We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very warm and comfortable room, large bathroom, very clean, huge breakfast and plenty of food, very friendly atmosphere, very helpful the staff, very, very nice people. Hotel in the city centre!!! I definitely recommend this hotel to everybody!!!
I enjoyed my holyday thanks to this hotel!! I'll return!!!!

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuliana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
It was lovely for us all to meet you. I already miss my chats with you both.
Hopefully one day I will get to visit your city to see how beautiful Southern Italy is.
Hopefully as you say we will welcome you again in the future.
I hope all your students behave for you when you are back to work.
Thanks again.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
There are newer reviews for Sandringham Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend and as a previous review states, Cardiff at the weekend and especially the street this hotel is on is very busy and very noisy with its bars and clubs. That being said I slept like a log after having a few beers myself!!! The hotel is clean and it has everything necessary for staying, including a good breakfast. Where this hotel really excels is its staff, I have NEVER stayed anywhere the staff are so lovely, helpful, polite and friendly. Honestly the guys here could teach the bigger hotel chains a thing or two about the hospitality business. Well done. I will be back for a forth stay!!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ladymarmalade40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you so much for your repeat custom and review.
It is always nice to see you. We do our very best and I am certain that each and everyone of my staff care about getting things right.
For you to comment on them in such a positive way is humbling and I am very grateful to you.
Hopefully as you say your fourth visit will come again soon.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Positives - It's right in the centre of Cardiff, perfect for any of the sporting venues. It's cheap (£40 for a single room Bank Hol weekend) It's clean (always a major concern) and breakfast is more than acceptable. The real plus is the staff, I can't remember staying anywhere else in this country where the staff have made such an impression in such a short space of time. Everyone of them was friendly, helpful and polite, I know that should be a given when delivering customer service but seriously, how often does it happen.
Negatives - Yes, it's dated and it needs a good few quid spent on it. But it can't earn the money it needs to re-invest on the prices it charges and, if it did, it wouldn't be able to maintain the low prices. So it's catch 22 really and at least it is value for the money it charges. It's noisy, well the hotel's not noisy, in fact it's remarkably quiet, but Cardiff at weekend is manic and no amount of secondary glazing will negate the sound of Police and ambulance sirens although I can't imagine it's anything like as much of a problem mid-week.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel will probably be quieter
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind and balanced review.
I am glad that you have enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. It is something we strive for. I believe all of my staff are a genuine bunch who really do care about guests welfare.
I am also very happy that you found the hotel to be very quiet apart from certain times. It was a bank holiday so this can make the streets busier. Cardiff is so compact that all hotels in the centre are subject to a certain amount of noise.
As you say this is much less noticeable mid-week.
I hope we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location in the center of Cardiff with very friendly staff. We didn't stay for breakfast so I cannot comment on the food but the rooms were very basic and in definite need of renovation.
If you are going on a drunken night in Cardiff and literally just want a place to sleep this hotel will be fine for you but if you want anything more than that this hotel really isn't for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 213Traveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
I am pleased that you were happy with the staff and location.
We are graded as a very good two star hotel and update as finances permit.
Whilst you seem disappointed I hope that you feel we compete with the hotel chains in our price range.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

excellent location only 90 second walk to train / bus station and the millennium stadium. Also within walking distance to Cardiff city stadium or £5 in a taxi. Very friendly staff. Decent enough breakfast too. Rooms were comfortable. The only negative was the décor was a bit old fashioned and carpets were worn. free wifi in all areas too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevincronin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you Kevin for your smashing review.
It was a pleasure to meet you.
Sadly I realise the football game at the stadium was poor but I am glad you still managed to enjoy your visit.
Hopefully we will welcome you again.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

stayed at this hotel for a football international in cardiff,ideal location in the city center.
staff was very friendly and helpfull.Rooms spotlessly clean, breakfast was good, over all a good experence. would stay again.

one thing some people might find a problem is the hotel is all up stairs i new this when booking so was not a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyMOffalyROI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you Sir for your lovely review.
It was lovely to meet you and all of our friends that came from across the water.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in the not to distant future.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed overnight here with a friend. Twin room which was clean and tidy, nice cooked breakfast, ok to stay for a night, no more than two stars, friendly and helpful staff. Right in middle of town so near to pubs and clubs and you do get 20% off food at cafe jazz underneath the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £41 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing