We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed one night in July 2014. The hotel is in an good location a 15 minute walk from the train station right by the Castle. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, showers are superb. Take out breakfast and coffee provided as I was leaving early the next morning. Sadly no free Wi-Fi, which is poor in this day and age even Weatherspoon's has free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Rhys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
A big thank you for your review and your great feedback.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed our central location and the service you received from the team. I am very sorry that you experienced problems with WIFI and for any inconvenience this may have caused to you. Complimentary WIFI is available on our ground floor and in our business centre for guest's to take advantage of.

I really do hope that we will have the pleasure of another visit soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,355
    949
    431
    165
    88
See reviews for
499
1,167
130
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Arriving after a slow crawl along the A30 from Cornwall enroute to the British Speedway GP time was tight, with trailer attached would we make the start?
Cue George the Parking chap who along with his other excellent 'Front of house' colleague guided us into the tiny parking area, offered to help us with our baggage and then whisked our car off to who knows where in return for a tiny yellow ticket! Our check in was smooth and we made the GP in plenty of time. The Welsh sure know how to throw a great party and the Hilton Brand are experts and getting the small details right!
Oh, the room was superb - cavernous with a bed the size of a village and a shower for 4! (We're not into that!)
Adam in the bar was another example of the Hilton experience - offering great service with a smile.
Maggie and I were relaxed from the minute we arrived in that little parking space.
It was quite expensive but for an important event at the end of a wonderful holiday - priceless!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neileasyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review following your stay with us for the Speedway in Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived after awful journey up from the Lizard and was cutting it fine for the British Speedway GP in the nearby Millenium Stadium. Do the Welsh know how to throw a great party, yes they most certainly do. Anyway, having fought (not in a violent sense) through the traffic we arrived outside the Hotel front door to be met by George the doorman responsible for guest parking and his equally impressive colleague, they just took my car and parked ot somewhere (no ideas were, in return for a yellow ticket), leaving us free to drop our bags into our cavernous room and dash off for a methanol fix.
I do hope they were hotel employees and not impostors collecting cars!
Anyway, stay here, it's worth it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Hilton Cardiff

I am pleased to hear you found everying to your liking in the hotel and enjoyed the Welsh hospitality and atmosphere in Wales for the Speedway.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Only paid £60 a night for two of us to stay here and it was definitely worth the price! Room was well equipped and the large bed was very comfortable. Pool, jacuzzi and sauna were very nice and the staff were always on hand to help even when we staggered in around 4am having had one too many! Air con didn't work which was my only complaint although of we were staying more then 1 night we would have complained and I'm sure they would have done something about it! Best thy about the hotel is it's location. Bang opposite the castle it's literally right in the centre of Cardiff close to the shops, restaurant and night clubs, and of course where the megabus drops you off!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
A big thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent visit to Cardiff.

It is always great to read such fantastic comments regarding our hotel and I am so pleased that you enjoyed our location and our facilities and I do hope you enjoyed your evening in the City!

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I didn't get an opportunity to stay over night at the Hilton, however I went to the Hilton for afternoon tea and bubbly for two people.

Great selection of food and the staff were prompt, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamsinbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Tamsinbest,

Thank you for your 5* review regarding your Champagne Afternoon Tea. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was amazed at how superb the customer service was! Not only were we able to check into our room 3 hours early, but the room was super clean and modern. I have no complaints, other than the weather just being okay...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyphat2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear babyphat2008

Wow that you for your perfect 5* review. I am delighted to see that your room was ready early for you and enjoyed our brand new rooms!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had a room where the electric kept tripping and I mean kept on tripping so I couldn't use any of the sockets and of course the TV didn't work. The staff did keep resetting but it still tripped. Second night I moved rooms, which I did myself (though help was offered) at just before midnight. Most of the staff were very helpful and I am told to contact the manager before I stay again. I'm confident the next stay will live up to the usual high standards I've experienced before.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank s30wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear S30wen

Thank you for your review and unfortuantely there was no contact details on your booking for me to contact you to apologise for the problems you experienced during your stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies over the constant issue you experienced with the trip switches in your room and for the obvious dissatisfaction and frustration caused to you. This matter has been fully investigated as it is happening in several of our guest bedrooms and I delighted to confirm that we have resolved the issue. We have just installed brand new fridges in all bedrooms which is causing the switches to reset. I am so sorry for the disappointment as I know you stay with us regularly and with your family. Please do contact me via Rachel.cornelius@hilton.com when you are returning and I will personally ensure all is in order for you.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing