We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, fabulous staff money well spent. Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We went for our 8 year wedding anniversary. After a very stressful year we wanted to get away and have a special time this hotel made it special, the 4poster room was beautiful the service the food and the staff were first class. Thanks to everyone at the Lincoln house hotel. We will definitely see you again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12345sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We went for our 8 year wedding anniversary. After a very stressful year we wanted to get away and have a special time this hotel made it special, the 4poster room was beautiful the service the food and the staff were first class. Thanks to everyone at the Lincoln house hotel. We will definitely see you again!!!


Thank you for choosing Lincoln House to spend your 8 year wedding anniversary. So pleased you had a very special experience and chose our lovely four-poster room for your occassion.

It is so lovely to hear the service, food and staff were first class, something that everyone here at the Lincoln House loves to hear!


We hope to welcome you hear again if not for your 9th Anniversary then sooner!


Diolch En Fawr (Thank you very much)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in February.Nice Victorian house, with car park at rear. Room spotlessly clean and warm. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, cooked fresh to order, with plenty of choice.Would thoroughly recommend. We will definitely be back when next in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Lincoln House Private Hotel.

We look forward to you returning in the future!

Diolch en Fawr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Lincoln house hotel is a great place to stay.It is a lovely Victorian building with lots of origional features.The room was clean and had everything we needed and very quiet. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great with a wide selection of food. Great to have a car park at the hotel. We will certainly stay again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

What a lovely heading!! Can't ask for more than that, "lovely hotel, lovely staff" Thank you very much.

I am pleased you noticed the lovely victorian features of our hotel and had a lovely stay.

Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.


Diolch en Fawr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel is highly recommended if you're looking for a quiet place to stay with friendly staff and spotless rooms. All of the fixtures and fittings work very well with the character of the hotel to provide a relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast room was bright and airy and the food faultless. Parking at the rear of the hotel was more than adequate. We have stayed in five different hotels in Cardiff over the last twelve months and we think this is the best. Well done to all of the staff at the Hotel.

Room Tip: Rear of hotel may provide quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ducyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Many Thanks for your review, thank you for highly recommending us to all.

I am pleased you find the hotel to be in keeping with the victorian era, we do feel that it is important to keep the victorian charm of such a beautiful listed property.

We have recently decorated the dining room and wanted to make this light and airy, very glad you find this to be what we were aiming for.

Free parking in a secure car-park is definitely a nice added touch to any hotel.

Thank you for saying we are one of the best in Cardiff, certainly does make us proud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Gorgeous building on the prettiest st in Cardiff. Beautiful walk into town along the street or through the park. Had a gorgeous room at the front of the house. Only problem was the toilet was broken, we were given a key to the next room to use the bathroom.
Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baby-shmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

I agree it is a beautiful street in Cardiff, you can almost picture horse and carts as you walk along this road.

I am pleased that you were happy with free upgrade to a four-poster king size room.

Sincere apologies for the bathroom issue, we did try to rectify this as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This was one of our favorite hotels during our visit around the UK. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were quaint and comfortable. Breakfast each morning in the dining room was delicious. The hotel is within walking distance of Cardiff Castle and the city centre. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

What an honour for you to say that we were one of your favourite hotels in the UK and thank you kindly for recommending us!!

Hope to see you again in the future.

Diolch yn fawr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is the second time that my husband and I have stayed at the Lincoln House Hotel and once again we enjoyed every moment of our stay. The best part of the Lincoln House is the staff. They are warm and welcoming, they strive to meet the needs of each guest from individually prepared breakfasts to assisting with bus and train schedules and phoning numerous restaurants to make reservations for special needs. Twice now my husband and I have had to catch an early flight from Cardiff requiring us to leave the hotel at 3:30 am. On both occasions a staff member has awoken to see us off and ensure we had no problems with the taxi. Thank you Brendan!! I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloomingtongirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

We are all very pleased that your second stay with us was pleasurable. Lincoln House strives to create a home from home ambience and we are pleased you find us warm and welcoming.


Hope to see you again for your 3rd visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £93 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing