We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,609)
Filter reviews
3,611 results
Traveller rating
1,700
1,125
482
189
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,700
1,125
482
189
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungecastle viewafternoon teaopposite the castlehealth clubwalk in showersteam roomjunior suitelarge bathroomper nightwelsh cakescentral locationsaturday nightleisure facilitiesbreakfast was excellentlovely roomcar parking
Filter
Updating list...
2,318 - 2,323 of 3,611 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night....arrived at 3.45 but room was not ready. Lovely ladies on reception tried to find a room that was ready but to no avail. Offered us complimentary drinks but we were planning a walk round shops so left luggage and had a wander. Room was lovely and spacious. Very disappointed by service at dinner and breakfast. No courtesy checks, no second drinks offered, had to ask twice for butter at dinner and waited an age for tea and coffee at breakfast. A world away from 5 star service. Food quality probably rates 3.5. With so many great locations in Cardiff surprised the Hilton is not nailing it.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Lizsmith1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy.

We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Decided to pop to Cardiff for a night out with friends and to see the sights. Fantastic location and 2 minute walk from the high street for a bit of shopping.

Room was really good for the price, will definitely stay again for the next trip in Cardiff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your first class review following your visit to Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great hotel, lovely clean and modern rooms, nice swimming pool and gym. Brilliant location near the castle, clubs and bars and shops. The night staff are excellent, particularly Pete who recommended some great places to go to and where to eat.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking and it will be my pleasure to share your feedback with all the team here in Cardiff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The location is excellent, for what is now a completely revitalised city, car parking is great as you park up out front and someone takes your car and parks it for you at a reasonable price. The quality of the rooms is very good, the facilities are as you would expect. But the service is what distinguishes the hotel, at the time I stayed there were niggles but every one was met with urgency so that none impacted upon the stay. Overall the experience was very memorable.

Room Tip: Get a view over the castle if your budget can bear it, as it makes a difference.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Rus,

A big thank you for your review of the hotel following your visit to Cardiff.

It is geniunely fantastic to read your comments regarding service and something that we all take pride in and it is always great to read when a guest is happy with their stay.

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Had an exec room overlooking the castle on the 6th floor (great views!) Since i last stayed here the rooms have been totally refurbed.... They look great and have some nice practical touches such as a mobile phone charging socket by the bed.

The bathrooms have retained the big walk in showers (a real plus!) but also have a large bath!

The location of the hotel is right in the centre of the city. We were going to do valet parking but we noticed a NCP just round the corner and more for convience we parked ourselves £18.40 for 24 hours.

The hotels exec lounge is small, but the service is friendly and has a nice breakfast buffet as well as a selection of evening drinks and nibbles.

We had a few drinks in the hotel bar and found the service friendly and drinks reasonably priced. The reception staff were also charming and provided a warm welcome.

Will certainly return.... A great hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you for your email and review of the hotel.

Is is always great to read that a returning guest is impressed with our new bedroom refurbishement and we really do appreciate your feedback.

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews