We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor spa facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“poor spa facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions, however, this weekend (21st and 22nd) we were visiting Cardiff but went to use the pool facilities. The pool area was very run down and quite dirty. The changing rooms had a dirty nappy on the floor on full view as we arrived into the changing rooms. There were dirty towels on the floor and the whole place looked tired and in desperate need of refurbishment.

The jacuzzi was boiling hot, it was nice at first but after a 5 minutes it made us all feel very queezy. There were two staff members sitting in the reception area of the spa and were very friendly but as it was VERY quiet (we were the only ones in there) I would have thought they could have kept the cleanliness up to date.

The view from the jacuzzi was a yellow mop and bucket and looked untidy (more like a pool in a leisure centre than a lovely hotel). It also cost us £46 to go swimming for an hour which is very expensive, that price means you could stay for the day but you just wouldnt want to as it is not a relaxing place.

There are two relaxing chairs with stripey seat pads on them, the seat pads were not on the chairs properly and looked like they needed new ones. The whole area is tired and run down, one of the pillars looks like it is crumbling away (doesnt look that safe) in the pool. Not a very nice experience at all, very expensive and not at all relaxing. Showers were mouldy also, I would not recommend this pool/spa part of the hotel. Also, I was very ill that evening and cannot help wondering if this was due to spending time in the jacuzzi, as was my daughter (we were the only 2 in it).

Room Tip: the hotel is lovely and so are the staff, the spa definately lets the hotel down. Not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tud11209011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,315
    938
    423
    165
    87
See reviews for
488
1,155
126
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was the best Hilton we have stayed at so far outside London. Reception could not have been more helpful and welcoming. As gold members we had been hoping for an upgrade to an Executive room, but the hotel was quite full and there were none available, but we were given access to the Executive Lounge for which we were very appreciative. Our room, which was comfortable and well equipped, had a lovely view overlooking the Castle. We had a really good meal in the restaurant, where the food was excellent and the service second to none. The Executive Lounge is on the 7th floor with an amazing view of the Castle. The breakfast in the Lounge was very good as were the cakes in the afternoon and the canapes before dinner. We stayed here for 2 nights and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have stayed here several times and its still our favourite hotel in Cardiff, mainly for the Exec lounge which has great views, good service and with breakfast, nibbles and drinks (time limited) is well worth the extra cost. The service is always very good - friendly courteous and attentive. The rooms are well maintained, spacious with a comfy bed and good showers. Valet parking is pricey, but then no parking in cardiff is cheap.
They have started to reduce the time drinks are avaialable in the Exec lounge, and they will need to restrict this ost cutting as I'm sure if this is continued on it will lose them trade (including ours, which would be a shame). This is why I feel they are now less good value for money than they were, but at the moment still worth it.

Room Tip: Book a room that gest you access to the Exec lounge - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Booked an executive room overlooking the castle and was given a room on the 7th floor. We have stayed before but were given an executive room overlooking the rear of the hotel. Pay the extra. If not for the view, then do it for the quietness. The room was quite big and the normal slippers/bathrobes were available. The bedding was of good cotton quality and I have to say I had the best sleep that I have ever managed in a hotel. Three rooms away was the executive lounge. For our stay this time it wasn't too busy and quite comfortable. The location of the hotel is excellent. Perfect for shopping. Breakfast in the executive lounge deserves it's own special mention. We had perfectly cooked scrambled eggs and bacon along with smoked salmon. Thoroughly enjoyed our trip and will no doubt book again in the Autumn.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book an executive room overlooking the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaudog96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Unfortunately the PA booked its in here again. The can't do attitude of the staff never fails to disappoint, even as a diamond hilton member they treat you like an inconvenience and not once have I had a good experience at this hilton.

They should check out the double tree in Bristol, the staff there know how to treat returning customers, there its no comparison.

Overall good location, terrible service and expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattjj27671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

professional , efficient and helpful staff.
room a bit noisy but thats the same as any city centre hotel

Room Tip: dont take one that looks onto the street as gets noisy with late night revellers mainly students
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldChezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Glam South Wales
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed just the 1 night because we were in town to see a show in the WMC for our wedding anniversary. I decided on the Hilton as I had previously dined there and always fancied staying. Not disappointed! Quick, efficient check in with very friendly staff, they even wished us a happy anniv (a complimentary bottle of something in our room would have been nice but hey ho...). The gentleman who parked our car was very pleasant too and the process was fully explained. Unlike a previous reviewer who said that it was only when the staff saw his expensive mercedes that they became polite, we had no such experience.

The room was an excellent size and spotless, as was the very large bathroom. Very good sound proofing as we had a room on the 1st floor overlooking the Kingsway and at closing time the local bars and pubs can get rowdy - didn't hear a thing!

As we only had the one night we did not use the facilities, nor the restaurant. However from what we saw and experienced I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel overlooks very popular bars, the other a busy main road but the excellent soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluebirdFACup08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing