We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lincoln Hotel Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This was a truly excellent hotel in every way. It was a beautiful house furnished to the period, very friendly and helpful staff and a fantastic breakfast. It was lovely to walk into Cardiff through the park behind. If in Cardiff you could not do better.

Room Tip: We had room 101 which was ground floor but delightful. It was also at the back and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreyHAshteadSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

We visited Cardiff for one night and after eating at the Potted Pig (see review),we stayed overnight at the Lincoln House hotel.
A lovely warm welcome from David when we arrived at 10pm and he showed us to our rooms.
Our room was a lovely size with a king size bed (two twins put together, but not a problem) and a small but adequate bathroom.
The breakfast, in the bright and sunny dining room, was once again served by a smiling David and on offer was a varied and delicious fare. Nothing was a problem for this delightful hotel.
We would definately stay here again and hope to soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cftjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I and a friend stayed for 3 nights in May at the Lincoln House Private Hotel. Everything about it was great. We had the two ground floor rooms at the back of the hotel. They overlooked the car park but we didn't care. The rooms were so comfortable and spacious. Besides a KIng bed we had 2 comfy chairs with table and a pull out desk and dresser with tea service.

The people who work at the hotel are very nice and so helpful and the breakfasts are great. The hotel is within walking distance to the Castle, the Bay and a number of restaurants. We met a man while taking exterior pictures who told us the right side of the building used to be a Boy's Home and the left side a doctor's office and home. The public rooms were spacious and the neighborhood is very attractive. Nice walks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norms_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We had a small room on the third floor which was quiet and nicely appointed. The hotel has a lovely sitting room and bright, airy dining room. The breakfast was wonderful: the fresh fruit and Welsh cakes were a treat. The hotel is just a block away from the River Taff walkway: a lovely way to get to the center of Cardiff. The hotel is also close to Llandaff Fields, a large park leading up to Llandaff Cathedral, and a small commercial area with restaurants and shops. The staff at the Lincoln House Hotel were very helpful, pleasant and patient with our many questions about the area. They offered us many tips and were always gracious. Free wi-fi is available.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zanfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Nice, characterful hotel. Rooms are well appointed and clean. The whole place is well kept, with an air of professionalism about it all.

Breakfast was great (though Welsh laver bread is a distinct acquired taste) and the staff are friendly; be prepared to be called "my love" a lot!

It's absolutely fine. Perhaps lacks a bit of the style and pzazz of a boutique hotel, but easy to recommend for a quiet, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a great place to stay when visiting Cardiff. Just a short walk (through the park) to the castle and downtown area. The room was wonderful and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and a perfect way to start the day. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cardiff

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Lovely hotel. Nice decor. Lots of character. Excellent breakfast - really superb. Good, cosy room, nicely decorated. Lovely sitting room. The only thing that stops me giving this a 5 rating is that the staff werent quite as helpful as they could have been. But thats all - otherwise I thought it was superb, and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terark99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,393 reviews
4.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £87 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or elegant sitting room, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing