We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in good Location for visiting Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in good Location for visiting Cardiff”
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We enjoyed our two nights at the Lincoln house--lovely rooms and friendly and helpful service. The Breakfast buffet and the cooked food was excellent.
We would definitely reccommend this hotel --only a short walk through the park to the castle and the shops and there are eating places nearby.
Cardiff is a great city to visit---recommend a walk along the Taff trail to Llandaff Cathedral and the waterbus from the park to Cardiff Bay,
Thanks to all at Lincoln House and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJLeightonBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    171
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
104
378
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
limavady,Northern Ireland.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

My wife and I travelled from a holiday in the Canaries to meet our daughter,son,son in law and 14 month old grandson in this hotel for the Wales v Ireland rugby weekend.
We were received by very friendly staff who couldn't do enough to be helpful.The owner Neil Howard made us feel very welcome and ensured that the baby was well catered for- he even supplied a cot from his own home for us.Neil also arranged for us to have breakfast in a separate room from the other guests as he had empathy with the needs of a family travelling with a small child.
The bedroom and en-suite were really suitable and very comfortable.
We have stayed in many top class hotels around the world and the freshly cooked breakfast is one of the best we have ever experienced.
The hotel is in an excellent location within a fifteen minute walk from the City centre and well serviced with lovely restaurants in the immediate area.
Our stay here ensured a memorable family rugby weekend even though Ireland lost-unfairly to Wales!!! We are still friends and WE WILL RETURN TO THE LINCOLN!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgreilly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We have stayed here quite a few time before and it was lovely to be welcomed back. Although we had not been since October last year, little details were remembered, like what drinks we like for a nightcap in the bar, and the fact that a kettle was bot working last time and had to be replaced.

The comfort is so good, the breakfast excellent and the effort to provide service, book tables in restaurants, etc, is second to none.

We have booked for 3 more occasions in the next few months and would not wish to stay anyway else in this lovely City. It is not far from the Wales Millennium Centre where we enjoyed a couple of nights of opera, and it could not be closer to the Swalec Stadium where a political conference was taking place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandpwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed at this wonderful hotel in early February for the England match and I meant to post but forgot!! Maybe it was the trauma from the result that caused this oversight. This hotel is wonderful, charming, cosy and ideal for a three night match break as we had. The staff are fabulous and breakfast is divine - shame they do not do an evening meal. Having said that get them to direct you to Stefano's Italian about a 5+ minute walk away it is tremendous. We lived in Bridgend for three years and I worked in Cardiff but a long time ago. The city is just wonderful and St David's Centre is outstanding.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Edwards1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lincoln House Hotel while we were in Cardiff for a rugby match. The owner Neil and his staff were very helpful and accommodating especially with our 1 year old son. The hotel is just 15 minutes walk to the city centre through the park. The best bit has to be the fantastic breakfast!

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheMac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the Lincoln House Hotel very much - the staff were all very welcoming and friendly, and the breakfast fresh. The room and shared areas were well decorated, in keeping with the age of the house, and clean. It was a nice short walk (about 15 mins) from the B&B to the centre of Cardiff through the park and along the river.

The only down-side was the lack of hot water - we tried the water at various times of the day during our two night stay, and the water was only luke warm for a couple of minutes at best. My husband had a quick (and very cold) shower, and I had to wash my hair in the sink after filling it with water boiled in the kettle. Even so, I would recommend as it may have just been a blip, and everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelleybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Service was excellent, room was great and a wonderful breakfast. I had smoked salmon with scrambled on toast, followed by Greek yoghurt and proons with coffee that was to die for. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diggerdedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,051 reviews
4.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
575 reviews
2.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Property: Lincoln House Private Hotel
Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing