We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

From check-in to check-out, the service was fantastic, staff were welcoming and helpful, and the room comfortable and clean. We thought parking might be a problem, but no... Valet parking is available a bit pricey, but so are the local car parks. We will definately be staying again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,446
    993
    441
    169
    94
See reviews for
526
1,218
136
691
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed one night with my daughter at the hotel whilst attending a concert in Cardiff. The room was very comfortable and the service at the hotel was very good. It was also very close to all ammenties.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Cardiff following your trip to the City with your Daughter.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of another visit soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I was visiting Cardiff on business and stayed two nights and the reservation had been made on my behalf. I was pleasantly surprised by the excellent location with the proximity to the university and the lovely view of the castle form my room. From the outset I was favourably impressed with the staff who were very friendly and attentive. My room was of generous proportions and very comfortable. I was intrigued to find that the minibar was not stocked at all! The bed was very comfortable and I did not want to get up in the morning. Perhaps because I was on the castle side, I had no problems at all from rowdy revellers in the street below.
The pool and leisure centre was quite well appointed, but as I enjoy 'power-walking' in the water, the very slippery floor of the pool was very disconcerting and made the experience rather disappointing, which was a shame because in every other respect the pool was lovely. The restaurant menu is quite extensive, although healthier options are a little difficult to find. The most delicious meal I had was an excellent chargrilled chicken caesar salad. Breakfast was good, with quite a wide range of options, although I have to say that the coffee was average and tasted as if it had been made for some time. Overall, the Hilton provided most of what I needed, was clean, comfortable and was a haven.

Room Tip: Apparently, it is best to have a room on the Castle side as there is less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Anthony P,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay with us.

Your fantastic comments regarding our Hotel, location, view from your room, your caesar salad and our breakfast is an absolutely pleasure to read- thank you.

I have noted your feedback regarding our pool flooring and more healtheir options on our food menus which I have shared with my team so that we can further improve our service to our customers. May I thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have stayed at the Cardiff Hilton a few times, we normally stay in the Executive suites. This allows you to enjoy the free bar between 6-8pm which includes nibbles and canopes.

The most impressive thing is the views of Cardiff, over looking the Castle - at night you can sleep with the curtains open and its beautiful.

The rooms have also just recently been updated - very nice.

Room Tip: Pay extra and go for the Executive suites with free drinks in the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0KrisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear 0KrisC,

What a fantastic review!! Thank you so much for your lovely comments and indeed our executive lounge is extremely popular and all of our guests love this facility.

You are indeed correct as our views from our Executive deluxe and King/Twin Deluxe rooms of the Castle are breathtaking and again these rooms are our most popular! I wonder why!!

Thank you again for your fanfastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Hilton is very centrally situated in Cardiff but the downside of this is that at night it is very noisy. Even up on the 7th floor, the noise from the streets below could be heard until the early hours. There are a lot of hen parties! The room was good but staying there is quite expensive, not least because there is an extortionate charge for wi fi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Victoria,

I am sorry to read of your dissappointing comments regarding your stay with us and I am sorry for the obvious inconvenience caused to you.

Unfortunately being a City Centre Hotel we do experience external noise which is out of our control and we are working very closely with the council and noise pollution teams to mimimise disruption to our guests. I have passed on your valuable comments to them.

Please do contact me personally when you have made your next booking with us via Rachel.Cornelius@hilton.com and I will ensure you are allocated a room overlooking the Castle.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Hilton is a lovely hotel, we got there early 11 am after booking an early arrival and we had a lovely room 501 overlooking Cardiff Castle which was large, very clean and spacious. The bed was also very large, very comfortable and room was very quiet all through our stay. We had room service which was excellent, but had a surprise with a tray charge of £5? The food was very good and but expensive, never mind we were hungry and in our Spa robes. The Shower was great, and the staff were friendly and curtious. We were there because our son had bought us a Spa day for Christmas, and while the Hotel was excellent it was let down by the so called Spa tucked away on the 2nd floor. The Staff though nice were disorganised and we felt like sheep being herded in and out. The facilities were about what you would find in a Leisure Centre and nothing special! The Steam room was at normal room temp and the dry room was too hot, the swimming pool was nice at 1.2m deep but now I know how a lobster feels like as it was Stainless Steel. Don't get me wrong the Hotel, room and Staff were excellent, but the Spa is not a Spa but a gym/leisure Centre that has a couple of therapists that carry out treatments in a small room they squeezed in, a bit of an after thought. I am sorry I can't judge the restaurant as the reviews were not great so popped in Jamie's who also didn't have great reviews but I must say we had a fantastic meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank S4074SDjuliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit to the hotel, our location and your refurbished bedroom. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with the facilities in our health club and that this did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us in the future and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

From the first experience on-line to the welcoming reception staff and enthusiatic bell boy, to the bar man, in-room dining staff, cleaner and check out cashier, this could not have been a better experience and what a surprise from what I had thought would be a mid-ranking experience from a chain hotel. It was quite the opposite - top class and I'd highly recommend for business or pleasure. Conveniently located to the station, good efficient staff, decent food and a good coffee in the bar. It's also just over the road from the great museum and art gallery and seemed close to the shops. Toiletries were plentiful, bathroom was large, bed comfortable and the whole place was clean. One issue could have been that our room overlooked the Atrium where a noisy party was taking place but it did not stop us sleeping, probably because the bed was so comfortable! I'd ask for an outside room next time just in case.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Pamela F,

Wow what a fantastic review to read and may I thank you for taking the time to complete your review.

Your fantastic comments regarding our team of staff along with our location and Hotel has been shared with the whole team which they were thrilled to read- Thank you!

I am sorry that you were disturbed by internal noise from a function taking place at the Hotel and please do personally contact me via Rachel.cornelius@hilton.com when you have made your next booking with us and I will ensure you are allocated an outside room.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing