We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a drunken night out”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Ok for a drunken night out”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location in the center of Cardiff with very friendly staff. We didn't stay for breakfast so I cannot comment on the food but the rooms were very basic and in definite need of renovation.
If you are going on a drunken night in Cardiff and literally just want a place to sleep this hotel will be fine for you but if you want anything more than that this hotel really isn't for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 213Traveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
I am pleased that you were happy with the staff and location.
We are graded as a very good two star hotel and update as finances permit.
Whilst you seem disappointed I hope that you feel we compete with the hotel chains in our price range.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    391
    174
    54
    45
See reviews for
126
282
157
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

excellent location only 90 second walk to train / bus station and the millennium stadium. Also within walking distance to Cardiff city stadium or £5 in a taxi. Very friendly staff. Decent enough breakfast too. Rooms were comfortable. The only negative was the décor was a bit old fashioned and carpets were worn. free wifi in all areas too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevincronin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you Kevin for your smashing review.
It was a pleasure to meet you.
Sadly I realise the football game at the stadium was poor but I am glad you still managed to enjoy your visit.
Hopefully we will welcome you again.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offaly ROI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

stayed at this hotel for a football international in cardiff,ideal location in the city center.
staff was very friendly and helpfull.Rooms spotlessly clean, breakfast was good, over all a good experence. would stay again.

one thing some people might find a problem is the hotel is all up stairs i new this when booking so was not a problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMOffalyROI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you Sir for your lovely review.
It was lovely to meet you and all of our friends that came from across the water.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in the not to distant future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed overnight here with a friend. Twin room which was clean and tidy, nice cooked breakfast, ok to stay for a night, no more than two stars, friendly and helpful staff. Right in middle of town so near to pubs and clubs and you do get 20% off food at cafe jazz underneath the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

After reading other reviews on this site we had no illusions as to the standard of the Sandringham.We booked a two night stay for the Springsteen concert at the very nearby Millennium Stadium.The hotel is generally quite run down and in need of a major programme of modernisation and redecoraton.Our room (208) was basic but adequate,although it did have an overall feeling of "stickiness" about it.It was superficially clean,but the net curtains were grubby and the radiator had a large amount of dust on it and behind it.The bathroom however was very poor with an almost totally ineffective shower,a broken bath panel mouldy or non existant sealant and I have to say it was not particularly clean or hygienic.I would invite the owner/manager to inspect the wc. Although reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the City centre,particularly when an event is on at the Stadium the two night stay did not represent very good value for money.
On the positive side, the staff were helpful and friendly,the breakfasts were satisfactory without being anything spectacular, and the hotel's location is very good,being right in the City Centre

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear or at the side of the hotel as it fronts onto a busy city centre thorough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyRamblers777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your visit and review.
I am sorry that you did not feel we were value for money.
Our prices were very favourable against the budget chain hotels.
I will look at the issues and repair/replace where applicable.
We are graded as a very good two star hotel. A major programme of modernisation as suggested would cost tens of thousands of pounds which I simply don't have. We would also then become a three star property and would need to compete in that market. This would be very difficult without a lift.
More disappointing for me is that you did not feel we were friendly or efficient enough to show you other rooms. We would have honestly showed you as many rooms as possible as everyone's taste differs.
It is our utmost intention for guests to enjoy their stay.
Once again I am very sorry that we have not succeeded in this.
I hope you will consider returning as we do have many special offers where you might find the price more reasonable.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Have stayed in better hotels in Cardiff. Staff friendly enough but not sure why the net curtain in my room had holes in it or why the paint was flaking off the radiator. Bathroom was clean and breakfast staff helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and review.
I am glad that you have generally enjoyed your stay.
I apologise about the two maintenance issues listed. I will get the items replaced. I do listen to guests comments and act where possible.
With this in mind I hope you will consider returning.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This lovely family run hotel was an absolute pleasure to stay at.The staff were wonderful and friendly, giving us tips on where to go, where to eat and what to see. One of them even gave us his personal discount card to use at a nearby restaurant. They were also very accommodating, letting us leave our four large suitcases while we did an overnight tour of the Rhondda Valley.
The room we had was also very nice, clean and big enough so that we could spread our stuff out a bit. We had three of us in there for two nights and it was fine. In addition, the price of the room included a full English breakfast. It was very large and very delicious. Here again, the staff were very accommodating and let us make changes to the breakfast listed on the menu (I didn't want fried bread or fried eggs, and they were happy to substitute). This hotel is a fantastic choice if you are visiting Cardiff. It is on the main street, close to the shopping mall, restaurants and Cardiff Castle. One downside that may need to be considered is that there is no lift. However, when I was both coming up and going down the stairs with my suitcase the staff offered to help.
Overall we had a great experience at this hotel. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Sandringham Hotel.
It was lovely to meet you all and very satisfying to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
I always thank guests for writing a review and I genuinely mean it when I say it makes a difference.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing