We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked for a one night stay after reading the excellent reviews of the hotel and were not disappointed. Great location, lovely room, super staff and a fantastic breakfast. Stop hesitating and book, but please, leave us a room!

Room Tip: The comment regarding the "Restaurant" relates to the breakfast as the hotel does not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Many Thanks for your review, we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay!

"Great location,lovely room, super staff and a fantastic breakfast" All you can ask for really and wish to expect! :-)

We will make sure we have a room for you and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    170
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
100
364
34
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Turn left out of the hotel into Dyfrig Street, go through the gate at the bottom and walk across to the River Taff. In a couple of minutes you’ll be at the Swalec Stadium. Go on for a few minutes more, cross the road and you’re at the Millennium Stadium and just a few more metres further on there’s the City Centre. If it’s a decent day and you are feeling like some exercise (we were!) carry on along the Taff on the same side as you started, thread your way round past Penarth Quay Marina and walk across the Cardiff Bay Barrage and then on into the Cardiff Bay Development. You can either walk back from there (we did but then we’re old!) or get a bus or train back into the City Centre. That’s how convenient the Lincoln House is. Now ally that to an immaculately kept establishment, sumptuous breakfasts and service that is warm and attentive without being “in your face” and you have a really great proposition. Put more succinctly, we really enjoyed it.

Additionally, although we ate in the City, there look to be some decent places to eat nearby and there’s a fine pint of Evan Evans to be had in the Cricketers just a few doors down.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorrieBund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Wow it really does sound like you got to know Cardiff very well during your stay and did some great walking, how lovely. That is certainly the beauty of Cardiff, everything within a short distance of one another.

Thank you so much for saying we are an immaculately kept establishment. Glad you had lovely breakfasts and as always here at Lincoln House, you can be sure of a high level of warm service :-)

Thank you for choosing our 3* star family run hotel and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

My mother and aunt stayed for the second time - as world travellers their commentary that this is the best is worth noting particularly the superb breakfast and absolutely wonderful service. A great place to stay in Cardiff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bay-back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Wow it really does make us feel quite special to learn that your mother and Aunt have said were the best. Thank you very much. :-)

Yes our breakfasts are yummy! Glad you enjoyed them, We are extremely happy to hear as always that your received wonderful service.

Hope to see you again in the future and thank you for choosing our 3* family tun hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel 8 Feb 2014 for 1 night and found everything spotlessly clean and the staff were welcoming and very knowledgeable. The Welsh breakfast was absolutely delicious as the fruit was fresh and the cooked breakfast was cooked to order. It was only a 15 minute walk through the park to Cardiff Castle and the city centre so no need for buses although there was a regular service if needed. We found a fabulous bistro close by on Saturday night and had a wonderful meal. Thank you Neil and all the staff for making our first stay in Cardiff a memorable one. Chris and Sally.

Room Tip: Our room was large and roomy with no traffic noise so no concerns next time we book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, it is great to hear staff were welcoming and knowledgeable :-)

We have very high standards of cleanliness here and a very good team of staff, so thank you for your lovely comment on cleanliness. Indeed our breakfasts are delicious and certainly don't leave you hungry.

We hope you choose to come to stay at Lincoln House for your second visit :-)

Many Thanks for choosing our 3* star family run hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Lincoln House Hotel pulled out all the stops for my mother's 90th birthday celebrations. we booked three rooms, all beautifully decorated and spotless, the housekeeping department was superb. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were very professional. A first class family run hotel that will give the Savoy a run for their money! I will recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: the four poster beds were terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Many Congratulations from all of us here at Lincoln House on your mother's 90th Birthday!

Very pleased to hear that staff were very helpful and professional. Yes our four-poster rooms are beautiful and have lots of Victorian charm.

We would all love to think that we were as good as The Savoy and what a lovely compliment, thank you. :-)

Many Thanks for recommending us to all of your friends! We hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight after our wedding. The four poster room we stayed in was incredible and the guest lounge was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The people at reception were fantastic and bent over backwards to help us. The breakfast was well cooked and there was plenty of choice. We look forward to coming back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckie-beveridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Everyone at Lincoln House would like to congratulate you both on your wedding!

Yes our four-poster rooms certainly have the wow factor and are so special for that certain occasion.

Our Christmas tree is beautiful I agree, the proprietor decorates this to look very Victorian I feel and very tasteful.

I am glad that all staff were very tentative to you and so pleased you had an excellent wedding night and breakfast.

We very much look forward to welcoming you for your first Wedding Anniversary!! :-)

Thank you for choosing our 3* family run hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

What a delightful experience it was to stay at the Lincoln House Hotel.

I arrived on a wet and stormy night, hungry but not wanting to venture out again after my journey. The gentleman on the front desk could not have been more kind and helpful - recommending take-aways that would deliver, giving me a choice of rooms to eat in and even warming a plate for me. The first impression was a good one and it carried on through my brief stay.

The room was billed as a "compact double" and I feared the worst and thought it would be a broom cupboard without space to swing the proverbial cat! However it was plenty big enough for a king size bed, a seating area with armchairs and coffee table and a writing desk. It had a large (36") freeview tv and a good modern en-suite shower room. Everything was spotlessly clean too.

Breakfast was another delight, a buffet for the cold options and every conceivable hot option too - all freshly cooked to order using high quality ingredients.

The icing on the cake was yet to come. A business colleague from Cardiff came to the hotel to pick me up to go to a meeting, she came in to discuss our strategy and I asked if we could have a cup of coffee. They brought it in on a tray in cafetières with a couple of Welsh Cakes each too - and there was no charge for this - all just part of the (excellent) service!

I have no hesitation in recommending the Lincoln House Hotel, they deserve all the plaudits and every success.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrimpergarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
It really does make us all smile here at Lincoln House to hear you had a delightful experience and that you recommend us so highly, as that is what it is all about and we thank you so much! :-)

We thank you so much for choosing our 3* family run hotel and hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
2,131 reviews
4.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
539 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,030 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Property: Lincoln House Private Hotel
Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing