We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to stay in Cardiff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lincoln House Private Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay in Cardiff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lincoln House Hotel in Cardiff. The service was excellent, the room and ensuite shower room immaculate and the bed very comfortable. The breakfasts we had were really good with the opportunity to try Welsh fare. We left the car in the hotel's car park and walked into the town along the river. There were plenty of places to eat, things to do and walks to embark upon. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eeyore9959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    166
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
98
355
34
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The positive points about this hotel are that it is in a good - (easy to reach by car) area of Cardiff, next to Bute Park. It offers a free secure car park, excellent breakfast and has friendly staff. We had a good sized, quiet room which was very clean with a comfortable king-sized bed. However having read other reviews, I was rather disappointed by the interior decoration of the hotel. Although the wallpaper was of good quality and looked new, the room furniture was a bit battered, fixtures and soft furnishings were all rather drab and the 1970s bathroom was desperately in need of a refurb - although as I said it was all very clean. The lounge and bar were also very dark and old fashioned, and although I want to say that I loved the place, because it is obviously cared for, I'm afraid I found the premises rather dark and depressing. However I still think that it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet as they are not on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cardiff. It is an amazing little place with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable with everything you need. Breakfast was amazing with the staff happy to accommodate to our needs. I took my mum there for the night on a holiday from Australia to England for a break and we had a great time. I have stayed in many hotels across the world travelling and for the price this hotel is hands down one of the best I have ever stayed in.
Thank you for making our visit enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had room 309 it over looked the road and was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Excellent hotel,friendly staff, clean throughout would definatly recommend this hotel .Breakfast was delightfull with alot of choice. Bedroom and bathroom were immaculate.This hotel is close to cardiff city centre with just a short walk .Will definatly stay again as turned up early to find our room ready so we were able to check in sraight away with no hanging about .Thanks for a great stay .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Had two nights in four poster room. Very clean well furnished room with comfortable bed. Super breakfast, attentive and approachable staff. Very much enjoyed our stay here and would have no hesitation staying there again. Was overall excellent choice for our short stay in the city while attending wedding. Located only a short walk from city centre, with easy acess to dining/shopping areas.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank cnp_swp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Breakfast could not be better Good bathroom Annoyingly small sheet that kept coming off in the night Hotel seems to have undergone half an upgrade and retained half its chintz Clean Location could be better if you are not in a car

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KashaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

It is indeed a delight to return to this delightful small hotel, which we visit about 3 times a year, mostly for opera breaks. It is very easy to drive to the Wales Millennium Centre from the hotel in Cathedral Road.

We always have such a warm welcome when we return. Every member of the staff seems to know us and they even remember what we like for breakfast! We always have the same room which is very comfortable and has easy access.

The quality of the acccommodation, the breakfasts, the information available and everything remains constant and we love our visits there.

Room Tip: The big rooms on the first floor front are gorgeous, although there is hot sun in the summer. We pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandpwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Property: Lincoln House Private Hotel
Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian hotel in the heart of Cardiff Imagine all the benefits of Victorian splendor in a hotel just minutes from Europe’s youngest, most vibrant capital. Welcome to Lincoln House Private Hotel in Cardiff, South Wales.Whether you are visiting the Welsh capital for business, sport, culture, relaxation or for the city’s busy nightlife, our traditional bed and breakfast offers some of the best-placed accommodation in Cardiff. Built in 1900, this Victorian Town House has been caringly restored and developed to provide today’s guest with all the comforts of modern living in an authentic Victorian atmosphere. Lincoln House Hotel in Cardiff - an oasis of tranquility on the very doorstep of an energetic and lively capital city. Situated in a select area of Cardiff, Cathedral Road often referred to as "The Chelsea of Cardiff", the hotel is within easy walking distance of the City Centre, stunning Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Castle, Universities, Museum, Civic Centre & Swalec Stadium (Cricket Ground). Much more than just a bed and breakfast in Cardiff. All the luxury of a Victorian town house caringly restored to provide the benefits and comforts of a modern B&B. Full Welsh breakfast. Luxury beds. Full en-suite facilities. Free Wi-Fi. Broadband internet. Laundry service. Flat screen digital Freeview television. Free private car park. Tea and coffee facilities. Email, fax and photocopying facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing