We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We have stayed here twice. Very much a budget hotel, though saying that it was clean, secure, and had more than adequate facilities. The staff were frendly and helpful. Decent breakfast included in price. They do a deal with a local car park, so parking is half price.
It is located above the famous Cardiff Jazz club, so top class bands in the same building. There is no problem with noise and the club finishes by 11.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis_the_Barman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Superb. Thank you Lewis_the_Barman. Great username!
I am so grateful for your posting on this website.It is much appreciated. I am pleased that you have enjoyed both the hotel and CafeJazz. I hope your third visit is not far away.
Thanks again.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    383
    169
    54
    40
See reviews for
123
272
156
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a clean, centrally placed accommodation as a stop over as we drove to bath. The Sandringham was clean and ideally placed. It was a pity that the hoons of the area choose to drink, yell, scream and act like idiots in the mall in front of the hotel. The soccer match played that afternoon probably didn't help the situation. In summary good clean accommodation, value for money.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Garry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Hello and thank you for your review.
I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay.
I am sorry that there was a bit of noise in the street. You are right there was three games of rugby involving six Welsh regions playing that day so it was a bit noisy. It seemed fairly harmless but still I am glad it is only once a year.
Once again thank you.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We got a lot for our money: a centrally located hotel, clean room, and a familiarly, friendly, and warm service. The rooms are small and there is no elevator to lift your luggage up to the maybe third floor. For us this was no problem. We loved to stay there!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you for your kind words.
It was a pleasure to meet you. I am glad you enjoyed yourself in Wales
Hopefully one day I will visit your country. I hear it is beautiful.
I hope you will be able to visit us again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Cardiff is such a great place and this hotel is very convenient for the city, near to the station and shopping centre but sadly this is it's best feature. It's quite shabby and not recommended if you have difficulty with stairs as there is no lift and everything, including reception, is on the first floor and above. We paid £40 for a twin room and to be honest I wouldn't have paid much more than that, despite it's location, but I guess that it was good value for a city centre hotel. The room was small and although it was clean enough the curtains could have done with replacing and the lighting was poor. The bedcovers were brown and I found the overall impression a bit depressing. The bathroom was ok but again, well past it's best.
If you are a light sleeper be aware that St. Mary Street can be very busy at night with lots of noisy pubbers/clubbers etc, and the street cleaners get up pretty early too!!
On the up-side, the beds were comfortable and we had a good supply of fluffy white towels.
We didn't have breakfast (which costs £6 per head), so can't comment on the food, but there are plenty of places nearby where you can get something to eat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugbyfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Hello and thank you for your review.
I am sorry to read that you felt The Sandringham Hotel was just okay.
As many reviews have said we do have stairs but sadly no lift.
I am sorry that you feel the building is quite shabby. It is not a new build hotel but a grade two listed building.
I am not sure why you felt the lighting was poor as we have many light fittings in each room.
I admit a few people are saying that they do not like the brown duvets so I am trying to buy a bed runner to compliment them.
We do have rooms at the back of the hotel if requested which is quieter than the front.
I do hope you will consider staying with us again if you feel the price is right so hopefully we can leave you with a more positive opinion of the hotel.
Once again thank you.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Located in a pedestrian street in the central business district and only a short walk from the rail and bus stations, this hotel is good value for money. There was a warm and friendly welcome from the reception staff and my room was clean and comfortable with a good bathroom en suite, The full breakfast service was spoiled only by the unwelcome and intrusive background music. The major drawback of the hotel is that there are no lifts and the stairs are steep, even the initial climb to reception was daunting. Fortunately I had only a small overnight bag, but I hate to think what I would have done with a 20 kg suitcase. If you are disabled, have difficulty with stairs, or have a lot of luggage, this hotel may not suit you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanuk6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely review.
I am pleased that you have enjoyed yourself. We do as you say have stairs but sadly no lift. However we are happy to assist with luggage going up and or down when requested.
I am sorry that you felt that the breakfast background music was intrusive. This should not be the case and I have reminded my colleagues of this.
Once again thank you and I hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

booked for just one nighr, at £37 incl breakfast.... checked in 1/2 hour early no prob...hotel rated only 2**, but it's only because it doesn't have a lift..room small, but cosy, comfy, clean, good size bathroom with bath, shower, toiletries, flat screen tv, clothes press, fan, extra heating, hair dryier, stationery, shoe shine thinghy, , cheap with 20% discount meals dowmstairs,very central location 4 min from Rail Stn, in my travels I got a lot less in higher rated hotels!!! havent had cooked breakfast yet (also included!), what a find!!! as I said, rating 2**, because of steep staircase and no lift, but who cares, at this price and facilities!!!! Excellent!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crisl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Wow. What a find!!! What a review!!!
Thank you ever so much for your wonderful words, you are very kind.
It was a pleasure to meet with you. I am really pleased that you have enjoyed yourself. We try our very best and it is genuinely really rewarding to hear that it pays off.
I hope we will see you again soon.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Good for a short stay. Decor a litle dated & in need of sprucing up - but in all other respects this is a very good place for a short stay. Friendly, efficient staff - excellent location right in the heart of the city. Good breakfast - handy bar / cafe on ground floor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egregor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Hello and thank you for your lovely words.
It is really pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay and I hope we will see you again soon.
Thank you for leaving a positive review on Trip Advisor.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing