We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
1 review
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our stay was a gift from my parents and will probably be our main holiday this year as we have an 11 & a half month old son. We stayed 2 nights and the staff were amazing. We had a family room which they provided a travel cot in, although we didn't use it as our little boy slept in with us. They did a full English breakfast which wasn't massive but was just right for me and was included in the price. There was an option for a bigger breakfast at £2 extra. They had a high chair which we used but the straps were broken. The breakfast waitresses were really friendly and catered for our little boy really well. There were a lot of stairs to get to our room but the reception staff allowed us to leave the pushchair with them to save us having to carry it up each time. The hotel is quite old but the room was clean and they provided plenty of tea/coffee/milk/biscuits for us. Overall we thought the hotel was a bit tired but the staff were so great we didn't care, they made us feel welcome and comfortable. The location couldn't have been better with the St David's centre, shops, Millennium stadium and castle all very close.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for your smashing review.
I am really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and mini-holiday.
I have passed your comments to all the staff concerned and we are all very grateful to you for them.
It was lovely meeting you and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    394
    180
    55
    45
See reviews for
131
292
157
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a perfect location - walking distance from all major sights. The staff at the reception are very helpful and the room had everything you might need for a city break. The only issue I had (and it's not the stairs) was the breakfast: the food itself was ok, but it took a long time before I actually ate, there was no one at the entrance, when I found two people standing by the kitchen they ignored me and then there was this old woman running around and shouting, trying to find out who left the toast in the toaster - not the best morning experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Traveller V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay with us.
I am so sorry about the breakfast service. This is an area that we are normally well reviewed on.
I will have a word with the waiting staff to ensure this does not happen.
I hope that we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I can't say enough nice things about the staff and terrific breakfast at the Sandringham. It is also centrally located to all the sights in Cardiff and you can walk to the castle and museums. The room itself was dated and a bit shabby. The bed and pillows were not so comfy. However, this is a budget type hotel. It was a bit loud the first night due to the location; it is in the center of downtown. Overall we enjoyed our stay and appreciate the helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirtle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I am very glad that you have enjoyed staying with us and I hope your visit to Cardiff was everything you wanted it to be.
I will pass on your lovely words to everyone concerned.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my two friends came here for my birthday. Triple room with breakfast £100! The location is outstanding you couldn't get better especially for the price. The staff were friendly enough, breakfast took a long time to arrive! The room was dated and smelt damp. We opened the windows and sprayed a lot of perfume. No hot water for a shower not very good and the toilet seat was wonky so had to be steady when you sat down. Overall it's cheap and basic and for a place to sleep was fine but you get what you pay for. If I had paid more I may not have been so impressed...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tap88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you very much for your visit and your review.
I am sorry that I did not find out that you were celebrating your birthday. I would have organised a bottle of wine or some drinks for you. I hope you had a great day.
I am very pleased to read that you found us good value for money.
I am sorry about the maintenance problems and these have now been resolved. I genuinely have not found a problem with the hot water though apart from the fact that it takes about two minutes of running the taps to become hot. Please contact us should this problem arise again.
Hopefully we will welcome you in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The standout feature of this hotel was the excellent service, beginning with the young woman who saw me struggling with my case and helped me carry it up the stairs, to the lovely and helpful young woman on reception, to the friendly people who served breakfast. My room was a little shabby but it was clean, the bed comfortable, and sufficiently heated. The bathroom was large and contained a bath, which I was very grateful for. The location is fantastic, a short walk to Cardiff Castle or Millennium Stadium. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and many shops too. The bus and train terminals are also a very short walk away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank spyndleshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review.
It was a real pleasure for us to meet you. I am very glad that you have enjoyed the service which as you say is our best feature. It really matters to all of us that guests enjoy their stay.
We do not have the massive advertising budgets that the chain hotels enjoy so I am very grateful to you for taking the time to write this review as it should help immensely.
Hopefully we will get to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel during the bank holiday. When I arrived I was greeted by the receptionist and made to feel very welcome. The receptionist explained everything to me and also offered me to upgrade to breakfast as I had opted out of it. She also explained to me what was happening in the hotel that evening (entertainment etc) The Room was lovely to me it was like a home away from home - had all the basics you could want (well for me it did anyway) the room was clean and tidy and was a great place for me to rest my head at the end of the night. This hotel is central to Cardiff and I would stay here again, I would also recommend this hotel to family and friends as the rooms are priced superbly and the staff are friendly. Big thumbs up to the Sandringham Hotel :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for your smashing review.
I am really pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet you.
Anne-Marie (receptionist) has asked me to pass her thanks on to you for your kind words.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stay at this hotel very good location . Rooms were average. Toilet seat was wobbly but the staff were excellent with excellent service. Only down fall was the noise from the disco we had a room around the back but it still kept us awake As it went on till 2 am breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for visiting us recently.
It was a pleasure to meet you and hopefully we will welcome you again soon.
I will get the maintenance issues sorted. Thank you for taking the time to let me know.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 73 in Cardiff
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing