We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A excellent Hotel with attentive staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A excellent Hotel with attentive staff.”
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed at the Lincoln House hotel for 7 nights whilst attending a conference. The staff were excellent, very attentive. The room was ensuite and had all you would expect (Tea/ Coffee facilities, TV and Internet access). The front of the hotel does face a busy street but we were not kept awake by the traffic. There was plenty of space for clothes and the room was tastefully decorated without losing it's charm. Breakfasts could be as big or little as you wanted (everything from cereal to a full Welsh!) and the excellent waiting staff were always on hand. Our car was parked at the rear of the hotel. We didn't use it at all as the hotel is within 10 mins walking distance of Cardiff City centre. Whilst the hotel does not provide evening meals they do have arrangements with some local resturants. Cardiff has plenty of excellent places to eat out and is a dynamic capital city. Other hotels may be bigger and have more facilities, but they won't match the charm, character and excellence of service that the Lincoln House hotel provides.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiff22Sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    171
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
104
378
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The other reviews are pretty spot on. Run by nice people; whole place is clean and welcoming (a lot of it looks recently decorated) and with a great breakfast. The only negative we had was the bed - not comfortable at all.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonno_the_Yachtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Beautifully decorated hotel, quiet rooms, very spacious with clean en-suite. Great service from all who worked there, everyone was so polite and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Huge very comfortable bed with perfect pillows. Free parking at the rear of the hotel and Cardiff was a very pleasant 10 minute walk either on the road side or along the river and across a well used, well lit grassy park. Cardiff Castle was the closest tourist attraction, well worth visiting. Would definitely use this hotel again if I visit the area in the future. The only downside was I could not connect to the hotels internet service.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkingontheprom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Charming old Victorian house with large, light and well appointed rooms. The staff was most accommodating in arranging taxi service for us and served us breakfast our last morning about an hour earlier than their schedule called for. An excellent place indeed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Julian's
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Recently spent 3 nights at Lincoln House. This was our first visit to Cardiff - my partner got tickets to The Ashes. I selected this hotel over any other because it ticked all the boxes AND it was literally just round the corner from the SWALEC Stadium!! Three pubs within yards of the hotel served great food and a lovely 15 minute leisurly walk through the park will get you to the Castle and City Centre. But it was our room which surprised me most. We opted for a Standard Double and it was superior to most of the 4-star hotels we've stayed in worldwide! It was fairly big for a hotel room, pristinely clean and tastefully decorated. If I had to mention a negative, it would only be the size of the shower cubicle, but other than that, you cannot fault it. There is also free Internet and parking. The staff are brilliant! A special thanks to Lynn who greeted us on arrival and bent over backwards to ensure our stay was comfortable. Breakfast abundant, excellent location, helpful staff. Will definitely stay there again next time we're in Cardiff.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Have just stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Can't praise it enough. Clean, friendly, excellent breakfast and beautiful rooms. Would definitely stay again. The people of Cardiff are also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whofanDT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This hotel offers excellent value for money. Conveniently located next to the park and 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre, this beautiful Victorian house is an excellent base whether you are on leisure or on business. Rooms are spotless and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent and the owners and staff always available to help.
We definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,051 reviews
4.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
575 reviews
2.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Property: Lincoln House Private Hotel
Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing