We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff welcome you to this charming hotel in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the 3 years that my daughter has been studying in Cardiff. On arrival, we have always received a warm, genuine welcome. I think for its location, wide breakfast choice, friendliness of staff and clean, tastefully decorated rooms and price it's hard to beat. It's only a 10 minute walk to the city centre; you can stroll through the park or walk along Cathedral Road. We've probably stayed in most of the rooms over the years ( though not the penthouse suite!) and if traffic noise would keep you awake, then opt for rooms at the back of the hotel - the Victorian style of the hotel doesn't allow for double glazing! If we have occasion to return to Cardiff we would certainly stay at the Lincoln House.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2manyhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2010

Well located for visiting the area this clean and well kept period small hotel is ideal for couples.Rooms are clean and decorated in a simple manner in keeping with the Victorian age of the property.Male Staff were attentive and polite.The front lounge is peaceful and relaxing but take your laptop as the resident computer can't be relied upon.Beds are comfortable but take ear plugs if traffic wakes you up.Breakfast is substantial and excellent quality.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrier57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stay in one of the four poster rooms, it is well worth the extra money spent. The breakfast is great and the hotel staff cannot do enough for you. The rooms are traditionally but beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Experienced100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We had a great stay at this hotel on the bank holiday weekend. Cooked breakfast every morning was plentiful and tasty, and the staff were friendly but unobtrusive. The location was quiet and 10 minutes' walking distance from scenic park, Cardiff Castle, and the town centre. Best of all was the decor: elegant and antique without being overdone or stuffy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseandBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We were looking for somewhere with character, wifi, and car parking that was close to the town centre. The Lincoln House Hotel ticked all the boxes for us and more. I have to admit, with the price we were quoted, I suspected that the beautiful pictures on the website were perhaps not indicative of all the rooms. How wrong I was. Our room was tastefully decorated, spacious, and scrupulously clean. I am a light sleeper and require 3 things for a good nights sleep - absolute darkness, absolute quiet, and a comfy bed. The thick luscious curtains, and bedroom at the rear helped but add to this a large and comfortable bed and I slept wonderfully. This hotel not only lived up to our expectations, but surpassed them. A delightful walk through the castle grounds to the city centre made it ideally placed, and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is exceptional - a great choice in the cold buffet with a cooked to order hot choice to follow. I have considered adding a criticism to balance out this review, but to be perfectly honest, I do not have one.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madnaduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

My partner and I regularly stop in hotels but usually we go for the larger hotel group sort of place. We booked the Lincoln because it was conveniently close to a relative we were visiting and I will admit to some concern about a smaller place. Memories of childhood hotels with a fearsome landlady dishing out greasy food on cracked plates and a more recent experience in a similar hotel had coloured my view somewhat.
I needn't have worried, the Lincoln exceeded my expectations by a vast margin.
The Hotel is small and friendly without being overbearing and has a good sized car park. The interior has a Victorian feel with comfortable drawing rooms where you can while away a happy hour reading with only the tick of the clock for company. There is a nice little bar/lounge area as well.
The room was comfortable and compact (in ours the door hit the bed) but there was more than enough room and a nice flat screen TV.
The en-suite was again compact but the water was hot and the shower worked just fine so what more could you want?
The dining room was again comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding with a good flexible menu. Fresh fruit followed by a full Welsh breakfast with thick bacon and plump sausages. Not only was the breakfast good but my coffee cup was filled as soon as it emptied. The hotel does not do dinner, however they will arrange for a local restaurant and it says in the brochure that they will allow you to use the dining room for take away food, although we didn't do this.
The only small thing to be aware of (and it is a small thing) is that the Lincoln is a good walk from the town centre so, unless you are a strong walker, you may want to invest in a cab.
The prices are reasonable. That said the Lincoln is not a budget B&B and it would not be suitable for back packers looking for a cheap flop for the night.
Overall the Lincoln is an elegant and relaxing alternative to the bigger hotels and has a delightful traditional atmosphere and service that I am happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sevenways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

A really lovely hotel a short walk from the centre of Cardiff. The room was really comfortable and nicely decorated, with a large lounge downstairs and bar area. The breakfast was lovely, with fresh fruit salad, strawberries, yoghurts and a range of cereals, as well as lots of cooked options (I recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, though make sure you're hungry first). Nice staff and great place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaSzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,368 reviews
4.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
2.2 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £90 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing