We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Would like to thank the owners and staff of The Lincoln Hotel for making our week long stay in Cardiff so enjoyable and memorable. A very warm and welcoming Hotel. Room and food could not be faulted. Highly recommended looking forward to return next year.
Newly weds,
Mr & Mrs Barnard.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dbarnard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Congratulations to you both once again! We hope you are finding married life treats you well.

We are all very pleased and happy to find that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit in 2013!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2012

I have just stayed once again in the Lincoln House Private Hotel, it is one of the best places I stay. The staff are so helpful and friendly, the rooms are perfect, the wifi works and it is a real home from home. The breakfast is such a treat with many items including fresh fruit, homemade Welsh Cakes, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, poached eggs on muffins or full cooked breakfast. Cannot think of anything that could be improved.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionaja10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review, all staff appreciate it very much!
How lovely to make you feel like it is a home from home.

Nice to hear we cannot improve on anything!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed overnight. Good room and en-suite.Excellent breakfast and service by David who is very good at his job and an asset to the hotel.Very convenient for town and good parking.One small point ,the lady on reception [when I rang to ask about taxis and local facilities ] could perhaps be a little more forthcoming and less wooden in her responses .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mer123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for your review, David is certainly very good at his job and thank you for that kind comment.

We are in a good location close to everything and yes one of the many perks is we offer free car-parking.

I can only apologise for the lady who you found to be wooden, this is not general beahviour from any member of staff and has been noted.

We do hope you return to the Lincoln soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Sadly, a late arrival and early departure made it hard to really enjoy this hotel, but it was a lovely property with an efficient and friendly staff. I was allocated a loft bedroom with a very comfortable bed and newly fitted bathroom. Decor was tasteful, bed very comfortable, warm and clean. WIFI in all rooms so I understand. The breakfast buffet was substantial, with a particularly good fruit selection; the hot breakfast choices better than your average. All in all, a very high standard. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you found our hotel and staff to be of a high standard.

We do hope you will return in the future and maybe stay that extra night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Very professional and friendly staff greeted us upon arrival. We forgot our blow up bed for our little one and the staff we so helpful and organised for our son to stay in a small room. All our rooms were lovely and clean and to a high standard. Any thing we needed the staff were always so attentive and very flexible, bringing us glasses allowing friends to join us in the beautiful lounge whilst waiting for our wedding party. And then there was the hearty welsh breakfast! Hot tasty and plentiful! Nothing too much trouble , we were not rushed and the tea and toast was flowing nicely.!!! Thank you so much, our weekend in Cardiff was so special!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter Beds are massive and very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

It is a great pleasure to hear you say staff were professional and attentive. We do pride ourselves on going the extra mile here at the Lincoln and we have a great team of staff.

So very lovely to hear you had a very pleasant stay. We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here for a wedding as part of the bridal party 2 weeks ago! The hotel staff went out of their way to make everything extra special and was much appreciated by all the wedding party.
The rooms were clean and spacious and the breakfasts had a great range of choice. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the hotel and we felt truly welcomed. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evansjl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you for your feedback, we hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding!

Nice to hear that staff went the extra mile and that you had such a pleasant stay.

We do hope to welcome you here again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed the place, a spotless hotel, very comfortable, and excellent breakfast. The staff were so helpful even supplying a vase for some flowers and carrying the cases to the room and parked the car!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and found staff to be very helpful.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
4.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
2.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £88 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing