We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

St Fagans National Museum of History
Ranked #1 of 159 things to do in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A large, living open-air museum chronicling the last 500 years of Welsh history: fun, interactive exhibits make this a popular family destination.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I live locally so go quite often especially when weather dry. Always something new to see or do. Christmas time is lovely. I used to take my daughter and friends nearly every weekend when she was young but still go with friends just to enjoy the grounds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geinor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,966
    1,061
    217
    68
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disapointing visit”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Took an australian visitor only to be made aware, when we had paid for car parking, that the museum itself was closed for rebuilding for about two years !!! the grounds were open with all the historic building available to view and are still worth viewing.It should be signposted at the entrance as it was the museum that we wanted to see.the old castle was open and is free entry which you could spend 2/3 hours looking around

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gerrymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StFagans, Public Relations Manager at St Fagans National Museum of History, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
I'm really sorry that you were disappointed on the day of your visit. We have closed the old indoor galleries in preparation of a major refurbishment of St Fagans that will include brand new galleries in the main building and a new gallery in the the grounds. We have made this information available on the website and will be relocating the entrance in the spring. At that time we will be putting up construction hoardings around the current entrance building. We are however glad that you enjoyed our world-class open-air Museum and we hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a fab day out go back in time”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

a realy good day out a lot of histort the big house is epic












a great day out lots to do and see the old cottages are amazing a must to see had a lovely picnic in the massive grounds .The big house is full of history .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gillian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As unmissable as it gets.”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I don't know how many times I've visited the National History Museum,but it's always been worth the trip.There are so many different aspects to the place,and many of them change with the seasons so that you are always rewarded with something that wasn't evident on your last visit,even if that was only three months before.
It's very difficult to do it justice,the best thing to do is see for yourself.I would recommend buying an annual member's badge for your car if you think there's any chance of returning within a year,because you certainly will want to,and that works out cheaper.
One other thing-the staff are,without exception in my experience,knowledgeable,informative and friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great day out”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

a well worth day out for both young and old. Lots to see and do with nice eating places when you get hungry.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank shirleymorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Fagans National Museum of History also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to St Fagans National Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing