We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“House of usher opera” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welsh National Opera

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Welsh National Opera
Ranked #80 of 157 things to do in Cardiff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stately home of the world-famous Welsh Opera Company.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“House of usher opera”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

If I hadn't. Already bought next season's tickets I would not be going again after last night's Fall of the House of Usher
I assume it was only put on because the Getty Foundation sponsored it
Commercial considerations seemed to have outweighed audience enjoyment
The best part came from photo images of Penryhn castle - paid for from exploitation of slate workers and slaves!
I can't recommend this
I am extremely disappointed to feel so negative but I travelled some distance to see this and was badly let done
Please no more like this mr pountney

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Moses und Aron: Schoenberg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Moses und Aron at Wales Millennium Centre – WNO Chorus and Orchestra as brilliant as ever under the baton of Lothar Koenigs. Schoenberg may not be to everyone’s taste but WNO with their principals and soloists certainly bring the story to life. Not just for the regular opera goer, well worth the visit and giving the performance a hearing. Walkes Millennium Centre is a wonderful experience in itself.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rememberthegoodtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
161 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have been going to see the WNO for over ten years and have never left a performance feeling disappointed. The productions are always amazing and the tickets, which may seem expensive at first, are really good value for a night out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We dropped in for coffee on bank holiday Monday service was somewhat slow but the coffee was good. Pleasant surprise there was a music recital by some young folk on the stage which was really nice to listen to. All in all a quality experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Minstral1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent cultural venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Magnificant building hosting some very good concert attractions. Very vibrant surrounding area with a good relaxing vibe seemingly everywhere in this part of the city. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeithD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Welsh National Opera also viewed

 

Been to Welsh National Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing