We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Hilton Cardiff, we booked a junior suite such a disappointment, out dated and grubby furnishings, broken shower cubicle, had to phone reception to ask them to replenish the dirty fridge, got sick of waiting for housekeeping so dusted the room myself. The restaurant was more like a school dinning hall . We have stayed in a lot of the hotels in the city & this was most definitely the worse by miles. Would not stay there again, Evan if it was free.......

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with your visit on this occasion.

I was particularly disappointed to read your comments regarding your Junior Suite as we have recently had an extensive bedroom refurbishment and received great comments regarding the decor of quality of the rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

I really do hope that despite your comments you will consider staying with us in the future and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,898 - 1,904 of 3,225 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Cardiff in May 2014. We had a large room on the 4th floor. No matter what we did we could not get it to warm up. We had a thermostat on the wall but although we adjusted it, the heating did not appear to work. The hallway and public areas were quite warm

The noise from 2 am onward until around 4 am was horrendous, waking us up. It appeared to be drunks leaving night spots.

Apparently if you stay on the Castle side the noise does not penetrate.

Service was good, Executive lounge was excellent

Room Tip: Stay on Castle side of the building and check the heating in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris4355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback and I am very sorry that you experienced a problem with the temperature in your bedroom and the external noise and we will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future and please do not hesitate to get in touch if I can be of any assistance.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here from 2/6/14 till 3/6/14 with my boyfriend as an end of exams/university and anniversary celebration and booked with lastminute.com. Arrived at the hotel at 1pm and found that our room was ready which was a nice surprise. Enjoyed a wonderful champagne & chocolate afternoon tea in the Razzi restaurant, staff were all really friendly and polite and there was a lovely ambience. The room itself was lovely, very big, very clean and very modern. The spa was small and a little tired looking but was good enough for what we wanted. We also very much enjoyed a half hour back massage and the treatment room was very calm and soothing. Breakfast in the morning in the Razzi restaurant was also wonderful, there were so many choices!

Overall we had a really lovely stay at the Hilton Cardiff, it really was quite special and we would have loved to have stayed for a couple more nights. All staff we encountered during our stay were all very friendly and helpful and contributed to making our visit so great. Would definitely recommend, especially as the location of the hotel is so central.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your first class review following your visit to Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hiltons seem to fall into two groups - the very nice and the horrid. This is one of the very nice ones. Handily situated near the town centre but relatively quiet. Rooms and a lovely art deco exterior. The room was large and well decorated, bar was pleasant, and the food in the restaurant was good. My only gripe was that glass of average white wine was £10.5 in the bar - a 500% mark up? The executive lounge was small but pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our central location and our new refurbished bedroom to your liking.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

stayed here with my sister . The room was spacious clean and comfortable with a choice of pillows . We used the Spa facility which was pleasant although the swimming pool area was a little small and tired.
The bar had a great ambience with live music. Breakfast really good and varied. Good service.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crusoe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your visit to the hotel with your sister.

It is always great to receive such positive feedback regarding a guest's stay and something that we all take great pride in reading.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Visited for a spa day with my mother. I have visited many spas in my time and whilst this one was ok it was nothing special. The steam room was not working. The spa pool itself was lovely and the only plus point really. The jacuzzi was fairly ram packed. Sauna was again mediocre. The changing rooms are tiny and hardly anywhere to change in private.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank pink_phantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Hilton Cardiff is a great looking hotel in the perfect spot. With Valet parking you can just dump your car and be in the middle of everything Cardiff has to offer. Good gymn and spa facility, nice breakfast, restaurant and bar facilities. Recommended if a little expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear you found our location to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £80 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing