We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Well established , family run hotel ; conveniently located for all the sights. Congenial atmosphere. Spotlessly clean. Highly recommended- family to whom already recommended concur with our assessment.

Anne Morris and Nikki McKinney

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PuffyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
There are newer reviews for Lincoln House Private Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2008

My new wife and I stayed at the Lincol House Hotel on friday night and found it to be welcoming and friendly. Having travelled the world over the last 24 years I was greatly relieved to find such well appointed hotel that was the par of many I had found at considerably more expense overseas.
The Hotel is well maintained with beautiful features and the feel of a near stately home. Although a little more expensive than many in the area, it was worth every penny if you appreciate the finer points and the attention to detail that just isnt found in the larger corporate hotels.
The staff and owners took the time to ensure that we wanted for nothing and every whim and need could be addressed and catered for.
The wlecome was warm, friendly and genuine. Typical of a welsh family home.
I have read the previous reviews and I really dont believe that its the same hotel. I will most definitely return, and look forward to another wonderful, relaxed and quiet stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Les_Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

This hotel is in good location for getting into the main centre of cardiff.
The room we had was large and bed was really comfortable staff in breakfast were friendly and welcoming.
It is great for staying somewhere different if you do not want to stay in large corporate hotels it is unique ad the room wasvery clean and not cluttered or small.
We had a bay window with view of themain street which is tree lined and fairly quiet.
What was wonderful it was close to te city centre and was not too noisy (prob about 15/20 min walk.
If you enjoy walking it has pontcanna fields an parkland close by.

I would recommend this hotel for romantic getaways the suite was lovely and spacious. Iwas visiting cardiff to go to my boyfriends sisters wedding and the hotel added to the special event
Would definatly want to stay again, already planning to return !!!
Northamptonshire resident

Stayed: August 2008
Thank cardifflover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

My wife and I stayed for a Saturday night. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room well presented and clean and the breakfast very nice. This hotel is ideally located for the city centre (10 minute walk through the park) and within a very pleasant part of the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

A wonderful hotel in a most convenient part of the City away from the hustle and bustle in a converted Victorian property carrying all the same charm and character of the era!

We had a four poster room - and can only describe it as fantastic!

Great breakfast. Helpful staff. Secure parking - but most of all quiet and peaceful!!

Terrificaly helpful when seeking local restaurants and knowledgeable of the local bistro's and eateries. Staff could not do enough to assist us - our only complaint is that we could only stay 1 night due to other committments as we could have stayed for much longer!!!!

We will be returning in the future.......we just hope that anyone reading this is not trying to book at the same time as us and we cannot get in!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PandSCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Have just returned from an overnight stay at the Lincoln - first time at the hotel, although we stay in Cardiff fairly frequently (our Daughter attends the Uni); I suspect we are unlikely to stay any where else when we visit the city in the future.

The hotel is a grand Victorian villa, located in a lovely part of the city; a quiet tree-lined road, yet within an easy walk of the castle and city centre. The decor and furnishings are of a very good standard, but sympathetic to the atmosphere of a hotel from this era (the lounge is absolutely charming).

We had a four-poster room (a late booking, so the only double left). The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room a very good size with a seating area set in a large bay window. All the required amenities are provided - tea and coffee, large flat-screen TV etc. The en-suite shower room was a little "compact", but modern, clean and functional.

The service provided was attentive, yet informal and friendly (including a midnight request of the night porter to open the secure parking to the rear of the hotel, so we could run our daughter back to her digs). The breakfast menu caters for all tastes, ranging from a "full Welsh" to smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. Nicely prepared, and swiftly served.

All in all, we thought the Lincoln was something of a "find" and will certainly return. You can pay marginally less, and stay in a bland modern corporate hotel; but it is unlikely to have either the character or location. It may not suit those who like to "throw food up the wall" - but we thought it was a gem.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascotsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Kept on doorstep by a very rude stupid man in the rain while he took 10 mins to find our reservation . Tiny rooms which had a funny smelly , like stale wee . Was told breakfast could be delivered to room and when i ordered i was spoken to like a child saying they dont like room service and not to spill my food ! Iam i a 3 year old ? I told him for £125 a night ill throw it up the bloody wall if i wanted .
I was desperate so had to stay here ( madonna booked the town out ) but save your cash and avoid

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank otpruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £89 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing