We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely go back!”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ammanford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Will definitely go back!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our room was clean, comfy and spacious - we especially loved the bathroom which was a lovely size having both a bath and shower. The restaurant was excellent, we enjoyed both our evening meal and breakfast. The staff were friendly and very helpful, honestly can't find one fault with this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Cardiff.

It was our pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and it is so great to read your fantastic feedback regarding your stay!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of another visit soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    961
    434
    165
    89
See reviews for
507
1,185
132
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Booked the junior suite which was lovely, we also had access to the executive lounge which is situated on the 7th floor and great views over the castle and museum, they serve free tea, coffee and soft drinks all day, accompanied by a variety of cakes and small snacks, and free bar 6-8. this alone was a great part of our stay, it was very relaxed and comfortable, just what was needed. Staff were all very friendly from booking in, to checking out and regularly asked if they could help. Nothing was too much of a problem. We'll only stay here on our monthly visit to Cardiff, from now on.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Green316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

It was so great to read your lovely comments regarding the hotel and the service your received from the team and that you found everything to your liking.

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Somewhat dissappointing with a lacklustre and 4 star inflated 'hilton' brand image!! Not a 4 star hotel!! A city centre gaff catering to hen parties, weddings, and weekender families! I stayed in a disabled room (as last room) and had no little extras like other 4 star hotels! No coffee machine just yr standard sachet and kettle! Air con was flimsy, jacuzzi in pool area did not work and room basic! Buffet breakfast was average! More standard 3 × than a 4 ×!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry to hear your unhappy. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience and I apologise that the jacuzzi was not in operation during your stay but this has now been resolved by our maintenance team.

I do hope that you will consider staying again with us in the future and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hilton as a chain has brilliant properties across the globe. The reason I am giving a review to this one specifically coz I think it is the best in Cardiff. It has got the perfect location - heart of the city, opposite the caste and middle of the market with lots of pubs around. And if you are an Executive Hilton Club member, you enjoy the wonderful executive lounge at the hotel with beautiful views during breakfast and evening drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your first class review following your visit to Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business during a heat wave. I would expect water in guest rooms and internet access as a standard but not so here. The cost of internet access (£14.99 per night!)is extortionate & cannot be justified, especially as other hotels nearby offer this (and more) as standard. Parking also way overpriced. I reported my shower not working one morning and was impressed when I returned that evening to find a platter of fresh fruit
In my room. However when I opened the accompanying letter it was addressed to someone else. I raised this at reception and was told the fruit had been delivered to the wrong room. When I got back later they had been into my room and removed the fruit!! This was then delivered to someone else (who happened to be a colleague) but she had no idea why she'd been given it as she hadn't complained about anything. Looks like the fruit was mine after all! I was honestly shocked that they took it back & gave it to someone else. Couldn't the Hilton stretch to a fresh platter?! This summed up the mean atmosphere of the whole place. Trying to charge me £20 a night for parking a car I didn't have when I checked out was typical of the disorganisation at this hotel. I'm returning to Cardiff in September for 3 weeks but I definitely won't stay here & several of my colleagues are cancelling and booking elsewhere also. We all stayed at different hotels in Cardiff the previous week and all preferred the other hotels. Mine offered fresh juice in reception which was lovely and made me felt I was welcome and valued. I never felt that way at the Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
It is really disappointing to read your review and I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies that you were unhappy with your visit on this occasion.

I understand that our Guest Relations Manager has been in touch with you direct regarding your experience and is investigating these issues further.

I do hope that we can fully restore your confidence and welcome you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
340 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Hilton is in a great spot in the City Centre, within easy walking distance of the shops, University, castle, and other main attractions. The staff are very welcoming and helped us out with taxis to a funeral. The swimming pool is of a very decent size, although the sauna room seemed a bit cramped; didn't manage to get to the steam room or other spa options, unfortunately.
The room was spacious, with a massive TV, and I particularly liked the option of a separate bath and shower.
Quibbles? In comparison to other hotel chains, I was surprised at the small toiletries on offer ( and which were not replaced on our second day), similarly we had to ask for more toilet paper (not something I'd expect at Hilton prices). The fact that there were no biscuits with the tea/coffee making facilities was curious, as was the availabilty of only one teaspoon to two cups. The high price for in-room wifi should be reconsidered, given that many hotels now supply for free (even if already free in the public areas).

Room Tip: Although there was a concert on at the castle, the double glazing is pretty good so, with earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit, our facilities and central location. I am so sorry that your toiletries and paper was not replenished on the second day and I would like to reassure you that this is not the norm here in the hotel. We would be more than happy to organise extra toiletries for you in your bathroom on your next visit, please do let one of the team know before your arrival.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We really liked this hotel. Location is superb, the room was great and the views from the Executive (7th) floor are wonderful, across the Castle, with views of the cricket and rugby stadia. Breakfast was excellent too. Our only complaint concerned the valet parking. We required our car twice; on the first occasion, the wrong car was fetched! The owners name was the same and by coincidence, the numbers on our ticket were reversed on the owner of the other cars, but even so.... On the second occasion, on checking out, we were told it would be 5 minutes, so we waited outside. After 15 minutes, I went back in to enquire, to discover that the keys were still at reception and had been overlooked! Staff were very polite and apologetic, but I would expect more from such a fine hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandbrenda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I was delighted to read your review of the Hilton Cardiff.

I am so sorry to read of the issue you experienced with your valet car parking and for any inconvenience this caused to you but I was pleased that overall you really enjoyed your stay.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,052 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,702 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing