We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel was lovely. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge. You could have got 6 people in the shower! We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel as we were out and about a lot but it was definitely a great place to stay the night. The breakfast was also good - lots of choice - but if you want something veggie cooking you have to order it specially which can be a pain so I just had cereal, toast and fruit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenYorkshire2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear HelenYorkshire20

Thank you for your amazing review of your stay.

Your great feedback about our Hotel, your bedroom, bathroom and breakfast is fab to receive- thank you.

Our breakfast chef does have vegetarian items available on standby incase a guest does require them and it is no trouble at all for our team to do these for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    938
    423
    164
    87
See reviews for
485
1,153
127
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Recent enjoyed a pleasant Afternoon Tea at the Hilton - Our Ladies Phoenix Club had booked for 41 members for an Afternoon outing at £15.00 per head. Staff were very helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble for our lady waitress in the Restuarant or Barman in the Lounge bar.

The Waitress seemed to be the only one serving with a little help later when the Sandwiches and cakes were being delivered to the Table in Wooden layered serving trays. It seemed to take a while before everyone of our party had their tea/coffee. There was no problem with the special gluten free sandwiches/cakes or herbal tea orders. All served with a smile and I would say a geniune willing attitude to please. Cannot fault the staff, but feel the waitress for the party numbers should have had more staff helping her. At the same time there was another large party in the Restuarant, besides the normal tables occupied by 2 or 4 people.

My main negative thought was the wooden serving trays, when placed in the middle of the table (tables seating 14) rather restricted the view of the person sitting opposite you, so we were constantly talking around these trays. The wooden layered Trays are tall and though a novel way of displaying sandwiches, cakes, scone, cakes, cream and jar etc. They would I think be more suited to a table of just 2 or four people. Perhaps round, three tier cake/sandwich stands would be more appropriate. As there's not alot on room on the table with glasses, cups, plates, cutlery, coffee / tea pots etc.

Overall the fare of the tea was pleasant, but some how missed out on the "old fashioned" concept of afternoon Tea, with crisp white table cloth, napkins, tasty sandwiches, small scones strawberry jam, cream.

The Hilton is very well appointed and have a good view from it's side Restuarant of the Castle and where you can watch if you like people watching a relaxing view. It was very hot on the day we went and this was slightly uncomfortable towards the end of the afternoon. I appreciate the weather at the moment is rather rare for Wales, but their Air conditioning needs to be adjusted for the various weather conditions.

Overall the aim of the afternoon was met with a pleasant tea and meeting up with members of our Club enabling us to catch up with each other news.

Again the staff were very helpful and had a good attitude.

Room Tip: Not able to comment on the Rooms available, but I would say the Hilton Hotel offers, apparently a ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Rosie W,

Thank you for your great review regarding Afternoon Tea with us.

Your comments regarding your tea and our team of staff are fantastic to read and thank you for taking the time to offer such great feedback.

I have indeed noted your comments regarding our AC, the wooden serving trays which can restrict the view and that the tea lacked the "old fashioned" concept of afternoon Tea and I will be sharing your comments with our Executive Head Chef so that we can further improve our service to our customers.

May I thank you for bringing these matters to my attention and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

recently stayed here for the speedway weekend,i have stayed here before and although it was overpriced for what you got i stayed again as it was ok and about the only hotel left with rooms for the dates i wanted.
i have to say the showers are the worst i`ve come across in what is regarded as a higher class hotel chain,hot water?luke warm at best,which considering what they charge per night is not what you`d expect,restaurant is expensive and car valet is handy but not good if you arrive early as your car will be boxed in for an hour or so,til they move everyone else`s to get to yours out.
overall i would say that in my opinion the Hilton hotel chain in general seems to have gone down hill over the years and is not as prestigious as it used to be,for me the hotel is 3/4 star but charging 5 star prices and not good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 345mysteryguest15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear 345Mysteryguest15,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay.

I am shocked to receive your disappointing comments regarding your shower as we have recently installed new showers in our guest bedrooms. You mention you had luke warm water which isn't the norm. I have also noted your comments regarding the prices in our restaurant and our car parking valet service. Please accept my sincere apologies for the dissappointment caused to you and may I thank you for your constructive comments.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

being a Hilton Honours member I get to stay in a few Hilton and partner hotels... this is over priced, the car parking at £20 per day is more expensive than I have paid in most major cities in the UK, I paid for bed and breakfast and was told I must pay extra to eat in the restaurant!! I could use the exec lounge for free..... that offered limited choice of course... and blimey so many rules in the exec lounge, I was either too early for a beer or too late, or there was no room... total crap! Book a cheaper hotel and eat at one of the nice restaurants in town that's my advice. oh and £14.99 for 24 hours wifi, where I receive it free at other Hilton chain hotels....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank witty372002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Witty372002

Thank you for your review regarding your stay.

Your comments are disappointing to receive regarding our car parking charge, our executive lounge serving times and our internet charge.

I can confirm that unfortunately we lease our car park and do not own it so there will be a charge to all guests that use this service. Our Executive does offer a continential breakfast to all of our guests who have booked an executive room on room only rate, however if you had booked a rate including breakfast than you could of course have a choice to either have your breakfast in our Executive Lounge or our restaurant. The Executive lounge serves alcohol between the hours of 6:30pm and 8pm every day and we do have an overflow area to those guests who are not able to have a seat.

I am sorry for the disappointment caused to you and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stay in Hilton's whenever possible , and this hotel was a great example of why I do. Excellent location- directly across from the famous castle, wonderful hospitality, comfortable rooms and comfy beds. You can walk to limitless shopping, restaurants and pubs. The hotel has a lovely restaurant as well as a good variety for room service and a great big soaking tub to relax after a long day. The staff was welcoming and knowledgable. The valet parking was convenient and although the rooms were not fancy they were clean, had refrigerators and also a great makeup mirror in the bathroom. Rooms also had robes and slippers which was sweet after my relaxing bath. Great stay. Thanks again Hilton!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Kim W,

Thank you for a great review and your comments regarding all aspects of the Hotel are extremely pleasing to receive- thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very nice hotel located in the centre of cardiff. The only negative is that they charge £24 for wifi which is a lot. I had booked a room for a family of 3. Reception is open 24 hours and breakfast was included.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Salman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Salaman A,

Thank you for your great review and delighted you enjoyed your stay and our location.

I have noted your comment regarding our internet charge and I can confirm that we do offer complimentary internet in our lobby/bar area, business centre and executive lounge. Thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as a family of four. The room was excellent with 2 doubles and a huge bathroom. The hotel throughout was very clean and modern. Check in and check out was quick and easy and the breakfast was superb. We used the pool, worth noting it doesn't have a shallow end so if you are taking non swimmers take a float etc....The location of the hotel is great, opposite the castle and just across from the museum which is fantastic and free. Shops and restaurants are all pretty much available as you step outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 5 and asked for a quiet room, whilst we didn't have a view of the city or cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birds13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Birds13,

I am so pleased you and your family had a great stay with us and your review is great to receive.

Our family deluxe rooms are extremely popular with families and I am glad you enjoyed your room along with our pool. breakfast. location and cleanliness.

We do indeed have everything Cardiff has to offer right on our doorstep!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our Hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
2,131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
3,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing