms are a little on the small side but that was not a problem. The breakfast and the pool were a big hit with the kids

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel with a 3 day tour in between stays. Both times we had a room with a view of the castle. The rooms were a decent size with a huge comfy king sized bed. TV reception was good. The room and hotel were very clean. All staff that we encountered were exceptional and seemed to enjoy their jobs. The breakfast buffet was delicious with good variety and smiling faces to assist. Everything we needed seemed to be in walking distance including the castle, shopping malls, shopping arcades, pubs, restaurants, etc. Our visit to Cardiff was marvellous and the hotel was A+++++

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly_3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

8 stayed at the Hilton From the 22~25 of August 2011 and i must say I love how when you have a executive room there is a executive lounge for free tea coffee and even alcohol!! you also get a selection of soft drinks and there is nibbles there too! the mini fridge in our room was exoensive though as well as the dinners and drinks down stairs in the lobby area. the staff are soooo friendly and helpfull woth all of your needs.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callum1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in the Hilton Cardiff from 20 August to 22 August 2011. Great location in the centre of town. The double King room was really good and I would recommend you ask for this type of room rather than the standard double. Room had air con, massive bed and the bathroom was great a bath and a walk in double shower. Breakfast was really good value with loads to choose from. The staff were very friendly and the overall atmosphere of the hotel was very friendly and relaxed. I've stayed in Hilton hotels throughout the UK and this was definitely the best yet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CameronsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

A weekend trip here saw us and the family venturing to Cardiff, we all booked exactly the same rate room. Whereas one couple had your standard hotel room, we had a slightly oddly shaped room which had a window looking on to the inside of the hotel - with no outside light whatsoever.

Not only this, our window was RIGHT next to the glass elevator shaft - so anyone getting out on our floor could get a good look in to our room at the same time! Needless to say we drew the net part of the curtains, resulting in even less light than before.

I was surprised that we weren't warned about the window/layout of this room, it seemed the equivalent of booking a theatre seat with a limited view...

Otherwise the rest of the room was fairly good, apart from a vent in the bathroom which seemed to spontaneously open on it's own - seemed like they needed to get the handyman in...

As for the hotel, generally it was very clean with a fantastic pool and gym. Breakfast was excellent, with a choice of almost anything you fancy for breakfast! The bar was also nice, if extremely expensive.

The staff were also extremely friendly - apart from one particular barman. I went to order drinks with my partner, requested to charge it to the room and was looked upon with mild contempt as he stated he would need several items of proof that I was staying in the hotel. Perhaps it had something to do with my comfortable converse trainers and jeans wearing attire, in the end I actually had to get my father to provide his signature and original booking form to prove we were staying there!!! Ridiculous. Although - I must point out that the other bar staff were absolutely lovely, it was just this one arrogant/judgemental barman who obviously assumed we couldn't afford to drink there.

Room Tip: Check that you have an external facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossendale, lancs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Travelled for a weekend with disabled mother in law, husband and three year old. From pre booking through the stay to departure, staff couldn't have done more to make us feel valued and welcome without ever being fussy or officious. Jana in the restaurant made our three year old feel like a princess. Every need was met, facilities were reasonably well maintained, relaxed and accessible , food delicious, drinks reasonably priced. only minor quibble is some street noise, which was to be expected from a lower floor of a hotel in a busy city.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asharah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,046 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing