We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Executive lounge let down!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Executive lounge let down!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We are very frequent Hilton users worldwide and usually spend a little extra on the room rate to enjoy the benefits of the Exec Lounge. Lounges do very from hotel to hotel but we felt the Hilton Cardiff was pretty poor. No newspapers to read. Very poor evening canapés; sausage rolls, fish fingers and stale sandwiches - not usual Hilton fair. We were also shocked that only wine was served. We learned that you could ask for a spirit but it was a bit of an effort, not made to our liking and you were made to feel awkward by asking for a large G&T. Every other Hilton we have visited worldwide allows you to make your own spirits and so I'm unsure why Cardiff has to make it so awkward and unfriendly. Lastly, on a busy Saturday evening, we were asked at 19.50 whether we wanted a last drink which we accepted. Then at just a few minutes past 20.00, we were told the lounge was closed and asked to leave. We tried to take our drinks with us and were sternly advised this wasn't possible. We have experienced the most wonderful environment in Hilton lounges worldwide but at Cardiff the offering and service was frankly poor. Needs attention if we are to return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LordSheepscombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
It was very disappointing to read your review regarding your visit and your feedback regarding our Executive Lounge.

I would like to apologise for your experience in the Lounge and I would like to reassure you that this certainly is not the norm. Your comments will be taken on board and shared with the team.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
louisa.stride@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    923
    418
    161
    86
See reviews for
472
1,138
125
638
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I booked the Cardiff Hilton back in December, for a weekend stay in March. I had no idea that the 6 Nations was on, & consequently that finding a reasonably priced hotel in Cardiff would be so hard.
All the hotels that were available were very expensive.
But the Hilton offered the best facilities, so I booked for 2 nights in an Excutive room.
We were welcomed at the hotel by the very nice concierge - who advised us that they would valet park our car for £20 a night.
The hotel lobby was full of rugby fans - as it transpired that the Scottish Rugby Team were also staying at the hotel.
Check in was easy & straight forward. Internet access was another £14.99 per night & they also wanted a £70 per night deposit on top of the £478 that I'd already paid for the room.
The room was large & bright - not much of a view, but that wasnt an issue, with the usual mini bar, tv, hair dryer, slippers, dressing gown, tea & coffee maker etc.The bathroom was huge.
The biggest bonus of booking an executive room was that we had access to the Executive lounge. It was worth it for this alone.
Every evening we enjoyed complimentary canapes & drinkies from the 7th floor, overlooking the castle. We also took breakfast in the lounge & afternoon tea.
The staff in the executive lounge were brilliant.
The hotel was packed all weekend, with players & fans, and the hotel managed this very well.
The hotel itself is situated opposite Cardiff Castle. There are shops & restaurants & bars all around. The Millenium Stadium was minutes away - as was the Motorpoint Stadium - which is why we were there that particular weekend. A very good, very central hotel.
All in all I was very impressed & really enjoyed my stay at the Cardiff Hilton.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Book an executive room - it's well worth it for the access to the executive lounge & complim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bl0ndie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I chose this hotel becuase it was close to "work" but it is very well located - just on the edge of the centre opposite the castle. I usually stay at other large chains but often stay at Hiltons in the UK.

Check-in was very efficient - concierge offered to bring all my bags up without even being asked - as they could see I needed to rush off.

Now the room... I had one of the larger rooms/suites but it did feel as if they only had the furniture at hand for a normal sized room - i.e. it did look very empty(!) The bathroom kinda felt similar - not sure how to describe this.

Otherwise everything else was very good - breakfast for example. I didn't have a chance to use the gym but it looked very nice. Location is superb as it's right in the centre but doesn't feel like it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPG_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Hilton Cardiff.

I am pleaed that you enjoyed your visit to Hilton and it was our pleasure to have you with us as our guest.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for a night for a girly weekend for my mums birthday! Fab location right in the city centre, valet parking was ideal, after check-out we were able to leave lugagge and go exploring and were told there was no hurry to be back for the car, no extra charge. Mentioned on check in that we were here for my Mums birthday and they left her a cake and card in her room while we were at dinner, thanks!! Dinner was good, although would have been nice to have been asked on making the reservation if the child in our booking would prefer the main menu as opposed to the childs (ecspecially as this was my 16 year old sister.) Overall fab weekend, all feeling very relaxed now!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Every year we stay at the Hilton in Cardiff to attend a business function in the evening. Also stay at the Marriott for a similar reason. The Hilton is by far and away the best of the two. The rooms are roomy , clean and the beds are big and comfortable. The quality of the food is excellent, considering we are at an Institution dinner with 200 other people. Breakfast good and staff really freindly. Parking is a tad on the high side at £20 a night, but its for 24 hours so there's plenty of time for a look around Cardiff next day which you would have to pay for anyway, and you don't have to worry about being booked!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the atrium stuffy as you cant open a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellitasitis88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

An overall excellent stay in Cardiff. Good, quality room with 2 double beds. Excellent gym and pool area. Friendly staff always helpful. Evening meal and breakfast outstanding. Very short walk into Cardiff centre. Would recommend to anyone who wishes to stay in Cardiff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LlyW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
A big thank you for your review and for recommending the Hilton Cardiff.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your double double family bedroom, the facilities in our Livingwell Health Club and the service you received from our team here at the hotel.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
femster
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have stayed in various hotels in the UK and a few Hilton hotels, I would rate this amongst the best of them.

The main thing I look for in a hotel is cleanliness, and all the rooms are clean and the cleaners do a good job daily. There are a few floors that have been recently refurbished but that is almost across the whole hotel now.

All the staff are friendly and are very accommodating with requests. The gym and swimming pool are such a welcome break and they are never too busy.

The breakfast choices are very good and you can choose from so many options from healthy to a fry up, and the chef is always on hand to make you something at your request.

I would suggest staying at this hotel above any other in Cardiff, the location is central, it is not too busy and not noisy. Good WiFi. Comfortable beds

Room Tip: Castle facing rooms on a high floor are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank femster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
A big thank you for your first class review of the Hilton Cardiff.

I was really pleased to read your comments regarding your visit and that you rate us highly. Your comments concerning the cleanliness of your bedroom, the service from our team and the facilities available are an absolute pleasure to read and will be shared with our team.

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing