We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for a night.
Positive: excellent location, very nice staff, room spacious and quiet; good value if you book an executive room with access to the executive lounge. Free drinks and canapés in the evening meant we didn't have to go out in the evening.

Negative: furniture chipped, towel had a hole on it and the shower enclosure was full of mould. They were those little things that made me feel cheated as I want expecting that from a Hilton hotel. A bit more care to detail needed, but overall for £89 I felt I had decent value for money (due to the executive lounge!)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paloma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    944
    428
    165
    88
See reviews for
495
1,167
129
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. We stayed here a few years ago and returned because of our previous experiences here. Glad we did. This hotel is situated right in the centre of town across from the Castle and within minutes of shopping arcades and the huge St. Davids shopping centre. Bars and restaurants are all there.
The room was large enough for 4 of us to be comfortabe. The beds were super comfy. The TV was great and the shower was large. Everything was clean. The kids enjoyed the pool and if under 16, children must be accompanied by an adult over 18. There is free wifi in the lobby for guests.
All staff members we encountered were genuinely friendly and very knowledgable. They seemed to enjoy working there.
Breakfast was hot and plentiful. On our last morning we had to leave before it opened so they made us a takeaway breakfast with fruit, drinks, pastries etc. We just had to ask at desk the night before.
Would highly reccommend this hotel and will definately stay here if i return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly_3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your first class review of the Hilton Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Cardiff in Early July. The rooms and we standard and did what was needed. However, the staff at this Hotelwere the most informed and most friendly of all of the hotels we stayed at while on vacation. From directing us to the best pubs, best locations for off the beaten track attractions, and best times to get to and from the high ranked tourist spots, the staff at the hilton Cardiff were exceptional. Definately a great location in Cardiff as it is close to all the top attaractions. I will return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjl1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a first class review of the Hilton Cardiff.

It was great to read your wonderful comments regarding the service and advice given to you by the team during your stay and you enjoyed our great central location.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of another visit very soon and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Booked for two nights via trivago so did wonder what we would get when paying £142 for 2 nights. Had a basic room facing the bars and nightclubs but was still delighted with our stay. Basic but spotlessly clean room and while u could hear the people outside, it wasn't enough to keep you awake. Excellent service throughout our stay from check-in and valet parking through to the spa treatment and health club. Every area of the hotel was sparkling clean. It was all I expected from "the Hilton" and much more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathjeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed recently for two nights whilst down for the Boss concert in the Millenium Stadium. Very clean hotel with a great pool.
My only complaint was the lack of towels in the room along with the quality of them too. The parking is not cheap but the service is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton following your recent visit to Cardiff.

It was great to read your overall comments regarding the hotel and I am pleased that you did enjoy your stay. I have however noted your feedback regarding the towels in your bedroom and may I offer you my sincere apologies for any disappointment caused to you at the time.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton Bradstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A good welcome and well organised parking/arrival sign-in. However the internal room bathroom extractor fan not working, old lipstick smeared on a drinking glass, and dirty plates in corridor didn't provide good ambience. Powdered scrambled egg and a generally average breakfast choice. We've recently stayed in similar brand hotels in Spain and France and Hilton management need to go and have breakfast there. Genuinely welcoming and caring staff let down by poor management!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Hilton Cardiff.

I was so disappointed to read your feedback regarding the hotel and the quality of your breakfast and may I offer you my apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I do hope that despite your experience on this visit we will have the opportunity of restoring your confidence on a future visit and if I can assist in anyway please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareham
Level Contributor
386 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Central location , friendly staff but a clinical very impersonal hotel. We had a spacious room overlooking the castle with a nice big shower but it all lacked sparkle. You could have been anywhere. Breakfast reasonable.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your guest comment card following your recent visit to Cardiff.

It is great to read that you enjoyed our central location and friendly staff and we certainly take great pride in our service. I was however disappointed with your overall feedback and I am very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and if I can be of any assistance in the future do not hesitate to get in touch.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing