We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CENTRAL LOCATION, GREAT STAY!”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“CENTRAL LOCATION, GREAT STAY!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Recently I stayed in this great 5 star hotel with my family. I booked family deluxe double room. It's double beds are so comfortable and with a good view of the city from the fifth floor. We had our dinner at Razzi restaurant, really we it's fabulous. Breakfast as usual Hilton quality. Mainly the location of the hotel very convenient to explore the city. Overall we enjoy the stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
A big thank you for your review of the Hilton Cardiff.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit on this occasion and I really do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,420
    977
    438
    167
    91
See reviews for
518
1,202
133
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Hilton Cardiff is very well-paced for access to the city centre. The hotel staff were all extremely helpful. Rooms are excellent and very clean. Breakfast is very good. Great views across the road to the castle. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I love this hotel, I won't stay anywhere else in wales. As a diamond member I normally get free room upgrades and have stayed in the exec rooms and junior suites here. All my rooms have been fab, food is great and breakfast to, ask chef if you want poached eggs or omelette.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volkswarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you it is great to read that you love our hotel.

I am pleased to hear you find the bedrooms, service and food to your liking and thanks for your suggestions and recommendations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Standard Hilton Fare - decent, spacious room. Crowded breakfast area with tastier options near the hotel at 20% of the Hilton Cost.
V busy with Hen and Stag Do's and other events within the hotel which tended to crowd the communal area.
An eye watering £75 for 10 days WIFI or £15 for 24 hours - when are hotels going to learn that Wifi is one of the most important item for guests paying £125+ per night?
Excellent location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quarterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I would like to say thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Cardiff.

It was really great to read that you enjoyed the central location and our the superb service you received by all the team here in the hotel. I have also noted your feedback regarding the WIFI service in the hotel and we will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilto Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I booked an Executive Room at Cardiff and was very disappointed when I actually entered the room. It was small, only just room enough for the King Size Bed and one small arm chair and small coffee table. The Bed was comfortable, but that was about the best of it. There was a Safe but it was so close to the floor that it could only be operated by kneeling and then bending forward but it was so close to the entrance door that it was virtually impossible to use. The shower cubicle was placed in a recess so that the entrance space was limited to about 400mm, the doors were on the corner of the cubicle but being in a recess the width of only one door was effective. The was a kettle for making tea and coffee but only enough tea bags for one cup per person per day, no biscuits. The Executive Lounge was very good.

The best part of the hotel was the staff, they were helpful, mannerly and really excellent. The food in the Restaurant was well priced as was the wine.

I would not stay at this hotel again unless they gave me a larger room, they said all the executive rooms were all the same size so that rules out another visit.

Room Tip: Save money and stay in a standard room. They appear to be the same size except that you do not get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abogail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding the size of your executive bedroom and we're very sorry you were unhappy as we normally receive great comments regarding these rooms. We we will certainly take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

LOCATION: Good central location. Close to Cardiff Castle and taxi fare to Cardiff Central Station is only around £5.

ROOM: I had booked a King Deluxe With View and was not disappointed with the quality of the furnishings. The room was spacious and clean. Little details have been taken care of such as ensuring there was a plug next to the bed to charge your phone. The well-stocked minibar is electronic so if you pick anything up you will be charged. The iron worked and the hairdryer was sufficient. AC was good.

BED: Comfortable king size bed with a range of pillows. I was relieved to finally find a hotel which actually provides a king size mattress rather than zipping two together!

BATHROOM: The spacious bathroom had a large shower, bath and nice toiletries.

DINNER: Nice three course meal. The atmosphere was relaxed and you did not feel rushed. I had prepaid for dinner in advance and there was sufficient choice. The staff are helpful in telling you appoint the supplemented options. The only thing to remember is beverages are not included and you have to sign a receipt before you leave the restaurant.

BREAKFAST: Excellent choice for vegetarians too with hot and cold options. A good spread of croissants, pastries, yoghurts, fruits and fresh fruit juices. I had a rather enjoyable breakfast opposite the castle.

SLEEP QUALITY & IMPROVEMENTS: I was woken up by the cleaning trolleys outside my room so perhaps the noise levels should be monitored at night within the hotel. Could have done with an extendable mirror for makeup in the bathroom. Wifi should be free. Would like more tea/coffee options as they were very basic.

OVERALL: I would definitely return to this hotel next time I am in Cardiff. The staff are helpful and it is generally a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the cleaners/staff room to avoid being woken up by the trolleys
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaanii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to GM at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking and it was really great to read your detailed review of the hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future and a big thank you once again.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Well located at the edge of the town centre close to Cardiff Castle and Bute Park. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and our room was well equipped with a very generous sized bathroom. For the price we paid (£120 / night B&B) we felt it was good value but then they charged for wi fi which didn't ruin the ship but why be so niggardly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMB347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear you found the service and standards in our hotel to your liking. I have also noted your comments about WIFI and we will certainly take these on board.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,088 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 73 in Cardiff
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing