We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never before experience”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“never before experience”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

although it was a small hotel, it was one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in!
we walked from the train station to the hotel and we were pulling into the hotel's sidewalk and when lovely old men came and took charge of our luggage. they welcomed us very nicely. the checking in was very smooth and when we came into our rooms we were astonised. for such a small hotel, it sure had out down it self,. it has really lived up to the hilton brand name. the rooms were huge and the beds were so comfortable we didn't want to leave the room. it was very centrally located, as in the hotel is right opposite the cardiff castle and its shopping areas. we also asked for some information about the city from the same old men and not only did they give us information about the city. the told us all the places worth seeing and etc. alongside that they gave me tons of maps with directions and etc. - never seen people that helpful!
not only that the breakfast was wonderful. and up to the mark. huge variety! everyday when we arrived at the breakfast lounge there would be people helping you to seats and asking you for orange juice or coffee before you even sat down! this one man called sanjeev was a darling! he was really helpful in telling us about the easier transportation modes, places of interests etc in cardiff.
overall an amazing stay thats all i can say!

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aakritinist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 1 March 2010
I am so pleased to read your fabulous review of our hotel. Our team always go out of their way to ensure that every guest enjoys their stay and your comments from check in to breakfast are wonderful and our team will further be inspired. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back from Bangkok soon!

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    950
    431
    165
    88
See reviews for
500
1,168
131
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

All round excellence as you would expect from the Hilton name.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 1 March 2010
Thank you for your review of our hotel I am so pleased that we met your expectations of the Hilton brand. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2010

I did stay over the Rugby weekend in the Hilton Cardiff.Fantastic Atmosphare with Rugby Fans. Breakfast Staff in Razzi are exellent .

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rom_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 18 February 2010
Thank you for your excellent review regarding your stay. The atmosphere in the Hotel on Rugby dates is fantastic and are one of the best in the Hotel.Thank you for taking the time to share this with everyone. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you were impressed by our team and breakfast. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon hopefully on the next Rugby Day!!

Kind Regards

Rachel Cornelius
Guest Relations Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Before becoming a hotel this was a HMRC office and I worked there from 1976 until we were relocated early nineties. My retirement party was held there 5 Feb. Well organised and very friendly with professional staff made it an enjoyable event with the ballroom being well set out and the buffet superb . There were no complains from any of my guests which numbered over 100. My room was on the floor I had worked.
The hotel is of course in the centre of Cardiff which now has a lot going for it.
Would certainly stay again and recommend this hotel to friends. I have previously stayed on the Executive floor which again would recommend .

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HailhailBarryWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Guest Relations at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 February 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and for sharing it with everyone. It is great to read that you worked in the original building in 1976 and that you were able to come back and enjoy your retirement party here! We are looking forward to welcoming you back once again to our executive floor.

Louisa
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I have stayed at this hotel before but on this occasion I had a great experience from checking in at 11:30am and being allowed access to my room to checkout the following day. The breakfast was excellent too. The impersonality at Hilton has gone and you are referred to by you name by everyone. The staff were very well trained and nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Guest Relations at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 February 2010
Thank you for your fabulous review and for taking the time to share this with everyone. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you were impressed by our team and service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Louisa
Executivfe Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

What can I say about the stay this past weekend in Cardiff? - it was superb the family loved it! After a couple of hours driving from Reading we arrived in front of the Hilton Cardiff where we had booked for one nights stay on Sat 30th Jan 2010. Before I'd even stopped the concierge man, Richard, came over to help me park in the unloading area directly outside. He took all of the luggage out of the car and into the hotel for us, leaving us to check-in free of hassle. The car was take away for parking overnight, it costs £16 which is a good rate for a City. Check-in was fast and efficient, but what stood out was how friendly the staff were. We chatted for a while to the Guest Relations manager, Rachel, who took an interest in the family (my 3-year-old son was enjoying the open space to the end of the check-in area to do break-dancing!) and she made it clear the hotel would do everything to make our stay comfortable.
We went up to our Junior Suite room straight away (even though it was before the normal check-in time) and the rollaway bed was delivered for our son to sleep on next to us. I liked the size of the room, the LCD TV was large and the bathroom had a separate double walk-in shower. The room was clean and modern design which my wife and I prefer. We got unpacked and headed out looking for food as i was well past lunchtime. The hotel is situated perfectly beside Cardiff Castle next to the shopping areas. We quickly found a japanese/sushi place to satisfy our hunger. When we got back to the Hotel we went across to the Executive Lounge which is stunning. They have a wide range of fruit juices which my son loves compared to other Hiltons (eg. Paddington Hilton exec lounge only has orange juice). The view from the Executive Lounge on the 7th floor is across the road and into Cardiff Castle, so it's AMAZING! There are delicious nibbles and gorgeous cappuccino's that you just help yourself to. I had about 3 bowls of vegetable crisps, they are simply delicious!! In the evening hot food was brought out, they included tasty calamari and chicken wings. As the Executive Lounge was now packed out the food disappeared quickly. Wendy and Christophe were busy getting the guests their drinks orders. What I liked very much was that Christophe remembered my drink order and proactively offered to get another one even though there must have been 40 people in the room!
Later the three of us went to the pool which is a good size for us to swim up and down, my son loves it. I tried the bubble pool, steam room and sauna in between swims and they were very relaxing. We got back from swimming too late to go out for dinner so ordered room service. The food we ordered was of a high standard, tasty and arrived within about 30 mins or so. I would say that the price is reasonable for a 5 star hotel, i've avoided room service in some hotels because it can be extortionate. In the morning we headed down to Breakfast at about 9am. This is a full-service Hilton breakfast and was absolutely delicious. The freshly squeezed orange juice is refilled for you and I don't have to tell you all the choices you have (too many to mention!). I had freshly prepared poached eggs with my bacon hash browns, mushrooms, beans, black-pudding. Needless to say Breakfast was enjoyed very much by all of us - we had a very nice table in the conservatory which looks out to the Castle walls. We requested late checkout and because the Hotel was quieter on Sunday night they were happy to do it. This extended our stay so we could go out to visit the new John Lewis store which is only a few minutes walk away. After another swim it was time to pack and leave. Ioana on reception greeted me by name as I approached the desk to check out and took an interest in what we had done and how comfortable the stay was. The luggage was brought down from the room and actually packed into our car for us while we sat in the lobby - I didn't have to lift a finger! We enjoyed ourself so much, it was fantastically relaxing, but we know there's loads to do in Cardiff that we missed out on so we booked the Hilton Cardiff again for October and promised we would visit at least Cardiff Castle next time!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masonreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Guest Relations at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 February 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for the hotel the detail you have gone to is fabulous and everyone here is so pleased with your comments especially those who you gave a special mention to! I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in October if not before!

Kind regards
Louisa
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I took some time to decide whether to give this hotel a 3 or a 4, and eventually decided on the higher score because I paid a pretty cheap rate for the room. And, I wonder, is that behind the problems I had with this hotel - if a squeeze on income is leading to a squeeze on staffing.

Firstly, the good: The location is fantastic, I expect it is the best in Cardiff. And the building is lovely, on the grand side but not intimidating. Rooms are a decent size with good, solid wooden furniture. My bathroom has a bath and separate shower, and the most lovely Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries. There is a fitness centre which I poked my nose into, and it looked decent.

So the fundamentals/fabric are good, but the service is creaking a bit. Firstly, the room was dirty: the carpet hadn't been hoovered properly and there was a huge, huge cobweb hanging from the window frame - of ghost-train proportions, it must have been gathering for months. Secondly, one of the bars (the one that looked nice!) was closed. That just left the second bar, which was a bit more like a pub than the bar of a 5 star hotel and just OK, not that nice. Finally, the reception didn't seem to be adequately staffed, and sometimes there were what seemed to be trainees or new staff left on their own. Now, they were mostly very nice and tried hard to be helpful - and that counts for a lot, it really does - plus everybody needs to train at some time, but I didn't expect a hotel of this class to leave inexperienced staff on their own at the reception.

I may stay again because of the location - assuming the room rate was similarly low - but I'll go with lower expectations next time.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing