We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is an obviously loved Victorian building, well sited for tourism or business and furnished in a nice mixture of functionality and period detail. Lovely welcome when we checked in, and our heavy bags carried up to the top floor from the car park - and what a great facility a free car park is in central Cardiff. We had super king bed and the room and bathroom were both generous and comfortable, with the wifi not presenting any problems.
Breakfast was absolutely delicious - I had fresh fruit and most of the full Welsh and polished my plate. Indeed it was so generous that I didn't eat for the rest of the day!
The one quibble we had about our room was extremely minor and sorted immediately so it won't affect future visitors - well done the Lincoln. (It really was very, very tiny).
Our only regret was that we couldn't stay for longer, and we weren't surprised to find that many of the guests are regulars. We'll be back. Fantastic value

Room Tip: Our room was at the back. Nice views across Victorian houses and tree filled gardens
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Many Thanks for your lovely review, yes we certainly do treasure our Victorian property and all her elegance.

Yes breakfast here is delicious and lots of variety. Very good choice for a 3 star hotel I think.
Very pleased you enjoyed it!

Great to hear your minor quibble was sorted out efficiently and didn't cause you any bother.

Indeed we have many guests who are regulars and some have even been coming as long as we have been here!

I certainly agree it is great value, free wi-fi, free car-park, a very very hearty breakfast included and comfortable rooms.

So pleased you enjoyed staying with us at our family run hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Diolch en fawr,

Lincoln House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
There are newer reviews for Lincoln House Private Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very clean, big room warm friendly (even though we arrived very late and left very early). Service was excellent. Great location that is quiet, near the Sophia Gardens area on a very nice Cathedral Road. Beautiful house, well maintained with original features. Bathrooms good quality, shower was excellent power (ground floor), car parking was at the rear and secure which helped a lot. Very comfy bed.

I regularly stay in Cardiff, have tried many of the chain hotels, where parking is a problem, noise from the central streets is a problem so will now make this my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Lower floor room - 101 was excellent size, warm and located at the rear of the hotel so quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveBather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes a family run hotel does give the home from home feel, unlike bigger hotels.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Diolch en fawr

Lincoln House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel is a 25 minute walk from the train station. I paid £115 for a king size double bedroom.The room was very spacious with a good size tv. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was a bit dated however it was still functional. The breakfast was okay; nothing special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poseidon_adventure77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your review, great to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the comfort of your room.

I am not sure I have ever heard anyone say our breakfasts are not special or good, so that is unfortunate for you to say so. But we acknowledge all feedback and thank you.

Diolch en fawr

Lincoln House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

On my own this time (without my younger and older generations) for 4 nights in Cardiff on a mix of business and pleasure. Great family run hotel, warm welcome, helped me with my case to the top floor. The room was described as 'compact' but actually had ample space to move around. Very comfortable bed, warm quiet room, nicely decorated, good sized bathroom, excellent shower. Very tasty breakfast with lots of choice, freshly cooked in a short time, served by friendly, efficient and accommodating staff - they even toasted my own 'special' bread for me. Nothing was too much bother and I really enjoyed my relaxing stay. I will return.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room towards the back of the hotel - Cathedral Road can get bus...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThreeGenerations_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a lovely 4 night stay with us.

Glad you had a relaxing stay in your room and enjoyed our hearty breakfasts.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Diolch en fawr,

Lincoln House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Good welcome.Room heating not on when we arrived,and could be warmer.All the usual facilities.
Power shower good,however en-suite couldn't have been any smaller.
Breakfast fresh and tasty.
Only real gripe was noise from other rooms,kettles being filled, showers etc at 7.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvantGuard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for review, I am sorry to hear you found our hotel to be average!

Heating has set times to heat the entire hotel up. However had you let us know you were cold, we have portable heaters on request.

Unfortunately noise from other rooms is something we cannot do much about and as I am sure you are aware with us being a Victorian hotel you will get the occasional noise!

Many Thanks for your feedback.

Diolch

Lincoln House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stay here twice over the last 12 months mainly on business. Easy to find with parking and close to city center and park. Staff are very friendly and helpful making you feel relax straight away. Lovely breakfast served with minimal delay which is important if you are on a tight schedule.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felindreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for choosing Lincoln House, it is nice to hear you feel relaxed here, as we aim to create a home from home environment, with us being a family run hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Diolch en fawr.

Lincoln House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I arrived at 1 a.m.and was given a very friendly an helpful welcome.

Relaxed staff, and "grand house" feel to the accomadation.

I didn't eat breakfast but was offered fruit to take out when I left in the morning.

Room Tip: My room was roadside and there was some traffic noise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohinever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

So pleased you had a very welcome and a pleasant stay with us. Hope you managed to get some rest with a late check-in.

We hope to see you again soon.

Diolch en fawr.
Lincoln House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £89 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing