We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a night or two :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lincoln House Private Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for a night or two :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Overall a brilliant and comfy stay, not to far from the town & situated near the park. I was pleased with the price & the warm welcome from the hotel managers and colleagues < also very polite. Needed an extra fan because of really hot weather & was able to get one straight away, also liked the fact the bedrooms had free-view. However one slight downside is the lovely modern bathroom doesn't go with the oldish Victorian decor. Other than that i seriously couldn't fault my stay and would be happy to go back again also loved the fact breakfast was included in the price as not many places include breakfast (VERY GOOD FOR THE PRICE). :D Thank you very much to this hotel for such a lovel and comfy stay! much appreciate < and look forward to seeing you again. :) ps; was very suitable for me a my partner on a night out, we stayed in a twin room and just pushed the beds together was BRILLIANT.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    166
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
98
357
34
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I just have to tell you about this excellent hotel in Cardiff .We've stayed there several times and each time we have been so impressed . The staff are lovely, the breakfasts are absolutely delicious and the rooms are clean and very comfortable. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels either through my work or for pleasure and this is one of the very best.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank careerscarmarthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T&T
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family and I stayed one night at the Lincoln in a family room on the ground floor and a double room on the first floor. The hotel is centrally located with an easy walk to the Castle and city centre attractions, and a short drive from Mermaid Key. The hotel is well maintained with careful attention to the preservation of period features. The bathrooms were modern, but the one in the family room needed some attention. Strange though, there were no washcloths in either of the bathrooms. Both rooms were very hot during the night and this made our rest a bit uncomfortable. Even though the window in one room could be opened, the street noise cancelled out the cooling effect. It was good to have off-street parking. The breakfast was satisfying.. Overall, its the location that makes this place a top player for accommodation in Cardiff .

Room Tip: Ensure that you get a room that has windows that can be left open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydeTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Lovely small hotel, family owned . We stayed two nights in June with our son and daughter in-law. Friendly, helpful staff. Private parking. Excellent Welsh breakfast. Walking distance to local pubs and restaurants. Rooms were large and tastefully furnished. If your staying in Cardiff, do yourself a favor and stay here.
Jim and Carol Brennan, Florida, USA

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a lower floor room. Hotel has 3 floors no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolbW137HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We found this private hotel easily by car and the staff were very helpful and out to please. We had room 302 which was spacious with a modern bathroom, no air conditioning but the fan provided all that was needed. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of fresh fruit. Parking provided behind the hotel and it is an easy walk to the castle and town centre. We would be keen to stay there again when next we are in Cardiff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed two nights in Room 206 which is a large room with a 4 poster and a large bay window. It has a nice cosy contemporary bathroom with a really good shower and bath. Unfortunately we had to go out too early for breakfast on the first morning but made up for it on the 2nd morning, very nice full welsh with very good cold 'starters and cereals'. Parking was ample for us since we just wanted to leave the car parked for the whole of our stay. There is a lovely walk (not via the road (Cathedral Road), though that walk isn't bad for a walk in a city) but turn left on Sophie Road and it a lovely walk through trees and by the river. The hotel is well situated about 20 minutes brisk walk to the centre and the railway station. If we return to Cardiff this would be our first choice..

Room Tip: Room 206 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmythe0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Spent two nights on an Amazon deal on the four poster bedroom. Lovely bath/shower and large room with sitting area in bay. 20ish minute walk to the train station through a park and by the river. Allow £6 for taxi to the centre. Breakfast was good with plenty of fruit as well as Lava bread and a full Welsh breakfast. Would stay again. Also free parking in hotel car park and we thought free parking on the road as well.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leggieblonde2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Property: Lincoln House Private Hotel
Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian hotel in the heart of Cardiff Imagine all the benefits of Victorian splendor in a hotel just minutes from Europe’s youngest, most vibrant capital. Welcome to Lincoln House Private Hotel in Cardiff, South Wales.Whether you are visiting the Welsh capital for business, sport, culture, relaxation or for the city’s busy nightlife, our traditional bed and breakfast offers some of the best-placed accommodation in Cardiff. Built in 1900, this Victorian Town House has been caringly restored and developed to provide today’s guest with all the comforts of modern living in an authentic Victorian atmosphere. Lincoln House Hotel in Cardiff - an oasis of tranquility on the very doorstep of an energetic and lively capital city. Situated in a select area of Cardiff, Cathedral Road often referred to as "The Chelsea of Cardiff", the hotel is within easy walking distance of the City Centre, stunning Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Castle, Universities, Museum, Civic Centre & Swalec Stadium (Cricket Ground). Much more than just a bed and breakfast in Cardiff. All the luxury of a Victorian town house caringly restored to provide the benefits and comforts of a modern B&B. Full Welsh breakfast. Luxury beds. Full en-suite facilities. Free Wi-Fi. Broadband internet. Laundry service. Flat screen digital Freeview television. Free private car park. Tea and coffee facilities. Email, fax and photocopying facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing