We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but pricey !”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent, but pricey !”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed during Wales 6 nations weekend, so hotel obviously very busy. Despite this, the whole team of staff and service was first class. Only downfall was the overinflated room prices due to the rugby. All excellent venue with excellent staff / service.

Room Tip: Some rooms enjoy complimentary use of the executive bar !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your first class review following your visit to Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,420
    977
    438
    167
    91
See reviews for
518
1,202
133
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Hilton in Cardiff is slap bang in the middle of the city, perfect for a weekend and/or rugby trip.
The rooms are very large as is the bed, there is a walk in shower and a bath, both excellent.
Breakfast is buffet style with an egg chef making for a very pleasant experience. There is also a sauna, steam room, pool and jacuzzi. Recommended. One down side is the noise from the city centre during the night. This is recognised by the hotel who have earplugs at reception!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your first class review following your visit to Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The plus points first! Very friendly helpful staff, valet parking very useful, great working buffet lunch served.

Right...... now for the minuses. Bearing in mind this was a business trip, I would have expected free wifi at least in the meeting room. It was only because we didn't have all the other extras with the room that I managed to get the wifi thrown into the cost. If this had not been the case we would have been looking at around £18 per person to use it! The only place you can get free wifi is in the lobby - I guess threatening to take our meeting into the lobby area also helped get the wifi thrown in!

Buffet lunch - lovely. Served in the area outside our meeting room. But this was cleared away without anyone checking if we still required any of it or wanted more. And at again £18 per head, not particularly cheap and we hardly touched the cake or fruit, which we would have had a bit later if they had asked.

The meeting room itself was average - chairs a bit worn looking and it was too warm. We couldnt find anywhere to adjust the temperature and the windows couldn't be opened.

Bedrooms - I was on 6th floor in a large twin room. The windows don't open but you can ask at reception and one of their staff will come up and open them for you. Strange..... The airconditioning/heating unit is very noisy and comes on at various times in the night!

Not too sure the cleaning is up to standard either - on arrival I found someone's sock balled up near the curtains! There was still hair in the shower too.

I wasn't overly impressed with the shower - I had a separate walk in shower which looked very impressive but I just couldn't get it hot enough despite having the temperature dial right the way round on the hot setting.

If you stay here, do NOT get a room which overlooks the clock tower. it chimes every quarter hour, then on the hour chimes the full monty!

I cannot comment on breakfast as I don't eat it, but those that had it I think enjoyed it.

Location wise you couldn't ask for better.

Would I stay again or book for another business trip? Probably not.

Room Tip: Avoid any room overlooking the clock tower!! It chimes all night long, every quarter hour and then f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

As I was on a business trip the rates were extremely good. Very friendly and helpful staff, valet parking worked well. Restaurant was much better than I thought it would be and I ate there three times.

One issue was the internet. Sign on in your room and it works, but move around the hotel and it does not. I have an issue with charging for internet anyway as I feel that it should be free,but when it is just linked to the room area well that is a bit of a joke. They did refund when I explained my issue so good on them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koolbreeze51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Cardiff Hilton.

It is great to read that overall you enjoyed your visit to the hotel for your business trip and was pleased with the rates and service from the team. I have also noted your constructive comments regarding internet access in the hotel and I am pleased that this was resolved to your satisfaction.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed overnight for business meeting. Clean, modern, spacious. Great location, friendly helpful attentive staff. Based opposite Cardiff Castle and very close to all the bars and clubs near town. Can be quite noisy and a lot of drunken chavs outside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
A big thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent overnight stay.

It is great to read your remarks regarding our location, cleanliness and friendly team and I do appreciate such lovely feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel Saturday 18h January and from the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble. From check in at 10am our 3 rooms were ready and all next to each other as requested. Room was clean and tidy
Beds were very comfy and larger than expected for a twin room - 3/4 size I think. Definitely bigger than a single
I have given the hotel a very good instead of an excellent as the Spa really needs some TLC. The jacuzzi was cold, the steam room was out of order and the pool too small really for such a large hotel. There were hardly any loungers/chairs to either sit on or leave towels.
Check out was fast ans efficient and we really appreciated being able to keep our car parked there with an additional charge until we were ready to leave the city in the afternoon, rather than having to move it when we checked out

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
It was great to read your review of the Hilton following your recent visit to Cardiff.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and that overall everything was to your satisfaction. I have also noted your feedback regarding the facilities in the health club and I do apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

stayed in one of the best rooms, overlooking the castle, executive lounge was very nice, reception staff were amazing always very helpful.
we had originally booked the room for the weekend before but due to my daughter being sick in hospital we asked to move the booking to the weekend after. which they did even tho we had the non refundable option. the hotel was very busy too so moving us may have caused a issue but it all worked out.
breakfast - amazing so much choice and all high quality.

Room Tip: ask for a room between 701 and 707 the view is amazing and makes waking up a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leong8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
It was so fantastic to read your review and I do hope that your Daughter has made a full recovery.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

Looking forward to your next visit in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,088 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 73 in Cardiff
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing