We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent staff”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at the hilton for a works christmas party, and i was impressed by the staff and the quality of the food . The room was nice and a decent size with a huge bathroom that has a bath and a big walk in shower which i loved.
I enjoyed the food in the party But the bar prices were Expensive. It cost me £3.90 for 2 little bottles of coke and nearly £5 for a martini and lemonade. The Bar prices are a rip off.

Room Tip: Room 239 it has a Huge Bathroom but you can't open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambulanceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,076 - 2,082 of 3,225 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the Cardiff hilton, only for one night but the experience was outstanding.
Arrived at the hotel for check in and was greeted by an extremely friendly and upbeat employee at the front desk.
I was given my key card and given instructions to my room.
The room (twin guest room) was very cosey and clean.
The shower was phenomenal, quite possibly the best shower I've ever used!
I ordered a bottle of red wine from room service which was delivered promptly by a very polite employee.
All in all my time at this hotel was very good and will definitely stay there again!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Leighton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here early December. Easy check in. Room was spacious and very nice. Nice bar area and reasonably priced drinks for a City Centre. Dined at the hotel restaurant in the evening. Food was good but long delays in service between courses. The hotel is centrally based and within easy walking distance to shops, pubs and restaurants. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A lovely hotel right in the centre of Cardiff. You can't really get much closer. We stayed in an executive double room with a view towards the Millenium Stadium, Cardiff Bay (in the distance) and the rooftops of the city. Nice room, very clean and well equipped with everything you could need. We had access to the Executive Lounge with its freebies. Tea, coffee, biscuits, pastries during the day and free finger food, wine and lager in the evening. Breakfast is also served in the Executive lounge with a lovely selection including fresh salmon, bacon, scrambled eggs, croissants, jams, cereals etc.
We didn't use the pool or the spa so not sure what these are like.
We are already booking again for next year! Definately worth it.

Room Tip: Go for the executive rooms to get the Executive Lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

It was great to read your review of our hotel following your recent Christmas weekend shopping trip.

A big thank you for your very kind feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your room with a view and your visit to our executive lounge.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband and I were visiting the UK to take part in the Doctor Who celebrations, and couldn't decide whether to stay in Cardiff Bay or the city center. We are so happy we chose the Hilton Cardiff. It was in a great location for us to walk to restaurants, bars, and shopping, and a quick cab ride to the Doctor Who Experience. The staff was very nice and accommodating, and the room was quite large. We ate Sunday lunch at the hotel restaurant and it was very good as well. We were lucky to get a room at this hotel since there was a big rugby match in the city during our stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tyrrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Hilton Cardiff.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Wales and the facilities in our hotel and the service you received from our team and your comments were fantastic to read.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

this hotel has lost the 5 star appeal that it use to have - room look tired and dated, so are the pool and spa areas. On saying that it is an excellent base to explore Cardiff from as its right in the heart of the city, however that does also mean that some rooms are backing on to bars.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank RoyBatty2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Cardiff.

It was disappointing to read your review and that you felt let down by the appeal of our hotel. I would like to apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

The hotel is very excited to have invested and commenced on a full bedroom refurbishment programme which will be completed in April 2014.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future and restoring your confidence in our hotel.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with breakfast and also had our evening meal in the hotel . The room was great the food was great and the service was exceptional . We made full use of the swimming pool sauna and steam room and visited the bar too ! All in all a fantasti stay. We will be looking forward to a return visit .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 281192debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

It was really great to read your review of our hotel following your recent visit.

Your wonderful comments are great to read especially your feedback regarding the exceptional service and this is something that we really do take great pride in so thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton.

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £58 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing