We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay Smack Bang In Town”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
barry
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay Smack Bang In Town”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed in the hotel on Friday evening excellent smack bang in St Mary street. First thoughts were going to be noisy due to the location but nope we were at the back of the hotel and didn't here a thing. Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean and tidy and the beds were nice and comfy had a good night sleep.
If you do get peckish on your way home from a night out next door is McDonalds or 2 mins up the road is chippy lane and across the road is subway so a variety of places to have a late night munch would recommend staying here again...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djjazy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I am really pleased to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
I am grateful to you for taking the time to let others know by writing these comments.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    394
    180
    55
    45
See reviews for
131
292
157
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Builth Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at the Sandringham Hotel on a Saturday night, was expecting it to be quite noisy as it is situated in St Mary Street a busy street in the capital, but was pleasantly surprised. I have just had an operation in hospital and asked for a first floor room as i cannot manage stairs very easily, the staff were very helpful and put us in Room 2 a first floor double room overlooking the the street. The room had an en-suite bathroom and toilet and tea and coffee making facilities as well as free WI-FI and a TV. The staff moved my wheel chair to a safe place overnight and carried it down the stairs for me in the morning. The hotel cooked a good full English breakfast in the morning and there was unlimited supply of tea/coffee and toast.We didn't take advantage of the discount in the downstairs Jazz Cafe but thought it was a nice extra. I guess the only downside was the absence of a lift but it wasn't a problem for us and the staff were very friendly and helpful would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a well run family hotel in the centre of Cardiff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is very much appreciated.
It was an absolute pleasure for us to meet you and I am delighted to read that my colleagues looked after you.
Hopefully one day we will welcome you again.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel, in St Mary Street, is perfectly positioned for the train station, sites, activities, pubs and restaurants.

My room (304) was single with a single bed and although small, perfectly adequate. The separate bathroom (with shower) and toilet were spotlessly clean. Unfortunately the same cannot be said about the carpet and net curtains which could both do with cleaning. The window frames, behind the secondary double glazing, were filthy and in need of a good clean. Sort out the minor cleaning problems and the room would be ideal. However, if my room was a microcosm of the rest of the hotel rooms then I would suggest general room refurbishment is required.

Breakfast was the highlight of the stay, a full English (or should that be a full Welsh) cooked to order which was delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and because of the hotel location I would likely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouse_GitSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
We are currently upgrading carpets in some rooms and I will pick up the other issues mentioned.
Hopefully we will welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trefeglwys, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Yes, shabby, but soooo clean, and the staff are superb. Bed and sheets super crisp and clean, bathroom extremely clean and best of all, really quiet. Central Cardiff and only £35 per night mid week. Breakfast one of the best I've ever had and the service was second to none. Will definitely stay again, as will my colleague. FABULOUS!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue13660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so so much for your review.
I am really pleased that we have made you both feel welcome.
I was away last week so I am glad the team have kept up the good work.
Thanks to you for taking the time to write your comments. It does help.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights, and it was a good budget option in the area. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect, but the actual facility is in need of major work. The beds were a bit uncomfortable (2 nights was my limit!), and the walls were peeling. It was also pretty noisy, but that is to be expected from an older building in a busy area. Just bring earplugs! We also had issues with hot water--ours was broken and they couldn't get a plumber in to fix it for us...but they made another guest room avail for us to shower in the morning, so it all worked out, and the staff did the best they could to make sure we were comfortable. Overall, worth the money we spent, nice for a short visit to Cardiff!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
I do apologise about the lack of water coming out of the hot tap. The tap has now been replaced.
I am glad that you were happy with our actions. We honestly do try.
Hopefully we will welcome you again.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

On the positive side - Great Location, great staff, very friendly and helpful, great breakfast, great price, our rooms were clean and everything worked. The negatives - The stairs, possibly the lack of a residents bar but they have the jazz bar downstairs. Apart from that our group thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is not a modern, boutique hotel but if you are looking for a central location at a good price then this is it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dowie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you Mr D for your lovely review.
Everyone of your party was a pleasure to deal with. We all thoroughly enjoyed the weekend.
It was a lovely atmosphere.
I am glad you have enjoyed your stay and hopefully as planned we will welcome you and your party once again next year.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Right the negatives. We were in room 308, which is up four flights of stairs, this would exclude anyone with mobility problems as there is no lift, the toilet seat was broken as was the shower and the toilet flush was loose. I think the whole hotel could benefit from a modern makeover. Now on to the positives, the room had everything you need, the bed was the most comfortable i have ever slept in and the bedding was spotless, the room was very clean. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and served by staff who were all friendly and attentive. The location is second to none with all the major tourist places within easy walking distance. Despite extensive problems with a boiler breakdown, staff remained upbeat and friendly. Thank you for a lovely stay and i would happily return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you both for staying with us and for your lovely review.
We do as you say have no elevator but we have rooms on lower floors which can be requested.
We have repaired the toilet seat and flush but I apologise that this was not done before arrival.
The showers on the top floor are brand new and are pressure boosted. I will get this one checked as it should have been working.
I will pass on your kind words to everyone as they will love to hear them. As mentioned we did have a major leak from a burst boiler so I am glad we stilll remained positive and cheerful.
I hope we will welcome you again in the future and once more thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 73 in Cardiff
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing