We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice'n'cosy in Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice'n'cosy in Cardiff”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I choose Lincoln House over the large corporate hotel in the centre of Cardiff that was hosting the conference I was attending and although I had a short walk of about 10-15mins to the city centre, I'm pleased that I did. Lincoln House is a very nice and rather old-fashioned hotel, but in a good way, with small but comfortable and clean rooms, friendly and helpful service and a very nice breakfast -lots of choice and all freshly prepared and with some very Welsh choices such as welsh cakes, pork and leek sausages and laverbread. There is a small private car park (I was allowed to leave my car there most of the day after checking out, which was most helpful) and it appears to be on some bus routes into the city centre. All in all, good value for money and well recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJHare1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review, yes we are a nice and cosy 3* small family run hotel!!

Being a Victorian hotel, built in 1900, we will have a little old fashioned things here and there, but this is mainly to blend into the Victorian charm of the property, which as you say I feel has been done well.

We hope to see you in the future!

Nadolig Llawen & Diolch en fawr (Merry Christmas & Thank you very much)

Lincoln House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    171
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
104
377
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I was only in Cardiff for one night for business and I was lucky enough to lay my head on a beautiful four-poster bed at the Lincoln House hotel. It was a stunning room, very large and beautifully appointed. It was also the best hotel breakfast I had during my trip - you can't go past the full Welsh breakfast, and definitely try the laver bread! A great location, not far to the centre of town and loads of great pubs nearby. The staff were also tremendously accommodating, allowing me to leave my car in the car park (the day I checked out) until my business meeting was over in the afternoon. Can't wait to return, next time will bring the whole family. Thanks everyone!

Room Tip: The four poster rooms are facing the street - which surprisingly wasn't very noisy. Lovely light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Yes indeed very lucky to have a beautiful four-poster room, very luxurious indeed.

So pleased you enjoyed our small 3* family run hotel with a very hearty breakfast.

Yes we are in a great location and with Christmas around the corner, very close to the shops, markets and Winter Wonderland.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future with your family!

Diolch en fawr (Thank you very much)
Nadolig Llawen (Merry Christmas)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

5* for everything.
A warm greeting on a late arrival, good manners are hard to find in hospitality these days so it was nice to see this.
The food is also perfect, what dining is all about.
Staff were polite and welcoming.
Our room was very clean and a good size.
I Would defiantly recommend this place to anyone and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are pleased you found our family run 3* hotel to be of a 5* standard.

Indeed good manners are hard to come by these days.

I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Diolch en fawr (Thank you very much)
Nadolig Llawen (Merry Christmas)

Lincoln House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Comfortable B&B (small inn), immaculately clean, and conveniently located (somewhat busy street; off-street, if somewhat tight, parking available); the staff are helpful and friendly, with good recommendations for dining options and activities. Having the park and river ½ block away is a lovely treat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mco2dca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Yes we are a small family run hotel, placed within easy reach of the city centre etc.

Pleased to hear you found staff to be friendly and helpful. I agree Bute Park right at the back of the hotel is beautiful and lovely to walk through.


We hope to see you in the future!

Diolch en fawr (Thank you very much)
Nadolig Llawen (Merry Christmas)

Lincoln House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We planned to stay two nights and changed our plans to stay a third when my elderly mother felt ill. The hotel was more than accommodating for our change of plans. Nice breakfast every morning and several nice restaurants within walking distance. Convenient to downtown and attractions. Parking on site was a bonus.
Rooms were nicely sized and well appointed. Beds comfy. Everything was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peekadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Many Thanks for your review, I am very happy to learn that changing your plans was a smooth operation for you and our hotel were accommodating.

We hope to see you again in the future!


Diolch en fawr (Thank you very much)
Nadolig Llawen (Merry Christmas)

Lincoln House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is an obviously loved Victorian building, well sited for tourism or business and furnished in a nice mixture of functionality and period detail. Lovely welcome when we checked in, and our heavy bags carried up to the top floor from the car park - and what a great facility a free car park is in central Cardiff. We had super king bed and the room and bathroom were both generous and comfortable, with the wifi not presenting any problems.
Breakfast was absolutely delicious - I had fresh fruit and most of the full Welsh and polished my plate. Indeed it was so generous that I didn't eat for the rest of the day!
The one quibble we had about our room was extremely minor and sorted immediately so it won't affect future visitors - well done the Lincoln. (It really was very, very tiny).
Our only regret was that we couldn't stay for longer, and we weren't surprised to find that many of the guests are regulars. We'll be back. Fantastic value

Room Tip: Our room was at the back. Nice views across Victorian houses and tree filled gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Many Thanks for your lovely review, yes we certainly do treasure our Victorian property and all her elegance.

Yes breakfast here is delicious and lots of variety. Very good choice for a 3 star hotel I think.
Very pleased you enjoyed it!

Great to hear your minor quibble was sorted out efficiently and didn't cause you any bother.

Indeed we have many guests who are regulars and some have even been coming as long as we have been here!

I certainly agree it is great value, free wi-fi, free car-park, a very very hearty breakfast included and comfortable rooms.

So pleased you enjoyed staying with us at our family run hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Diolch en fawr,

Lincoln House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very clean, big room warm friendly (even though we arrived very late and left very early). Service was excellent. Great location that is quiet, near the Sophia Gardens area on a very nice Cathedral Road. Beautiful house, well maintained with original features. Bathrooms good quality, shower was excellent power (ground floor), car parking was at the rear and secure which helped a lot. Very comfy bed.

I regularly stay in Cardiff, have tried many of the chain hotels, where parking is a problem, noise from the central streets is a problem so will now make this my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Lower floor room - 101 was excellent size, warm and located at the rear of the hotel so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveBather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes a family run hotel does give the home from home feel, unlike bigger hotels.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Diolch en fawr

Lincoln House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,028 reviews
4.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 73 in Cardiff
571 reviews
2.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Property: Lincoln House Private Hotel
Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing