We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in nice area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The positive points about this hotel are that it is in a good - (easy to reach by car) area of Cardiff, next to Bute Park. It offers a free secure car park, excellent breakfast and has friendly staff. We had a good sized, quiet room which was very clean with a comfortable king-sized bed. However having read other reviews, I was rather disappointed by the interior decoration of the hotel. Although the wallpaper was of good quality and looked new, the room furniture was a bit battered, fixtures and soft furnishings were all rather drab and the 1970s bathroom was desperately in need of a refurb - although as I said it was all very clean. The lounge and bar were also very dark and old fashioned, and although I want to say that I loved the place, because it is obviously cared for, I'm afraid I found the premises rather dark and depressing. However I still think that it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet as they are not on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cardiff. It is an amazing little place with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable with everything you need. Breakfast was amazing with the staff happy to accommodate to our needs. I took my mum there for the night on a holiday from Australia to England for a break and we had a great time. I have stayed in many hotels across the world travelling and for the price this hotel is hands down one of the best I have ever stayed in.
Thank you for making our visit enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had room 309 it over looked the road and was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Excellent hotel,friendly staff, clean throughout would definatly recommend this hotel .Breakfast was delightfull with alot of choice. Bedroom and bathroom were immaculate.This hotel is close to cardiff city centre with just a short walk .Will definatly stay again as turned up early to find our room ready so we were able to check in sraight away with no hanging about .Thanks for a great stay .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Had two nights in four poster room. Very clean well furnished room with comfortable bed. Super breakfast, attentive and approachable staff. Very much enjoyed our stay here and would have no hesitation staying there again. Was overall excellent choice for our short stay in the city while attending wedding. Located only a short walk from city centre, with easy acess to dining/shopping areas.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank cnp_swp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Breakfast could not be better Good bathroom Annoyingly small sheet that kept coming off in the night Hotel seems to have undergone half an upgrade and retained half its chintz Clean Location could be better if you are not in a car

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KashaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

It is indeed a delight to return to this delightful small hotel, which we visit about 3 times a year, mostly for opera breaks. It is very easy to drive to the Wales Millennium Centre from the hotel in Cathedral Road.

We always have such a warm welcome when we return. Every member of the staff seems to know us and they even remember what we like for breakfast! We always have the same room which is very comfortable and has easy access.

The quality of the acccommodation, the breakfasts, the information available and everything remains constant and we love our visits there.

Room Tip: The big rooms on the first floor front are gorgeous, although there is hot sun in the summer. We pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandpwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Visited in February 2012 after reading the reviews. Stayed one night.

Its an old but generally well maintained Victorian house about a 20 minute walk from central Cardiff (we took a cab in (£6, busy traffic) and one back (£4, little traffic). Some of the external woodwork could do with a lick of paint but it certainly isn't shabby.

Nice room, en suite with plenty of space and 2 chairs and a convenient table. Good bathroom though an opaque glazed window to the street seemed a bit strange! A curtain might help.

Good cooked breakfast. Parking round the back (via a street at the side of the house).

After returning at about 11pm the night porter (very helpful) served us a drink in the bar - we were the only ones there but it was a pleasant unwind with a good wine.

Happy to go back should the need arise (we usually drive the 50 miles to home but not on this occasion)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,414 reviews
4.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £69 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or elegant sitting room, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing