We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
Review of Dexby Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dexby Town House
Ranked #5 of 42 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed one night, but we will be back to sample the delights of this beautiful boutique hotel again. We were greeted by Susannah who was very charming, very helpful and pleasant. She showed us to our room, a lovely large room to the front of the hotel. It was very clean and spacious and also very warm. The bathroom was huge with a double shower. The bed was very comfy and you had lots of pillows which made watching TV in bed very comfy.
The breakfast the following day was scrumptious. Very tasty and cooked to order. Again Susannah was on duty and you were greeted with a smile and a "good morning". The dining room is light and airy despite being in the basement of the house.

All in all, a very, very pleasant stay indeed. We spoke to Susannah on our departure and assured her we would be back.

Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    69
    15
    8
    14
See reviews for
23
74
63
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This B&B exceeded my expecatations.
The staff were very helpful and welcoming and the room was spacious with en-suite and nicely furnished with plenty of storage and very comfy bed.
Breakfast was great. They do an option of traditional Welsh breakfast but I went for the continental included within the room price and was not disappointed with plenty of fresh and tasty food.
Parking is a potential problem as you need to find a space on the road and it can be difficult to find somewhere outside but there are plenty of side streets and in all honesty it wasn't difficult but being Cardiff you might get wet.
I would highly recommend Dexby Town House to those wishing to be close to the city centre but who don't mind a 15 minute walk

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 4 which is a double on the 1st floor at the back which was spacious and quiet. Next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DishDash58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at Dexbys for 2 nights for a family wedding. First impressions were excellent; a friendly welcome from the manager and very large and well decorated rooms. The bathroom was large and spotless. The room likewise was very large with two comfortable armchairs and a table where we could drink our complimentary tea. Breakfast was excellent and there was a great choice. Overall the hotel is great value and the manager couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We all felt very much at home and would definitely stay again. Cathedral Road is very well located closed to the beautiful Bute Park and although our room faced the road, even on a Friday night it was very quiet and we enjoyed a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: We had a double on the first floor which was light and airy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40LindaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, Berkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

On first glance our room was really lovely though on closer inspection such as grease marks on the walls and a toilet my wife had to clean before use the Dexby was really nice. Delicious breakfast made up for this and so did the knowledgeable concierge.

The guesthouse really needs a bit of TLC to bring it back to purpose.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at Dexby TH. Having travelled through the night I was greeted by the lovely Susana who let me check in early which meant I could have a much needed shower!

The ground floor room(room 1) was lovely and warm. Very clean & pleasant. Toiletries & towels were laid out for me. The bed was incredibly comfortable! The only disappointment I had was I couldnt get the wifi on my phone but it wasnt a major concern!

Unfortunately I never made breakfast but I hope to sample it on my next stay.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

If only a bit more attention to detail here, then I would rate it 5 stars.

The lady who manages the hotel was friendly and personable and very eager to please. Couldn't fault the welcome.

The B&B does need some finishing touches. Our room (No 1) had lagging at the top of the en-suite which you could see, it was a bit unsightly, and this could have easily been remedied. The door lock had been wedged with what seemed like a beer coaster...that just doesn't look good! The large mirror was positioned behind the bed, so impossible to use this for make up etc, or drying hair. Free wifi is a bonus.

The entrance looked as if it could to with a good hoover, as could the stairs leading to the breakfast room.

The breakfast was cooked to order and was very tasty, and again, cooked and also served by the very friendly manager. One hard working lady.

We would definitely stay again, as it did offer good value for money, and the hotel is in a good location on Cathedral Road.

Room Tip: room 1 on ground floor, but minimal noise from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The location was very close to the centre. 10 minute walk. The room was comfortable except for noisy upstairs neighbours and people coming in and out.. but overall I enjoyed the stay. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. The bus stop is not far from b&b and the parks are very close which are superb!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.0 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#2 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dexby Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dexby Town House

Property: Dexby Town House
Address: 126 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dexby Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Dexby Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dexby Town House Hotel Cardiff
Dexby Town House Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing