We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandringham Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Cardiff Gate(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$139
US$122
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$78
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Cardiff Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
266
420
189
57
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
420
189
57
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftcafe jazza family run hotelcity centremary streetslap bang in the middlecardiff castletrouser pressfirst floorfriendly hoteltrain stationexcellent locationtwin roomnight lifebit datedplenty of hot watercooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
614 - 619 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for one night on a quick trip to Cardiff. Location is VERY central, with easy access to transport, restaurants, shopping. Staff was very friendly and helpful - even arranging breakfast for us at 4:45 AM to accommodate our early departure! Our room was very clean and our bed was comfy. Had a great sleep. The building is indeed old and a bit shabby, but that's why it's so cheap! If you want shiny new chairs and this season's carpet colour, go somewhere else. If you want a clean, friendly place in central Cardiff, stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
It is very kind of you to take the time to write your comments.
It was a pleasure for us to meet you and I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed our homely atmosphere.
Hopefully we will welcome you again.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

stayed for 2 night, hotel in a great location in city centre and 5 minutes walk for central station. had a good night sleep, good breakfast, friendly and very helpful staff. one down side the hotel was very dated and décor shabby the carpet in the bedroom was very wore and needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review and for choosing to stay at the Sandringham.
I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
I note your point about the carpet. I am changing them as finances permit and have done some recently.
Hopefully we will welcome you again soon.
Once again thank you.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great venue for visiting City Centre of Cardiff. Come by train. Walk about the city and visit the sights. Clean Hotel with great breakfast. Would recommend for shopping trips. Theatre visits. Rugby game visits. Just chilling in Cardiff.

Room Tip: All rooms are good for enjoying the City life, at night in particular
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks John for your lovely review.
I am glad that you and your colleagues have enjoyed your stay.
I am sorry that I missed you on this occasion but hopefully we will see you again
in the near future.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our first and last night at the Sandringham! Never again! OK, good central location but that is the only positive thing we can find to say. The bed was hard and uncomfortable, the decor shabby and dated, the room small with burn marks on the carpet and the bathroom had a broken toilet seat. Studded walls meant we could follow the many drunken conversations (and other nocturnal activities) in adjoining rooms and the noise from the street was deafening (discos, brawling etc.) until 4.30am. Then the seagulls and dustcarts arrived. We got no sleep at all. Cannot comment on the breakfast - we were so desperate to get out of there that we left at 7.30am. They advertise car parking at 9GBP per day but we were charged 18.75GBP from 5.00pm to 7.30am, so be warned.
We have stayed in many central Cardiff hotels and this is beyond doubt the worst in its class. Not worth the money - a truly horrible experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank judsandcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

I am very sorry to read your review.
I am also disappointed that you did not feel comfortable enough to talk to us.
I will investigate your comments to try to improve the experience for future guests.
Car parking is £9 for 24 hours but you need to buy a validated ticket from reception so that the NCP know you are staying with us. I may still be able to get you a refund on the parking and I would like the opportunity to talk with you about your stay.
If this is of interest to you then please e-mail me on sandringhamsales@gmail.com
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This has been the 4th time staying at the Sandringham. Everytime the staff are very friendly and the breakfast is great. You can have a full English breakfast or for just £2.00 double up for a larger full English breakfast. In addition there is toast, a range of cereals, fruit and juices to set you up for the day. The rooms are decent in size. The main attraction for the Sandringham is where it's situated right in the middle of St. Mary's Street with the Millennium Stadium at one end and Cardiff Castle at the other. Cardiff Central railway station and Cardiff bus station are only 4mins walk away! Will be staying there again for sure as I love this hotel.

Room Tip: ALWAYS book directly on the hotel's website rather than booking via an agency as you get the best room rate.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaylorWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you so much for your five star review.
It is always a pleasure for us to see you.
I am so grateful to you for writing your comments.
Hopefully as you say we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews