We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

A first time to Cardiff for my daughter and I to get away for some R & R together. Excellent hotel and facilities - particularly helpful concierge and reception. Everything on the door step.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 May 2010
Thank you for your fantastic review which is an absolute pleasure to read especially regarding our concierge and reception team. We hope to welcome you and your daughter back to stay with us again very soon and if I can assist at all please do let me know. Kind regards Rachel Cornelius, Guest Relations Manager, Hilton Hotel Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,447
    993
    441
    169
    94
See reviews for
526
1,218
136
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

What a fabulous hotel! We had a super time, all the staff were exceptionally helpful and nothing was ever an effort for them, especially Wendy in the executive lounge, she was a star. Breakfast was wonderful, what a huge choice, although the hot food wasn't particularly hot. The pool and other facilities were great, really modern and very clean, however we did find the rooms to be quite dated and tired looking, the furniture was chipped and marked, we had an executive room too! The bathroom was also below par, as the power shower had very little power, the bath took an age to run and the toilet didn't always flush! Even with these tiny moans we had a fab time, we would definitely return here, (i have already been looking for a good deal) and I have already recommended it to my friends and family!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 May 2010
Thank you for your review which is great! I was pleased to read your comments regarding the team of staff, breakfast and our swimming pool. I was however concerned to read your comments about the décor of our rooms and bathroom and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Thank you for your valued feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon and if I can assist at all please do let me know. Kind regards Rachel Cornelius, Guest Relations Manager, Hilton Hotel Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pebrokeshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Cardiff and the Hilton is by far the best hotel. The location is fantastic everything on your doorstep. The rooms are large and spacious with a huge bathroom and double walk in shower, flat screen tv and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The service at the hotel is great from the concierge parking the car on arrival to the staff who serve the fantastic cocktails in the bar nothing was to much trouble. We were only booked in for 1 night and ended up staying a second night and this was sorted out by reception at a great rate within minutes.
One thing is for sure I will not be staying anywhere else in Cardiff ever again this hotel is a gem

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshchick07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 2 May 2010
I am delighted that you have discovered our Hotel is a hidden gem and rate us as No 1 in Cardiff which is fantastic! I was pleased to read that you loved our Hotel so much that you extended your stay which is great news! Your feedback is fantastic regarding our rooms, bathroom, and staff and ee look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards Rachel Cornelius, Guest Relations Manager, Hilton Hotel Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and always enjoy ourselves. The staff are friendly and - above all - helpful. The roooms are comfortable and everything is spotless. The pool is a good length and the water kept at a pleasant temperature.
We book Executive rooms so we can use the Executive Lounge, with its lovely view over the castle, during the day and evening. The breakfast available there - whilst not the "Full English" - is very good. At 6 p.m. the tasty canapes plus the drinks (hot,cold, soft or alcoholic) provided at no extra cost make for an excellent start to any evening. As in other areas of the hotel, the staff here are hospitable and helpful. No complaints and we are looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phoebeSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 2 May 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review and your comments are outstanding regarding your stay. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our executive lounge as well as our swimming pool and guest bedrooms. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards Rachel Cornelius, Guest Relations Manager, Hilton Hotel Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2010

This superb top quality Hotel situated in the heart of the capital of Cardiff offered us (Family) top quality accommodation and great food with staff who were completely professional in every way possible.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark123Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 2 May 2010
Thank you so much for your great review. Your feedback regarding our accommodation, food and staff is an absolute pleasure to read and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We all very much look to welcoming you and your family back very soon. Kind regards Rachel Cornelius, Guest Relations Manager, Hilton Hotel Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here on the night of our wedding, then returned for a 2 night stay the following week (after our honeymoon had been delayed due to the volcanic ash). On the wedding night we'd been upgraded to the King Executive Suite, which I think is their 2nd best room, and it was amazing - separate lounge and bedroom, and massive bathroom. Although as we got back late from the wedding reception we didn't get much time in there!

For the return trip the week after we stayed in an Executive Room, as it gave us access to the Executive Lounge, where there's free drinks, continental breakfast and snacks at various times of the day. The Lounge is a really relaxing, chilled out place to go an sit / eat / drink, and we spent a lot of time in there just chatting (about the wedding...) and enjoying the amazing view over Cardiff Castle and the civic buildings (where we got married!). I've lived in Cardiff for over 10 years now and was a bit concerned whether staying in a hotel in the centre of the city I live in would be a bit of a kop out, but we enjoyed every second. The staff were really polite and helpful, and the room was nice and clean. The spa facilities are fine, although the spa pool wasn't working when we were there.

I've no doubt we'll go back to the Hilton in the future, but will definitely be in a room with access to the fantastic lounge!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinxy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
I was sorry to hear that your honeymoon was delayed due to the volcanic ash incident but was delighted that you got to spend your special occasion with us! I am pleased to read your feedback regarding your room and bathroom in our luxurious executive suites! It’s a shame you didn’t have much time to explore your room. I am delighted to read your comments regarding our executive lounge which has amazing views of the City and must have brought back happy memories of your wedding day! We do look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel again very soon. Kind Regards, Rachel Cornelius, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

First class hotel from its location, size of room and bathroom to view over the castle and the staff who were super helpful and the breakfast. Only regret was that we were in Cardiff with another couple (who were staying at another hotel) and we ate out rather than the restaurant which looked first class. The best Hilton we have stayed in for several years.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandchrisevans253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
Thank you for your review which is great! I was pleased to read your comments regarding our location, size of your castle view room and bathroom and our staff. You will have to try our fantastic restaurant when you come to stay again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Rachel Cornelius, Guest Relations Manager, Hilton Hotel Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing