We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard beds & Lots of Stairs”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hard beds & Lots of Stairs”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a budget hotel right in the centre of the city - so easy to get to all the attractions & shopping. However, it is very dated now and is really in a need for an update - peeling wallpaper which looked dirty; carpets didn't look clean either; although the housekeeping staff do clean them. Be prepared to climb the stairs which remind me of Everest. you climb before you get to the reception desk which is one the 1st floor. Wi-fi is good, as was the breakfast. The bed was as hard as a wooden floor as was the pillows so not a good nights sleep.
Overall 1 night was 'OK' but anymore and I would have been a wreck

Room Tip: A lower floor room unless you like climbing a lot of steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you Antony for your review and for choosing to stay with us.
I am very disappointed that you have not really enjoyed your stay.
There are spare pillows in the room and we can supply more if requested. We do as you say have no elevator and this is mentioned on all websites. We put you in a higher room floor as this was requested on your booking.
We do regularly update as finances permit to continue as a very good two star property and I will be acting on your comments.
I am glad that you felt that our location was good and that we are value for money.
I do hope you will consider staying with us again where I can allocate you a lower floor room.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    392
    176
    55
    45
See reviews for
126
286
157
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

First of all the day staff were lovely, very nice and helpful. But I paid to check in at 2 and when I got there my room wasnt ready, when I finally got a room the television wasnt working properly which they were aware of but still didnt come to fix. I also needed to open a window as it was a lovely hot day yet they only open so far and when they are open the buldings outside make a constant groaning noise 24/7 which wouldnt have been a problem if the fan provided acctually blew some air. I paid £40 for the room which I thought was acceptable, I would not pay any more though. The bed was very comfy though, good night sleep.

Room Tip: Any problems speak to the day staff, the staff at night can't do much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MissJess359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us.
I am very sorry that the room was not ready when you arrived. This is very rare for us but we had a large group check out quite late.
I also apologise for the tv. We thought we had fixed it but the problem must have been intermittent as it has stopped again since. I have now replaced it altogether.
I hope you will consider staying with us in the future as we have acted on your comments.
Thank you for bringing these points to my attention
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights at the Sandringham Hotel in Cardiff. On the good side,the welcome was very friendly and efficient as were all the staff. It is in an excellent location in the city centre, 2 minutes walk from the main rail station (Cardiff Central) and the main bus terminal, Our room was quite large and very clean with room for a comfortable big double bed and a single bed, a writing desk, good size wardrobe, remote control tv, lots of tea/coffee and milk/sugar and a clean and spacious bathroom with a good shower that actually works without a load of fiddly taps and knobs one finds in fancy hotels. A very hearty full english breakfast plus,a choice of fruit juices and cereals and all the tea and coffee and toast you need. And despite it being in the city centre it was quiet for noise-free, peaceful night's sleep. The only difficulty some people might encounter is that we counted 42 steps on several steep staircases from the main entrance to our room.. The price is quite a bargain, we paid £44 per room per night, an absolute bargain considering it's location and facilities. We would definitely stay at the Sandringham again when we next visit Cardiff.

Room Tip: We were in room 108 which was the 42 staircase steps away from the entrance and our room was directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I am very grateful to you.
I am really pleased you have enjoyed your stay.
The midweek rate mentioned is one of our many special offers but please remember to book on our own website as this is the cheapest way.
Hopefully we will welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I had a one night stay here on business, and was very impressed with this hotel. Great welcome when I arrived, and I had everything explained as was necessary. Room was spotlessly clean, and no mould or splashes on the walls or in the bathroom. bed was very comfy, pillows just right.Good TV and plenty of tea and coffee with a note to ask for more if you ran out.
Just bear in mind you will get city noise if you stay on a weekend, as you are in the heart of Cardiff. But for me, plenty of choice for my evening meal. Good security at reception also
Breakfast was very good, freshly cooked and good choice. And friendly service(as with all the staff).
For the price, I thought I got good value and would have no hesitation in staying here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your views on this website. It is very much appreciated.
We honestly do our best and we feel rewarded when guests state that they have got value for money.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,037 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The location of this hotel is EXCELLENT, at the center of the city surrounded by shops, restaurants, and bars. One could easily walk to the Train Station and Bus Station.

Helpful Staff and delicious breakfast: Shawn answered all my questions about tourist attractions in Cardiff. My full English breakfast was delicious and the waitress was always smiling and helpful

NOT LIKE: I was given a room on the third floor even though I asked for the lower floor as I have problems climbing narrow, winding stairs. There are no elevators at this old hotel.

My bed was lumpy and I had a hard time sleeping due to this. For the 2 nights, I stayed there, I was awakened by loud voices talking outside my room as well as by loud singing coming from the bar located downstairs.

I paid almost US $200 for 2 nights. Next time I visit Cardiff, I would stay in a much nicer and quieter hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us.
I am glad that you have enjoyed certain aspects of the hotel.
However I am very sorry that there are some points of concern.
We always try our best to fulfill requests so I am sorry that we have missed yours regarding a lower floor room.
I will get the beds checked in the room you stayed as we do replace on guests advice.
We do have rooms at the back of the hotel that are quieter than the front but sadly all the city centre hotels experience a certain amount of noise.
I do hope you will reconsider and think of staying with us again if you return to Cardiff as I will act on your experience.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here on a night when Cardiff was full to the brim with rugby fans. We counted ourselves lucky to find this place. The entrance is on St Mary Street so could not be better located for shops, rugby, bars,restaurants etc after climbing the stairs to the first floor reception it's like stepping back in time 25 years. BUT the receptionist was very friendly and helpful regarding parking (they have a deal with the NCP car park close by and we swapped our parking ticket for one of theirs and got a 50% discount on the overnight parking paying just over £8 rather than over £18). We stayed in room 105 which was around the side and 2nd floor it was a twin (the only room they had left) but apart from being very dated, the beds were comfortable, the bed linen was clean and crisp and there were tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary water and biscuits . The bathroom (again, very dated) had hot water and was perfectly adequate for the price paid. It was also surprisingly quiet and we both had a good nights sleep. Breakfast the next morning was served to us with a fair choice of hot food as well as continental, and the breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful. So...it's not posh, in fact it's very very basic but it was warm, clean, friendly, great location and the staff are welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comments.
I am glad to read that you feel we are excellent value for money.
I hope you enjoyed yourselves in Cardiff on the weekend you visited.
Cardiff was fortunate enough to host the Heineken Cup and we had many guests from different countries creating a wonderful atmosphere.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our stay was a gift from my parents and will probably be our main holiday this year as we have an 11 & a half month old son. We stayed 2 nights and the staff were amazing. We had a family room which they provided a travel cot in, although we didn't use it as our little boy slept in with us. They did a full English breakfast which wasn't massive but was just right for me and was included in the price. There was an option for a bigger breakfast at £2 extra. They had a high chair which we used but the straps were broken. The breakfast waitresses were really friendly and catered for our little boy really well. There were a lot of stairs to get to our room but the reception staff allowed us to leave the pushchair with them to save us having to carry it up each time. The hotel is quite old but the room was clean and they provided plenty of tea/coffee/milk/biscuits for us. Overall we thought the hotel was a bit tired but the staff were so great we didn't care, they made us feel welcome and comfortable. The location couldn't have been better with the St David's centre, shops, Millennium stadium and castle all very close.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for your smashing review.
I am really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and mini-holiday.
I have passed your comments to all the staff concerned and we are all very grateful to you for them.
It was lovely meeting you and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing