We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Malahide, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Stayed in this hotel on a business trip to Cardiff in Mid-October 2009. The hotel is very centrally located near bus and train stations just around the corner from shopping and restaurant areas.
It's typical British with lots of stairs and corridors before getting to the room. Room itself was ok. Clean and definitely much bigger than in similar hotels in London.
Hotel has free wireless internet, also to be used if needed separately in the restaurant downstairs. Hotel visitors get free entrance to the restaurant concerts. In the second night they had a nice jazz band playing.
Breakfast was sufficient and staff very nice. Deal was good. For altogether 80 pounds for a single room for two nights. With that deal I would stay in this hotel again. The location is very handy.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkusMalahide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    391
    174
    54
    45
See reviews for
126
282
157
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We went to Cardiff for just one night & booked The Sandringham online which was VERY easy to do and a FANTASTIC price. Right in the centre of Cardiff its great to just step out onto the street and go hereever you want! Staff were very friendly on reception, and directed us to our room, all carpets needed renewing on the stairs but were clean. Our room was up a further 2 steep set of stairs (but ehy it as built like it so can not complain bout that) they had decent handrails cos the stairs are steep, no nasty 'cheap B&B smell' very pleasent. Our room was a double room which was very clean, again carpets really needed renewing, furniture dated, but clean! Xcellent flat screen TV on the wall ith many channels! Bathroom again dated but clean, very impressed with that, towels thick & fluffy. Bed had fresh clean duvet cover, pillows very flat felt like we were sleeping on slices of bread, but clean all the same, as someone else reviewed the green draylon headboard was stained & a tad off putting but no nasty smell in the room at all. Bed very uncomfortable, me and my husband kept meeting in the middle!! Very hard to lie on due to springs. Each time e passed reception, staff said hello, which was nice! Very helpful with car park facilities too. At breakfast this morning the breakfast room was dated BUT very VERY clean! We ere served by a very pleasent lady, ho just got more & more helpful, the breakfast as served very fast & was veryVERY nice. All in all a great stay just pit about the bed, the decor is just 'one of them things' but PLEASE replace the beds!! We WOULd stop here again, thanks Wendy & John from Great Barr, Birmingham. x

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizzie_Rascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed here to watch U2 and had to book for 2 nights. On the plus side the staff were attentive, helpful, and the breakfast service was good. But the decor was so bad it looked grubby although the room had been well cleaned. The headboard was a pale green dralon type materail and was badly stained. The ceiling looked painted but the rest doesn''t seem to have seen a paint brsuh for some time, the lino tiles in the bathroom were rust stained. it reminded me of cheap B&B's I styaed in in the early 80's. We paid £120 per night plus breakfast about the sme as the standard rate in the Hilton, Can't blame them for cashing in when cardiff was full but please buy a pot of paint with the extra cash. I wouldn't stay here again unles it was refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolToney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2009
Firstly I would like to thank the reviewer about the nice comments made regarding our staff and breakfast.
I can assure the reviewer our price was checked and was extremely favourable when compared with our competitors over this period. The room mentioned will be undergoing a refurbishment in October. I agree the headboard does look poor and the bathroom floor and around the door does have staining and we will be changing the floor type to ceramic tiles. However I did have a guest last night asking if he could stay in this room again next week so I suppose we all have different opinions. I hope the reviewer will consider staying again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We arrived on the day of the U2 concert after a long drive (and having paid £280 upfront) expecting a decent hotel per the website - how wrong we were!!

On arrival we found the lobby to be very shabby with thread bear carpet and the smell of "shake and vac". We obtained our key and made our way (with much trepidation) to the room - our worst fears were confirmed. The carpet in the room was very worn, the paintwork didn't look like it had ever been touched, and this is before we got to the bathroom.....

I really do not know where to begin with this, shall we start with the black and mouldy bathroom tiles, the brown stained ceiling tiles or the black mould under the toilet or perhaps the torn wall paper or even the pigeons cra**ping outside the windowm - I could go on but I think you get the idea.

This hotel is not a hotel in anyway it's more like a cheap B&B (and that's being generous) the breakfast is crap and I would advise anyone thinking of staying here to think again and find somewhere decent - PLEASE DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heatherfox20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2009
I don't think there is much point me saying anything about this review. Clearly the reviewer did not like the hotel at all. I think it is very harsh, unfair and untrue but I respect their right to comment on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Just returned from a two night stay which cost us nearly three hundred pounds .We came up to see U2 concert .It is a perfect location for concerts /shopping as everything is on the door step .This does however mean night times are very noisey .
I think the hotel is very overpriced only being a 2 star and def needs some TLC but the the staff , especially on reception , were lovely and very helpful .
Don`t be fooled by i quote ...the generous cooked breakfast .Generous it isn`t ,Tiny plate with a QUARTER of a slice of fried bread haha !!!
We had a good weekend though .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphinhart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2009
Thanks to the reviewer for praising the service of our staff.
I can promise that the room price was favourable when compared against our competitors for this period.
I am surprised about the critisism regarding breakfast. The cooked breakfast includes everything you would expect. On the menu is also the choice to have a bigger breakfast so guests are welcome to more if they wish. Add on cereals, toast, croissants, pastries, yoghurt etc and hopefully you will have had a substantial breakfast. I do hope the reviewer will consider returning in the future and if so we will ensure a heartier breakfast awaits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Great location but lots and lots of steps, including from the street up to reception. If an extra staff member is around, they will help with luggage. Breakfast was good and the staff, both in reception and those serving breakfast, were kind and helpful, and the price was certainly fair. The only problem with my room was a shower that had an annoying drip every 5 minutes or so, even after tightening the handle. It was one of those flexible shower heads that can sit in up in a bracket or be held in the hand. After one night of drips, I realized that I could eliminate the sound by removing the shower head from the bracket and laying it on the shower floor near the drain – Duhhh!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Had a great stay as usual at the Sandringham, the staff are very friendly and informative and they had a really sexy woman working on reception....she's French I think!!!!
Rooms are spacious, comfy and good value and the location is ideal for a good night out in Cardiff, followed by a tasty breakfast the next morning
Top hotel in a top city

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breihafod69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing