We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3nights away”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Great hotel to stay in concierge parking
Nice restaurant but very quite
Staff very cheerful
Right near shops and castle don't need car even the bay is walking distance say 30 minute stroll
Nice all round but bonus is position of hotel

Room Tip: In the executive lounge 7th floor lovely view of castle and house and grounds
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwalss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

It was great to read your review following your visit to our hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and our location in the heart of the City Centre and your comment regarding the cheeriness of the team !

I do hope that we will have the opporunity of another visit very soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,186)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Cardiff
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,374 - 2,380 of 3,188 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Huge room,very clean,great view and staff extremely friendly.very good experience,the bar was lovely and the bathroom is the biggest I have ever had in a hotel,can't wait to stay there again.next to the castle and 30 seconds walk to major night clubs and restaurants easily the best positioned hotel in Cardiff

Room Tip: Ask for a view of castle
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnie112118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Hilton Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This was my first stay at hotel. The service was outstanding and the hotel is in a great location in the city. It was great to have a Costa Coffee shop in the lobby. The fitness room needs to be expanded as the mornings when I would workout, there was barely room for 2 people to lift weights. The rooms are in need of a remodel. My room had carpet that was worn and the desk had several scratches and dings. I will return in the future and hope to see improvements.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel following your visit to Cardiff.

I am so pleased to read your feedback regarding the service and our great location in the City Centre and you enjoyed our new Costa Coffee outlet. I would also like to thank you for your constructive comments regarding our Livingwell Health Club and our bedrooms, these comments will be taken on board for any future refurbishment plans in our hotel.

I do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

I bought my Mum an experience voucher for her 75th Birthday, for a champagne cocktail meal for two at this Hotel. We booked for lunchtime today, the service was excellent all staff made us feel special, and the food was to die for ! We did not stay so can't comment on the rooms sorry.
It was worth every penny, we enjoyed very much. It was fab !
Jayne Beddow

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Very large rooms compared with the cramped London rooms I am used to and a really nice exec lounge overlooking the Castle.

It has a huge sauna and steam room which again makes a difference from the London ones. Staff are super friendly and they go and park your car for you.

Food is what you expect from a Hilton, once you have had one Hilton Burger you have had them all.

Overall, good service, good rooms and good food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unseen_Prawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Very central which is both a good and bad feature. On the one hand you are central to most things and the shops are a minutes walk, but because of this it is very noisy and busy all the time. Early evening on a Saturday night just walking outside the hotel are groups of people hanging around on the street which was quite intimidating. And throughout the night you can hear people (mostly drunk) right outside the hotel, this goes on until around 3am, along with police sirens every half hour or so. I was put on the 1st floor and immediately asked to move as I was at the front of the hotel and directly above the restaurant. My request was declined and I was awake from midnight until the early hours. The restaurant move tables and chairs around while tidying up for at least an hour after closing and then the party people continue the noise. I spoke to a lady in the morning who was on the 7th floor and she also heard the noise so not sure if its possible to escape it anywhere. The staff were polite (if not entirely helpful) The junior suite was nice but badly situated. Tvs were awful. Controls were hard to press and changing channels took forever. Shower in the morning was cold. Swimming pool was ok but cold. Not five star standard. Jacuzzi was luke warm and on a timer which was iritating, sauna was fine, steam was too hot to even nip into so was empty the whole time we were in the spa area. There is no shallow end for children. Had the continental breakfast in the Exec lounge, Nice but not a warm atmosphere. Food was nice as was the view. Although it is five star it doesnt feel like it because of the surroundings (and the screaming drunks!) My six year old loved it but then he got some sleep.

Room Tip: Go as high in the hotel as possible, there is no difference in the noise anywhere in the hotel it is...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

extremely friendly staff helped out as my boyfriend would not arrive until later so they kept an extra key card behind the desk for him on his arrival. The room was very large and spacious. bathroom was extremely clean and had a very large shower. In room breakfast was lovely and so was the pool area and spa. And had a lovely hour long massage. overall an extremely nice treat for my 18th.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JadeGalsworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Hilton Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £81 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing