We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #26 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
swansea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fab location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend girls birthday stay. The location is brilliant right in the centre of town and a few minutes walk from the station. Room was spotless and comfortable, it was boiling so welcomed the fan provided. Nice clean towels and water tea and coffee, everything needed for an overnight stay. Gorgeous full English breakfast, pleasant staff, well recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank joshotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I am really happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with breakfast especially on such a special occasion.
Hopefully we will welcome you all again in the near future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    386
    172
    54
    44
See reviews for
125
278
156
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is extremely central, 5 minutes to Castle and bus station, a bonus as we came by coach. The hotel and staff were excellent, a truely family run hotel, very clean room, we were very pleased and with the weather, very hot ! would certainly recommend and stay again when we visit Cardiff.

Room Tip: ask for a reception level room to avoid stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you both for your smashing review and for choosing to stay with us.
I am delighted to read you have enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your kind words to all concerned.
Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the hotel for two weeks and found it to be a very friendly, family run hotel, great location in the high street, breakfast was included with our room which was excellent every morning, for great value and a warm atmosphere I would recommend this hotel very highly, we shall both be returning as soon as we can!.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikAshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you both so much for your lovely review and for staying at The Sandringham.
It was really nice for us all to meet you especially for your extended stay.
It was also very nice of you to leave a thank you card.
It is genuinely very rewarding for us to receive such positive comments and I thank you for these.
Hopefully we will welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I booked this hotel as we were going to Cardiff University Open day and wanted an hotel within walking distance of the Uni as well as in the middle of Cardiff so we could get a flavour of the city to help our daughter decide on the Uni.
The hotel itself is ideally situated, and yes, it is dated in décor but is very clean, the staff were really friendly, welcoming and very helpful, breakfast was extremely good with lots of choice - amazing value as it is included in the room rate.
If you want a centrally placed hotel at a good price then you won't go far wrong with this one.

The only disappointment we had is that we had booked the triple room as the photos appeared to indicate that the triple room had a double bed and a separate door into a small area with bunk beds as well as an ensuite bathroom - this was ideal as our 17 year old daughter wanted a bit of privacy and was looking forward to sleeping in a bunk bed again!!
When we got the room however, it was a just the one small room with two double beds in it with about a foot between the two beds and no space to spare.
Had I known that this would be the case I would have booked up two rooms so do feel a little misled with the photos of the triple room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay with us.
It was really nice to meet you all and I am glad you have had an enjoyable stay with us and in Cardiff.
I am so sorry about the triple room not being as described. One of my rooms is how you suggested with the bunk beds but two are not.
I will update the photos to make sure the other type triple room is also shown.
Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Hopefully we will welcome you again soon and if so I shall ensure you are in the correct room..
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed on my own here on a recent visit to Cardiff.
This is a 2* hotel, and I would ignore any negative reviews from people who pay such prices but expect 5*!!

The hotel is in a perfect location for the centre of town & parking at the NCP 5 min walk away was only £9 for 24 hrs (paid for this on reception when I checked out & you then validate your ticket when you leave the car
park)
The room (106) was perfectly adequate clean, comfortable, comfy bed and white, fluffy towels in the (clean) bathroom - I always have a "thing" about towels when I stay in hotels. There was also plenty of tea, coffee etc on offer on the hospitality tray.
There was plenty of storage pace in my room to hang long dresses!!
I slept like a log as the bed was very comfy and my room was nice and airy.

The staff on reception were very friendly and efficient - I didn't make it for breakfast so I can't comment.
I would stay he again on my next visit because I feel it was good value for money and you can't get a better location for the price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eleri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you Eleri for your beautiful review.
It is very pleasing to read that you have enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet you.
I note that you are a top contributor on Trip Adviser so this I'm sure adds extra recognition to your comments.
Hopefully we will welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

pleasant stay good value staff friendly and helpful.Very central for shops bus station Breakfast is good value. would definitely book again. plenty of places to eat in walking distance. good entertainment available at new theatre, motorpoint arena.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Glyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. It is very much appreciated.
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Even posting my phone charger back to me after I'd left it behind. It's a 2 star and the decorations a-little worn but it's ideally located for the centre of town and easy to walk to from the bus station and university where I had a course. There is no lift and my room was up steep narrow stairs so you do need to be fit to stay there. I had a comfortable, quiet stay on the Monday night I was there and even slept with my window open as Cardiff was experiencing a heat wave. I'd stay here again if I have further trips to Cardiff.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you Stephanie for taking the time to write this review.
I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and I look forward to hopefully
welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing