We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience for our Civil Ceremony”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing experience for our Civil Ceremony”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My partner and I looked at many hotels to have our ceremony dinner and evening party. After much searching we finally chose the Hilton Cardiff. We are so glad that we did. We first met Amy Newman, Conference and Events Sales Executive. Amy was very professional and easy to liaise with. We held a number of meetings with her where she was attentive and took on board all our requests (there were many!!) and accommodated all if not more. We then met David Scott, Conference and Events Manager who, just like Amy was professional and ensured that our 'vision' of our room for dinner not only came to fruition but exceeded our expectations. It was outstanding. Amy, David and all their staff were wonderful to us and allowed us to enjoy the day without any worries or concerns what were happening behind the scenes.
Our thanks to Chef. Our taster sessions were wonderful which all our guests reiterated on the day as to how good the food was.
We stayed at the Hotel the night of our ceremony and the night prior. We were ecstatic that we were able to stay in the presidential Suite for the two nights which put the icing on the cake.
A big big thank you again to Amy, David and all staff involved in our day. It was a dream day, the venue perfect, staff friendly and attentive; couldn't have wished for a better day. We will have an amazing, wonderful, perfect memory to treasure.
P & C
xxx

Room Tip: Had the presidential suite - can't get any better than that!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigw1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
I would like to say a big thank for your wonderful review of the Hilton Cardiff.

It was our absolute pleasure to host your special day here at the hotel and it is great to read your overall comments especially those concerning both Amy, David and our Chef. I am so glad that we helped make this a most perfect and memorable day.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for your one year anniversary !

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,420
    977
    438
    167
    91
See reviews for
518
1,202
133
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner booked the Hilton as a birthday treat for myself. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. We were booked into the executive suite, which included access to the executive lounge. The views from our room were beautiful as we're the views from the lounge. The canapés were delicious and the wine and liquor slipped down easily.
As fabulous as the hotel was it was the staff who really set this hotel higher that the rest. They were so attentive and polite it was a pleasure to interact with them. What topped my weekend break was the thoughtfulness from the lady on the front desk. On checking in it was brought into conversation that it was indeed my birthday so the lady had 2 birthday cupcakes brought up to our room complimentary of the hotel.
There isn't many places you will get this level of service.
My favourite hotel to stay in within the UK for definite!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annalise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your first class review following your visit to Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hilton for my partners birthday last Friday. We had accidentally booked an executive suite when looking for a hotel. When we arrived, the lady checking us in was incredibly friendly, and couldn't do enough for us. The look on our face when she told us we had booked an executive suite must have been amazing! A cracking brekkie included, and access to the executive lounge for 2 hours. Otherwise known as drink what you want and eat all the snacks and canopies you can, free of charge! We got our money's worth!
The room, 701, was outstanding, with a beautiful view over the grounds of Cardiff Castle.
Our concierge, I think his name was Pedro, was brilliant! Full of laughter, happiest man you'll meet and again happy to do anything you asked.
Quite literally felt like a celeb, treated as though we were the only people in the world that mattered.
We paid £164 for the room for a night, and I can't wait to find another good deal on a room so me and my partner can go back.
I didn't get to check out the gym or other facilities, so will definitely be doing that next time!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your first class review following your visit to Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely room, lovely bathroom & the staff very friendly. Only thing was furniture in our room was quite dated. Nice bar too. Would visit again. Right near all the shops & bars. Paid extra for a view. Lovely kingsize bed. Value for money! Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mummy2b1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I visited the spa facilities at this hotel at the weekend for the second time and as before I really enjoyed. The pool is good and a decent size. All of the other spa facilities (sauna, steam room, jacuzzi) were also very good and nice and clean. The hotel is in a perfect location as it's right in the centre of Cardiff. It didn't disappoint at all and lived up to the standards that you'd expect from a Hilton. I'd certainly go again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ciara19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anglesey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

stayed at the Hilton for my wife birthday at beginning of january. the room was nice and large compared to other hotels only problem being that the housekeeping team didn't seem to clean to the high standard normally expected, found wrapper by beside table, what looked like chewed paper stuck on picture above bed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llanfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton following your visit at the beginning of January.

I would like to offer my apologies for your comments concerning the cleanliness of your bedroom and I would like to reassure you that this is certainly not indicative of our normal high standards.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Everything you'd expect from a city centre Hilton hotel, topped with a very warm welsh welcome. We were a group of 7 staying for a birthday celebration weekend and when the front desk found out they had a cake delivered to the room. In fact the front desk did everything they could to help us over the weekend. If only every big chain hotel could be like this.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Paul,

A big thank you for such a great review of the Hilton Cardiff following your birthday celebration weekend.

It is really great to read your comments regarding the help and service your received from our Reception team and something they all take great pride in.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of another visit soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,088 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 73 in Cardiff
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing