We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilton Cardiff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Hilton Cardiff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Room location was very noisy during night; needs soundproofing Bathroom needed maintenance; shower door did not close properly and flow of hot water to shower was very slow. Not enough soap for two guests. Staff were very efficient and friendly, especially at Reception and valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 252terryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I have noted your feedback regarding external noise and the maintenance issues and I do apologies for any inconvenience this caused to you at the time.

I was however really pleased to read your comments regarding our efficient and friendly team especially the staff at Reception and Concierge.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
louisa.stride@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,315
    938
    423
    165
    87
See reviews for
488
1,155
126
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S Wales
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We enjoyed the delights of a refurbished Deluxe room with a view of Cardiff Castle. The check-in staff were very friendly & helpful pointing out all the features of the Hotel. The valet parking facility is really efficient & reasonably priced for a city centre Hotel.

We enjoyed drinks in the executive lounge (thanks Rachel) as well as breakfast.

The spa was great we really enjoyed our experience.

This really is the only place to stay in Cardiff with a fantastic location & wonderful staff.

We'll be back for sure - highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshtorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
It was our pleasure to welcome you back to the Hilton Cardiff.

A big thank you for another fabulous review of the hotel and it is always great to read such lovely comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for an Easter break. The staff was very welcoming and pleasant. We got there for half 4 as check in was after 3, to find out the room wasn't quite ready, but they managed to get us into a room that was ready. The room was on the small side as we had two beds in the room, but we managed. The bathroom was very nice and spacious had a bath and a separate shower. The room was very quiet especially at night which is what we wanted. The breakfast was nice and lots to choose from. The pool was lovely and clean. Check out was quick and easy. Really like the valet parking so we didn't have to mess around with parking the car. This is our second visit to this hotel and we have enjoyed both visits. It's at a really good location for shops, restaurants and pubs. We will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
It was great to welcome you back to the Hilton Cardiff for the Easter break.

I am so pleased that once again you enjoyed your visit and I do appreciate you taking the time to post such a positive review of our hotel.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Me and my wife that is 7 months pregnant came to the hilton for a overnight get away. When we arrived we were greeting by very friendly staff, the room was very nice and clean. We as well used the spa and pool which were exceptionally good. The one downfall which massively affect my rating for the hotel is the amount of noise that was made during the night a manger banging on our room door and cleaning staff waking us up was not acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Taiwo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Cardiff.

May I offer you my apologies for the problem you encountered with the disturbance during the night to both your and your Wife.

Please do contact our Guest Relations Manager, Rachel Cornelius at rachel.cornelius@hilton.com so that we can look into this further and ensure there is no such repeat of this in future.

I do hope that despite your experience we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went for dinner on the 9 April 2014 with the girls, we had pre booked a table, had excellent service. Outstanding food. Table booked for 6.30 was quickly seated and menus were provided, ordered drinks they arrived quickly. Ordered food, waited about 10 minute for starters and about 30 minutes for mains which is really good. We had chicken for main which was cooked just perfect. Staff were friendly and checked on us a couple of times to ensure food and service was up to stand which is was. Will be going back again for dinner.

Room Tip: Always pre book a table for dinner as the restaurant can get busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisef87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Louise,

I do appreciate you taking the time to post a review of our Razzi Restaurant following your visit to the hotel.

It was great to read your comments regarding the standard of food and service you received during your meal and something that we certainly take great pride in our Restaurant.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I had really high expectations of this hotel having heard some rave reviews but was left a bit apathetic! I usually take negative reviews with a pinch of salt as a lot of the time they are written by people who are just born to complain. I tried my hardest to find positives but have to be honest, I did struggle which is why I felt compelled to write this review. The lobby area is quite plush so gives the impression that the hotel will be throughout but we found the rooms to be quite basic - no more plush than a premier inn, but comfortable/ish. We requested a room with a cot but the mattress was very thin and gave no support so our son ended up sleeping in bed with us. We used the pool after checking in and I phoned ahead to check that the temperature was suitable for our 6month old and was assured it was heated and they host baby swim lessons. I take him swimming every week so he is used to swimming pools but this one is FREEZING! Within 5 minutes my son was shivering so I had to take him out. Also from observation, the pool isn't what you'd expect for a hotel of this size and star rating. Even though it's on the second floor it has a feeling of being in a basement and is quite small for such a big hotel. It became crowded very quickly and had only 4 spa loungers on the side. I have been on numerous spa days at a range of hotels such as the park plaza, Celtic Manor and St Davids and they far exceed the quality you get here. I can't comment on the treatments as I didn't have one but I wouldn't entertain a spa day here based on the pool facilities alone. The changing rooms were only marginally bigger than our hotel bathroom! Dinner at the Restaurant was also very disappointing... The menu looks very promising with a good variety but we found the quality very poor. I ordered mussels and was presented with 7 in a bowl of what looked like dishwater and tasted no better. I don't think they had been cleaned properly as they were very gritty and some still had beards attached! The main course of duck was slightly better but had so much salt in the sauce I couldn't finish it. My dessert of creme brûlée had to be sent back as it was curdled! I never send food back usually! Having said all this the breakfast was much better with quite a lot of choice and the staff are more than polite and helpful. Just wrap up warm as the air conditioning was on full blast in every public area of the hotel and we were freezing! A few reviews have mentioned rooms on the kings way being noisy, fortunately we we're overlooking the castle so was relatively quiet until 2.30 am when a load of drunken boys/men were shouting and running up the corridors slamming doors and swearing. This wasn't the hotel's fault but obviously par for the course for staying in a central hotel close to nightclubs. Ok for a one night stopover but would not recommend this as a 'treat' or a longer stay. We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the castle, these are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Hayley,

It was very disappointing to read your review and may I apologise that we did not meet your expecations on this occasion.

Please do contact our Guest Relations Manager, Rachel Cornelius at rachel.cornelius@hilton.com so we can look into this further and ensure there is no such repeat of such issues in the future.

We do look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just returned from a midweek break with my husband, the hotel and staff are wonderful, spa and pool areas are clean and a welcome treat for the end of a day. The only think that made the stay a disappointment was the breakfast, we opted for a room only and on the last day really couldn't be bothered to get breakfast out. So we went to the restaurant "Razzi" and say down for breakfast! which was a self service ( which I hate ), I know we should have just had a drink and then went out and got breakfast but we really couldn't be bothered. So I had a bowl of Greek yoghurt with fruit, orange and coffee. My husband had a full English juice and tea. Then the bill arrived at £38 I nearly died. If I had known the bill was going to be so large I would have eaten far more. (Gluttony is not good people) don't eat breakfast in the hotel, value for money it isn't.

Room Tip: Castle view, kingsize bed. Heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Nicola,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Cardiff.

I was pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit and the facilities in the hotel. I have however noted your comments regarding breakfast and may I offer you my apologies that the cost of was not communicated direct to you.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing