We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Cardiff City Center”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Cardiff City Center”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband and I were visiting the UK to take part in the Doctor Who celebrations, and couldn't decide whether to stay in Cardiff Bay or the city center. We are so happy we chose the Hilton Cardiff. It was in a great location for us to walk to restaurants, bars, and shopping, and a quick cab ride to the Doctor Who Experience. The staff was very nice and accommodating, and the room was quite large. We ate Sunday lunch at the hotel restaurant and it was very good as well. We were lucky to get a room at this hotel since there was a big rugby match in the city during our stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyrrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Hilton Cardiff.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Wales and the facilities in our hotel and the service you received from our team and your comments were fantastic to read.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    950
    431
    165
    88
See reviews for
500
1,168
131
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

this hotel has lost the 5 star appeal that it use to have - room look tired and dated, so are the pool and spa areas. On saying that it is an excellent base to explore Cardiff from as its right in the heart of the city, however that does also mean that some rooms are backing on to bars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank RoyBatty2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Cardiff.

It was disappointing to read your review and that you felt let down by the appeal of our hotel. I would like to apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

The hotel is very excited to have invested and commenced on a full bedroom refurbishment programme which will be completed in April 2014.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future and restoring your confidence in our hotel.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with breakfast and also had our evening meal in the hotel . The room was great the food was great and the service was exceptional . We made full use of the swimming pool sauna and steam room and visited the bar too ! All in all a fantasti stay. We will be looking forward to a return visit .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 281192debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
It was really great to read your review of our hotel following your recent visit.

Your wonderful comments are great to read especially your feedback regarding the exceptional service and this is something that we really do take great pride in so thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton.

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

As usual, a warm welcome and early access to our room. We were upgraded because we are Gold Honors members - I had accidentally booked a twin room instead of a double but this was quickly resolved without a fuss. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable with a lovely view of the castle and the near by gardens. We used the Executive Lounge for a few hours in the evening and there was a lovely atmosphere there and very high standards of service, we also had a lovely breakfast there in the morning. Can't wait for the next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
I would like to say a big thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following one of your recent visits.

It is always great to read such wonderful comments and I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed another visit to the Hilton Cardiff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Hilton in Cardiff is a great hotel. It has good bars and a cafe I am a gold member so that's a bonus as well the pool was gorgeous the steam room and sauna were heavenly all of the staff were very friendly and helpful through our stay especially Mark. I didn't know the Hilton made cakes and could deliver them to your door ( it was my sisters birthday ) it was roughly 9:00 PM and then I found out so I rushed down to reception to see if I could get a cake delivered. Unfortunately I couldn't as the hotel needs 48 hours notice to make a cake and also the chef had gone home never the less Mark told me he would do the best that he could and he said a cake should be with you within 20 minutes it came within 10. So out of all the hotels I've been to I've got to say the Hilton in Cardiff is the best good food peace and quiet and friendly staff also its very close to all the shops so great for Christmas shopping. So thanks again to all the staff at Hilton Cardiff for making my trip a trip to remember.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ar35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
A big thank your fantastic review of our hotel.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I've stayed at the Hilton in Cardiff a few times and every stay has been excellent. Cannot fault the hotel, staff or location. The pool is lovely and the afternoon tea is great to enjoy with family and friends. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Htrips85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel following one of your recent visits.

It was really great to read that we are your favourite hotel here in Cardiff and your lovely comments regarding the service and of course the Afternoon Tea.

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We'd definitely stay here again. We were only in Cardiff for the weekend, wish we could of stayed longer. Comes highly recommended. The room was great and the en suite was out of this world. Parking was a bit of a nightmare but I guess it's the same in any city.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
It was really great to read your fantastic feedback of the hotel following your recent visit to Cardiff.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you would highly recommend our hotel.

Looking forward to your next visit !

Kind regards
Louisa
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing